We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$326
US$251
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$336
US$178
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$203
US$150
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$373
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Lodge(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Forest by Wangz(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$119
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$331
US$272
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fisher BnB(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
27
77
67
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
77
67
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeylang areakallang mrtnational stadiumwifi worksfast internetquiet hoteleating optionseasy accessmin walkmetro stationbed was comfortableshower roombottled waterpublic transportfree wifiother hotelsmarina bay
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel is good located in a heart of Geylang area with many restaurant with street cheap food. Metro station is about 800 m. Roomnis small but very clean. Free wifi is very fast. No restaurant no bar in hotel. Very fast lift. Parking. Bery good climate in the room. Bed is comfortable for me (little harded, but i love like that)!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nesvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Nesvil,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Hollywood. Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be at your service once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Singapore. I'm glad it wasn't longer. The staff seem nice enough, checked us in quickly but we didn't have much interaction with them after that. The hotel is located in a red light district of Singapore where there are men sat outside the local 'businesses' at all hours of the day. If I wasn't with my boyfriend I would find the walk to the hotel (especially at night) a little intimidating if I was a solo female traveller.

The room itself is tiny. There's barely enough room to put your bag down on the floor. We didn't bother to unpack our things due to this. We also booked this hotel in the knowledge that it was a non-smoking room but as soon as went entered we could strongly smell smoke. The bathroom is also of course tiny. There were tiny little flies in the bathroom that were there the whole time we stayed. I don't know how they got there because you are unable to open any windows.

The main problem I had with this hotel is the noise. This is the noisiest hotel I've stayed in. You can hear every single 'ding' of the lift arriving on your floor even when our room wasn't anywhere near the lift. You can hear people laughing and talking early in the morning in the hall. We were also kept up half the night with a neighbors screaming baby as the walls are so thin. It was so bad I almost went to reception to ask to be moved rooms. My partner slept with earplugs in for the rest of our stay.

Despite this the wifi is good and works well. The hotel isn't far from the MRT station.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Kelsey B,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Hollywood.

Thank you for sharing the review of your stay with us through our Trip Advisor Website.

We are disheartened to note your unsatisfactory experience at our hotel. Please be assured that the same has been shared with the concerned team and the department head for corrective measures and improvement.

We look forward to your continued support and patronage to Hotel 81 Hollywood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Price was decent and distance not too far from most attractions - lots of places to eat nearby and some small corner shops etc. Barely noticed the other "businesses" so wasn't bothered by this. A bit far from MRT but lots of buses just a few minutes' walk away that go into town. Check-in and check-out went smoothly. Hotel receptionists were helpful. Enough space in the room for two people. Hangers, hooks, TV, working safe, small fridge, mirror, kettle (and bottled water, coffee and tea), bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Shower gel, towels and mini toothbrush and toothpaste provided. Bed made, drinks replaced, towels folded or replaced every day. Air conditioning worked well and had a controller in the room. A few marks and stuff on towels, sheets and mugs. Our room had a few small bugs that kept appearing (and managed to get into some cake we had in the room sadly) and noise from the corridor was noticeable, but did not disturb us too much.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnonymousTAUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear AnonymousTAUser,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Hollywood. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're glad our strategic location has managed to serve you well. Once again we thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

This hotel was very reasonably priced but tradeoff was that the room was small. It was worth it because it was clean and all I needed was a place to sleep and clean up. There were many dining options nearby. Our first meal was a short walk to the corner of Geylang. We paid about 7.50 Singapore dollars for a filling vegetarian dinner for three people. That was below my budget for one person. A later meal was a little more expensive because I opted for items with shrimp.
It was a reasonable walk to Kallang Station which gave us access to all the tourist sites we wanted to go for approximately $8 Singapore per day.
Although it was noisy a couple of times, I viewed the noise as evening entertainment.
We will stay here again when we return to Singapore.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Art M,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Hollywood. Thank you for your warm and informative feedback. We are glad that our strategic location has boost your stay here in Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The only thing which I didnt like while travelling in Singapore. The hotel is not at all good for family stays, was not aware about the area Geylang's history. Far from the MRT station as well. Very small rooms, no place to keep your bags as well. Very small bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nirmal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews