We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,682)
Filter reviews
5,682 results
Traveller rating
4,167
1,032
296
108
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,167
1,032
296
108
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden wing horizon club summit room waterfall restaurant orchard road shang palace pool view lobby lounge high tea beautiful hotel our honeymoon botanical gardens five star hotel an upgrade deluxe room long flight late check
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 5,682 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Having been to this hotel for decades and having been a regular whilst living in Singapore we decided to return to this hotel for a recent vacation.

Arrived to a foyer in chaotic state and to slow service at the reception. Had booked 6 nights in Horizon Club and was eventually checked in there. We are Golden Circle Members and Platinum Amex and booked under Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts program which includes a room upgrade on arrival. Which we initially did not get, although rooms were available. We were also disappointed with the changes in Horizon Club with a huge number of families with small children with several children not under the control of their parents, running around, two nearly running into me from the same family. Add the downgrading Of Champagne to the cheaper Prosecco, a casual and unenforced dress code during happy hour, and an ambience more suitable to the local watering hole with too many guzzling down booze like they were going to get their $$$ worth no matter what, at the now help yourself bar, during cocktail hour and we were rather disappointed with this first impression. The move away from personalised table service and a reduction is staff was evident. This is not the Shangri La calm we knew and loved and expected. This is not us. We discussed the changes with Melissa in Horizon Club, she was empathetic and calm,and listened to both the positives, noted further down, and negatives, she did get the room upgrade we requested and arranged for a lovely tower room with Valley Wing privileges and were later moved over into a Valley Wing Room 3 days later due to a delagation taking up rooms in VW. Both rooms were exceptional but entirely different but Melissa in Horizon Club and her colleague Rachel really did provide exceptional service. Needless to say so did Valley Wing employees, these staff restored our faith in the Shangri La. whilst we initially regretted staying here we left feeling glad we did and had a wonderful stay.

A note to management, we were sad to see Blu gone and an obvious change from attracting the business clientele to more families, we couldn't help but notice staff were doing their best to please everyone during this transitional phase and more staff are needed. The now help yourself bar in Horizon Club is a worry and the quality has dropped for a quantity solution, not good In our opinion. The food at Horizon Club was a substantial offering. The renovations to the lounge makes it too large, but it is tasteful renovation with good seating. The renovation to the foyer was needed and overall good, the new staff uniform makes it hard for guests to notice them for help on arrival, They're too subtle and blend in with guests too much. The tower rooms were modernised to an excellent standard, are comfortable, very clean and frankly hard to fault. The rooms we had were exceptionally quiet. We hope the Tower rooms stand the test of time and the added wear and tear of so many families. The Valley Wing rooms are comfortable and still very classy but showing their age in places, although being very well maintained. Please keep this place classy when you renovate. Breakfast at VW was a joy as was cocktail hour. Canapés are lovely. Beverage quality high. Please consider the music, the harpist is truely lovely and provides a graceful atmosphere but after 6 nights of the same 10 songs it's a little too much of the same thing.

Whilst we understand the move to attract families this does not go well with the Shangri La that was peaceful and graceful. The foyer is loud, the Horizon Club sometimes is a playpen, the pool is saturated in left belongings as lounge chairs are being reserved by guests who do not appear by the pool for hours on most days, or they roll up for 2 min, juggle a few items around, and stroll of to breakfast to return when it suits them. Particularly the lounges near the pool and in the shade. The pool particularly has and a reduction iin staff and with less staff it creates a difficult environment for both them and the guests. The gym locker area and hot tub does look dated and uninviting.

Without exception we cannot fault any staff member in the Shangri La particularly Melissa, the pool attendant that has been there well over 20 plus years, the Waterfall Restaunt staffer who replaced my meal because I messed up, and the Manager that was also very interactive and too Housekeeping that kept our rooms immaculate, amongst others. I also met several of your Singapore finance delegate guests by accident in the elevator which were friendly, and engaging and apologetic for blocking my door and these people and your staff reminded me off what is good about Singapore - its people.

Thank you to all that made this an excellent stay.

Room Tip: You'll get a calmer stay in Valley Wing .
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sealeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear sealeg

Thank you for sharing this positive review with us. We are glad that you had an overall positive experience in our hotel and had a good time during your stay with us. Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and will certainly help improve our services further. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,
Xavier Pougnard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Stayed one night in the valley wing, only wish that it could have been more. A superb hotel in every way. Great swimming pool, super rooms, delicious food. The staff were helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. If I should go to Singapore again this is definitely the hotel I would stay in

Room Tip: Try the afternoon canapés
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Gordon T

Thank you for sharing this positive review with us. We are glad that you had an overall positive experience in our hotel and had a good time during your stay with us. Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and will certainly help improve our services further. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,
Xavier Pougnard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We were fortunate to spend two nights in the 'Valley Wing' of the Shangri-La. The property and the amenities were of the highest standard. The staff were totally professional and hospitable with a particular mention to Vanessa on reception and full marks to Raja who produced a fine 'negroni' cocktail. The breakfast buffet was a delight and the dinner that we enjoyed in the 'Origin Grill' was superb. Without doubt it will be our destination for our next Singapore visit and we would highly recommend the 'Valley Wing' of the Shangri-La to others.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank diamondgeezah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear diamondgeezah

Thank you for sharing this positive review with us. We are glad that you had an overall positive experience in our hotel and had a good time during your stay with us. Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and will certainly help improve our services further. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,
Xavier Pougnard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Simply perfect. I genuinely can't fault a single thing about this hotel.

It was the first place we stayed on our honeymoon. The first night, with grand plans of heading out for a lovely meal at a fancy restaurant, we liked it so much we stayed in!

We upgraded to a slightly bigger room and access to the Horizon Club. Definitely worth the money getting access to the club, especially for the drinks and nibbles between 5-7!

It's one of the fanciest places I've stayed, and I'm so glad that every part of the experience with them was flawless.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Rustylou63

Thank you for sharing this positive review with us. We are glad that you had an overall positive experience in our hotel and had a good time during your stay with us. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,
Xavier Pougnard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We decided to stay at Shangri-la to celebrate my daughter's birthday. It was a good stay for the family. My daughter enjoyed herself at BUDS. Only thing is when it got too crowded, the parents were all also standing in the midst of the play area watching their kids and chatting at the same time. Imagining the kids running around with parents standing in the midst of the limited walk area... May be a danger hazard. Other than that, my girl enjoyed herself! The staff at BUDS were really friendly. Kudos to angeline! She remembered my girl even on the second day and she said hi! The bake studio offers free 'moulding' sessions during weekdays for kids to help Prepare the dough for breakfast. My 4 year old enjoyed it!
The room was spacious and clean. They prepared the bed for my girl and even asked if I needed a cot for my bb boy. If I really had to complain, it was probably waiting for the lifts. It was a minimum 5 min wait but it could be due to the fact that my stay coincided with the ASEAN summit 2018, so perhaps traffic in the lift was a little held up.
Breakfast was good. Variety was good.
Room service was not bad except that they sent us the wrong orders. Bill was right but order was wrong. My hubs ordered the nasi goreng. It was a little disappointing because the chicken was obviously frozen or prepacked drumlets. Most of the hotel I have visited actually served the nasi goreng with their own marinated chicken pieces. So maybe they could improve on that!
Overall, it is still a very good stay. Staff were very friendly throughout the whole stay!!!! Check in check out was a smooth process!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank edithang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLSGM, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear edithang

Thank you for sharing this positive review with us. We are glad that you had an overall positive experience in our hotel and had a good time during your stay with us. Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and will certainly help improve our services further. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,
Xavier Pougnard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews