We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
174
92
22
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
92
22
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We spent 5 nights in Hostal Quipu which is located a short walk (10 minutes) from Plaza de Armas. It is located on a quiet one-way street. Next to the hostel is a convenience store which is very convenient. The Hostel building is enchanting with a big open central courtyard. Most of the rooms are located on the second floor resembling a gallery. The hostel's manager Lida has an excellent team comprising Lucy, Maria and Pedro ensuring the guests have a pleasant stay. Although they speak very little English, they all went the extra mile to try and help us with our queries. Breakfast was basic and included bread, butter, jam, fruit juice and eggs. Wi-Fi was excellent. Hot water in the showers was great! Toilets were clean, so was the room. Bed linen and towels were clean. Although there are no on-site laundry facilities, they can get it sorted out for you for S/4 per kg. There are cheaper options available near the hostel but we couldn't be bothered as were busy with day tours. They organised a taxi for us for a drop off at 6 am which was awesome! The beds were always made when we returned in the evening! They also provide extra blankets in the wardrobe to provide the additional warmth at night should the need arise. Before doing the Inca trek we left our bags in the storage which were well looked after! This hostel offers a wonderful option for budget travellers and families and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hostel for both short or long stays. It is ideal for people wanting to save up on accommodation and spend on experiences. Why would anyone want to spend more and live in hotels in Cusco when you have this excellent hostel?

Room Tip: Rooms 201 and 202 (double rooms) on the second floor have windows that open out to the street.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VG1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I usually go to Cusco for work, so I want a hotel that is close to everything, it is quite at night and pleasant. I found Hostal Quipu through a friend in Cusco and I was very impressed. It was very charming, clean, cozy and close to everything. I Had an excellent breakfast (toast, eggs, coffee and mil and fresh orange juice) and the people running the hotel were super friendly. They offer excellent rates for the budget traveler, while keeping high standards of privacy and comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomade567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Our favorite stay during our Peru and Bolivia trip. The staff, despite their general lack of English, were superb! We stayed on three different occasions and always looked forward to our return. Their coca tea is the best and the room and bathroom were clean. Plaza de Armas is a 10 minute stroll away, but at this price point you won't get much closer. Room could get cold at night but plenty blankets at your disposal.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank djbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I travelled Peru for a month and stayed here for a week, and can easily say that this was the best hotel. The two ladies running the show were truly professionals and put their best effort to keep quests happy.

On one day the water heater broke down so there was no hot water in the shower. Ladies called serviceguy immediately and offered me another room to take a shower. The heater was repaired on the same day.

They really care for their quests, the quality of the service was great.

The location of the hotel is good. It is not spot on the center, but a 10 mins walk from Plaza de Armas. That means that there is no street noise. A supermarket and good restaurants are located just few blocks away.

Quipu's prices are really good so I recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a basic place to stay. Outstanding Service!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jussi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

A really quite place, not fit for those who are looking to party all night, but great for those who want a quite homey place to return to. The staff was great and cared for all our needs.
The facilities are way nicer than an other place we've been to at the same price range

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank shayelkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews