We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic russian cuisine”
Review of Ang Moh Dumplings

Ang Moh Dumplings
Ranked #547 of 13,649 Restaurants in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Maxwell
Description: Dumplings.ru is one of the few, if not ONLY, authentic Russian restaurant in Singapore and you can be sure that you can be immersed in the distinctive cultural experience that we have to offer, from our food to the ambience and service
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant is in the heart of CBD, a cosy small shop by Maxwell chambers. Was initially not sure what to order but the menu was fuss free and had good translation of the dishes. We went for the dumplings combo platter in the end so we got to try all 12 flavours. I really loved the pork dumplings although some of the beef ones had a strong gamey taste. They paired well with the sour cream sauce. Be sure to pair them with Kvass, a traditional slavic beverage - it goes well with the food. The Pork Chebureki was nice in my opinion!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jonathanwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Claims to be serving authentic Russian fare, can't quite say if it's indeed authentic, my last memory of Russian fare was a VERY long time ago.

- Ukrainian Borscht Soup (never quite a fan of it in general. Though it was appetising given the tangy tomato soup base)
- Chebureki (the Russian version of curry puff / empanadas. We had ordered 1 each of the pork and cheese. The pastry crust is very thin and I enjoyed the cheese one better only because the pork filling was too salty)
- Combo Dumpling Platter (12 different fillings, differentiated by the different coloured skin. Not too different from the usual Chinese dumplings except these ones are a bit more dry. Love that they offer this combo version so we didn't have to crack our heads deciding which to try. Amongst them, the potato + mushroom was my fav)
- Bell Pepper Rice (fried rice with minced beef and veg then baked in a bell pepper; flavourful rice that didn't taste very wow at first try but kind of grew on me with each mouth until I polished it clean.)
- Dulce de Leche Crêpes (ended with a sweet dessert, I wished it was served as a hot dish rather than cold one though)
- Kompot (traditional fruit punch, a good balance to the intense flavours throughout the night)

Overall an interesting dining experience but can't say I'm a convert now.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank dyhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Interesting experience trying authentic Russian cuisine for the first time!

Food were interesting and different from the usual Asian flavours we are used to in Singapore. Good variety of dumplings including flavours like Salmon, Minty Ram, etc. Tried their Chebureki (Kind of like a big curry puff), Dumpling Platter, and Seledka (Salted Herring).

If you are seeking for an authentic Russian experience, this is definitely the place to go!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JeremiahCTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Convenient location in CBD at Maxwell Chambers. Very interesting selection of dumplings(including potato and cheese) and decided to go with the combination platter of 12 to have a little bit of each. Favourite dish was probably the Borscht soup which was big enough for 2 to share!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank imbellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Great convenient location and cosy nook! Loved the atmosphere and food did not disappoint as well. Although I really wished we ordered more foods to try while there! Had the borscht soup and 12 dumpling combo platter. Will recommend the platter for "beginners" as it allows patrons a taste of everything!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HuiYiW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ang Moh Dumplings also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Ang Moh Dumplings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.