We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving prices”

Los Indios Bravos Boracay
Ranked #10 of 339 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: International, Cafe, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In the late 1800's Filipino intellectuals and warrior-poets started using the word "Indio" (a derogatory term to refer to the Islands' natives) as a badge of honor and a source of pride. They eventually formed a society that fought for reforms and more rights for their countrymen and called themselves "Los Indios Bravos" --- The Brave Natives. This gastropub is a tribute to all those pioneering men for we too are breaking new ground in Boracay as we are the first to showcase all-Filipino handcrafted beers on tap paired with classic pub food from all over the world.
Reviewed 14 February 2018

RA 7394 requires that if the item is subject to Value Added Tax (VAT) the indicated price must include it, and not get away with it by putting as a disclaimer at the bottom of your menu. You are basically violating the law.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GenMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losindiosbravos2015, Manager at Los Indios Bravos Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear GenMc,

Dear GenMc,

It is unfortunate that you have formed a bad impression of our restaurant purely on a technical matter, but I hope you can hear us out.
We want to reassure you and the readers of your review that there is nothing illegal and deceptive with how we layout our menu or price our food as the numbers and added information are clearly printed for all to see. We just followed the basic rules of aesthetics in making menus: the restaurant name is usually on top, food in the middle and the additional information like taxes and other charges at the bottom.
The number you see beside the food items on the menu is what our restaurant gets from the customers. This is what we earn from the food and service that we provide. And most of this goes to provide you with a good meal by paying for hardworking staff and sourcing the best ingredients for your dish.
However, the additional government tax (Value Added Tax) stated and printed in our menu and clearly broken down in each bill does not go to us but goes well, to the government's treasure chest which is then distributed to officials and politicians for classrooms, hospitals, sidewalks, Senate hearings and other things. But as we have no way of accounting for where this money goes and how it is spent, we decided to keep this amount separate (but stated in the menu and broken down in your bill).
Thankfully, almost all of our customers don't mind a little mental arithmetic and really come here for the food and the service that we try to provide the best way we can, day in and day out, 7days a week.
Come by for a beer, it's on us. Maybe this way, you can look beyond the menu and actually experience what we strive to provide.

Have a great day.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

I don't understand the fuss. Its ok. Nothing great. Maybe it was once good. That seems to be no longer the case

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank javier Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losindiosbravos2015, Manager at Los Indios Bravos Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear javier Y,

Hi, thank you for your review.
We hope you can elaborate on your experience so we can serve you better.
Have a great day.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

A bit of a walk from D'Mall.

Food was good. We might try other food on the menu next time.

No major problem with the service during our stay.

Food 4/5
Drinks 3.5/5
Location 4/5
Ambience 4/5
Service 4/5

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank alvincen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losindiosbravos2015, Manager at Los Indios Bravos Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Alvin C,

Hi, thank you for your feedback and review.
May we know how we can improve on the drinks and overall experience?
We look forward to you next visit.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Quite good food but nothing special if I be honest.

Would give 4* but decided to give 3 because of the fact that all dishes we ordered (appetizers and main course) came at the same time. Which is unacceptable for me and because of that main dish was cold before we finished appetizers :-/

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank MichalSawicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losindiosbravos2015, Manager at Los Indios Bravos Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear MichalSawicki,

Hi, thank you for your kind review.
It's usually one at a time unless it was specified to the server for the food to be served altogether.
Maybe on your next visit, you'll be able to try something that will make it a special visit, like our craft beers or even one of our desserts?
But anyway, thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Been here before and the food was good, very good. But times passed and so did the quality for the food. I would not recommend this place.
Their oyster tasted terrible and were overcooked till rubber. the tikka masala witch I liked before was way to salt.
They should really wake up and address their quality because their is enough competition on the island that do a much better job!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank basfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losindiosbravos2015, Manager at Los Indios Bravos Boracay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear basfriendly,

Hi, thank you for your feedback.
It's important for us to know concerns so we can resolve them.
May I know if your server did a quality check with you?
They are trained to do so to give us the chance to fix concerns such as being too salty.
We'd appreciate more of your feedback.
Thanks and Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Indios Bravos Boracay also viewed

 

Been to Los Indios Bravos Boracay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing