We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, relaxed cafe with western food choices”
Review of Roaster and Bear

Roaster and Bear
Description: A beautiful Lounge with Fusion Cuisine, Italian Corner, and Pastry Bakery.
Restaurant details
Description: A beautiful Lounge with Fusion Cuisine, Italian Corner, and Pastry Bakery.
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We ate several times here and also came for coffee and cake (YUM!!!!) Classic Burger was good but had a purple bun!!! Pizza was a little different but ok! Coffee was good.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank streettalk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoasterBear, Guest Relations Manager at Roaster and Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Streetttalk05,

Warmest Greetings from Roaster and Bear Restaurant

Thank you for sharing an amazing experience on Trip Advisor. It is exciting to know that you enjoyed your arrival at Roaster and Bear Restaurant. We are delighted to know that you were impressed with our food and beverages.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Roaster and Bear Restaurant for another amazing experience.

Kind regards,

Emi L
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

This place is great the food was very good with a nice selection of dishes. The prices are high compared to other restaurants but it makes it worth with plenty of attentive staff and quality of the plates. There are few places you can choose inside outside or upstairs the cakes and coffee also good

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank alejandrob524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoasterBear, Guest Relations Manager at Roaster and Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Alejandro,

Warmest Greetings from Roaster and Bear Restaurant
Thank you for sharing an amazing experience on Trip Advisor. It is exciting to know that you enjoyed your arrival at Roaster and Bear Restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Roaster and Bear Restaurant for another amazing experience.

Kind regards,

Emi L
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We went there because near our hotel. The Kobe rib eye was simply delicious, not too fat, with a fantastic mashed potato on side. The staff was friendly and efficient.
Definitely a place to go for meat lovers. Not cheap but worth it.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank hongkongmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoasterBear, Guest Relations Manager at Roaster and Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Hongkongmeyer,

Warmest Greetings from Roaster and Bear Restaurant

Thank you for sharing an amazing experience on Trip Advisor. It is exciting to know that you enjoyed your arrival at Roaster and Bear Restaurant. We are delighted to know that you were impressed with our Kobe Beef and employee's services.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Roaster and Bear Restaurant for another amazing experience.

Kind regards,

Emi L
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Not very cheap hip place, many young people eating there. Western food and Indo food. Indo food nice, but not outstanding. The Gordon Bleu with spinach looked really good, but I didn't have it. Good ambiance.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Kees A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoasterBear, Guest Relations Manager at Roaster and Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Kees A,

Warmest Greetings from Roaster and Bear Restaurant
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is exciting to know that you enjoyed Roaster and Bear ambience. We have noted your positive feedback about Indonesian food.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Roaster and Bear Restaurant for another amazing experience.

Kind regards,

Emi L
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

From 5 stars to just 2 stars in 3 months. Roaster and bear became 3 months ago my favorite steak restaurant in the world. The steaks were even better than the ones that I ate in the USA. But we stayed this time in Harper Hotel and so my favorite restaurant was around the corner. But when we visited there were some changes. First of all the Kobe Beef was from the menu and they do not sell it anymore. Also they changed staff. Last time we checked it were students, and now it is just full time staff. The service went down because of this. Lots of mistakes. And also the most common thing that I hate in indonesia. If you order something, after a while they will come back with the message "I am sorry we do not have it anymore". This was repeated several times. I mean, just train your staff to know what is not available. Because it will save irritation from the customer. I guess, in order to have the best steak in Yogya, I have to head out to Holy Cow again. Not only because of the steaks, but also the mashed patatos did not taste like before ... It is a nice restaurant, but nothing special anymore. Amazing that this can happen in just 3 months.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoasterBear, Guest Relations Manager at Roaster and Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Alex,

Warmest Greetings from Roaster and Bear Restaurant

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
We would like to offer our sincerest apologize for the problem you encountered during your arrival. We have investigated this problem and discussed it to our management team. First, we have released special Christmas Menu where Kobe Beef is not sold there because Kobe Beef is a promotional menu. Now we're back selling Kobe Beef. Second, we are very sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectation. We have followed up this problem and we have communicated it to the concerned staff. Third, we have noted your positive feedback about our mashed potato. We ensure that this will not happen again.

Thank you for your positive and detailed review. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon after we will do the improvements of the few issues you mentioned.

Kind regards,
Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roaster and Bear also viewed

 
Yogyakarta Region, Java
Bantul, Yogyakarta Region
 

Been to Roaster and Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing