We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ”
Review of Tiong Bahru Bakery

Tiong Bahru Bakery
Ranked #1 of 109 Bakeries in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Tiong Bahru
Description: Celebrating Neighbourhoods There’s always that special place in the areas we live.By habit or necessity, there are checkpoints where our paths converge, no matter where our days take us. These are the places where shared moments and experiences connect us – and they eventually come to mean far more than the function it serves. A café doesn’t merely dispense coffee. Neither does a bakery simply cook flour and put them on sale. They are strongholds founded deep in the history of the area it dwells, built upon with stories shared within and around its walls. Where perspectives are challenged, broadened, renewed; and the future can be boldly envisioned with insight and belief. Where friends are made, dreams are shared, and love is found. This unique confluence of the community drives us to excellence and new levels of inspiration in everything we do. We are dedicated to celebrating the individuals, embracing the stories and transforming the living space for people around us. We are dedicated to celebrating neighbourhoods.
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

As you walk in all the staff seem genuinely glad to see you and help
The coffee was terrific as was the wide range of bakery items
Highly recommended

Thank Madfish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEG_FandB, Marketing at Tiong Bahru Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hi Madfish56,

Thank you for coming to Tiong Bahru Bakery and sharing your experience. We are happy to know that you had a great time with us. We are looking forward to having you back. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

This bakery located on Orchard Road offers great option for your coffee and brunch needs. They offer excellent options for hot plain and filled croissants, cakes, pastries and other bakery products and coffee. I had my favourite Americano with milk on the side a two huge warm butter croissants. Coffee was simply awesome. Croissants were crusty outside and perfectly soft inside. Great place.

Thank Prabir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEG_FandB, Marketing at Tiong Bahru Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi Prabir G,

Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us. Have a lovely day! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Found his gem of a bakery. Very small but well stocked. Love it. Was looking for green tea cake but this was way better. Locals in the area recommended this place.

Thank NatasjaBOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEG_FandB, Marketing at Tiong Bahru Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi NatasjaBOT,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to having you back again. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Had just arrived in Singapore and called in for a coffee. Rather a delay for the coffee due to a problem with the drinks machine, but the drinks were OK when delivered to the table.

Thank KuleDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEG_FandB, Marketing at Tiong Bahru Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Kule Dule,

Thank you of your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful stay in Singapore. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Visited twice and...

What I like:

Vegetable and Mozzarella Baguette - this looked absolutely glamorous and tasted like how a good sandwich should be (vs point about baguette below).

Location - right next to Tangs. Perfect for the person who shopped till they forgot lunch and refused to go three steps beyond their shopping haven for a quick bite. No, of course I'm not talking about myself.


What I don't like:

Baguette - the baguette was TOO HARD. My teeth were in danger of falling out and in desperation I sought the help of the almighty knife. It must still be suffering from a complex since it couldn't saw through the bread at all. I went back to chew forever...

Ham and Cheese Croissant - highly anticipated, major letdown. The texture and taste of the croissant were not right and was far, far from my ideal.

Flan (pandan) - ... oh what happened to the glorious flan... if you love your flan, DON'T attempt to have it here.

Squid Ink Salmon Sandwich - not bad but the puny size couldn't justify the price.

Coffee and tea: not very good. For the price I paid, it was a shame the tea came in a sorry-looking glass - the ones you see cafes pouring free water in.

Service - Be very careful. One of them will eat you up if you take a second to order your drink.

Cramped seats: the place was too squeezed up. It's not for people with babies, or shopaholics with shopping bags, or those who need to lose 2kg. Get round the problem by having your partner carry the baby or shopping bag while waiting for you outside. And if you have an average bum, try to snatch two stools to sit on - they don't charge for double seats as far as I know, unlike airlines, but you'll need 15mins to get one stool, so be prepared to put aside half an hour before you go buy your coffee.



Now the BIGGEST problem -

Look at the floor, esp under the long table (magnifying glass not needed). Not talking about the Hansel and Gretel crumbs everywhere... there were PILED UP DUST at several spots. I developed rashes shortly after taking a seat and had to battle both the baguette and the rashes. See complimentary photos of dust.


Well, 3 stars for that very tasty veg sandwich otherwise it deserves a 2 for the price they charge.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smelltheflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEG_FandB, Marketing at Tiong Bahru Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Hi Smelltheflower,

Thank you for your detailed review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our sandwiches. We apologise for the unsatisfactory experience you've had. We would like to get in touch with your personally. May we please have your email address at your earliest convenience? Alternatively, drop us an email at customercare@spa-esprit.com We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiong Bahru Bakery also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tiong Bahru Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing