We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic dinner”
Review of Sixsenses Kitchen

Sixsenses Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 1,401 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Six Senses is a Fusion Spanish Restaurant by Chef Sergio Satue from Barcelona. Understanding the cuisine by traveling arround the world and ingridients knowledge he recreate a Spanish Mediterranean Cuisine in a modern cooking method and plate presentation. Take a javanese building style combine with the White and Blue colour of Mediterranean Sea, we try to bring you feel in home with cozy ambience and homy while enjoying our gastronomy dishes. Welcome to Six Senses, Kitchen of the Senses
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Saya sangat suka tempat ini. If you have six senses, you will know 6 things which make it a sense...

1. Wonderful place (good atmosphere)
2. Helpful staff (charming and smiley face)
3. Professional chef and humble owner who gives the best service to his guest.
4. Excellent foods. Its not only looks nice, but the taste is very delicious
5. As we know that if you are a businessman, you dont care about what people order as long as it create money, BUT this owner will come and give you the best suggestion about what you order. My gf ordered lamb chop and chocolate ice. Then the owner came and asked my gf to change the chocolate with iced tea. Because lamb chop is salty and chocolate is sweet so we cant feel the taste of lamb chop if we drink something sweet. I know chocolate ice is more expensive than iced tea, but he didnt care about that. Because he wants us to enjoy food with a good taste in our tongue. He care about us. He is the best chef and owner that i ever met
6. You have to visit six senses Kitchen when you visit yogyakarta

1  Thank Oi_kho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear oikho

Beloved guest, in the name of our Chef, we are really gladful to hear you back, and thanksful to highlighting our "Senses" , was a pleasure to please our guest.

We hope to welcompe you back and more often

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 82 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

If you are tired of Asian food, restaurant Six Senses is a perfect choice. Affordable prices for really great European food and really lovely atmosphere. I will come again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Niki Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Niki Ž

Beloved guest, first please allow me to say thank you for highlighting Six Senses Restaurant.
Second, and again... we are thankful for your recommendation about our dish, atmosphere and yes.. the price :)

We wish to see you again in the future and please keep helping us in awareness of our guest satisfaction

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We came to the place close to Iftar, after making a reservation only 30 minutes before because we thought it will be super packed during Iftar. Came in, the waiter greeted us and immediately showed us to our table that has been beautifully prepped.

Ordered Paella vegetarian and Marinara pizza without cheese because of a vegan friend. Food came in quite long around 30 minutes-ish.

But the food was really great, the Paella was definitely top-notch, all the ingredients mix well. The flavors was strong but not too overwhelming, definitely a character you want in your paella. Too bad it wasn't served on a hot metal pan so it doesn't have a socarrat. But the pizza was really great, never taste a cheese-less pizza that taste this good before

After the meal, the head chef(owner presumably?) go to the dining floor to greet around and chat a bit to the customers. Then he came over to our table saying that it was quite unique to have someone order a cheese-less pizza because pizza without cheese is not pizza.

We explained how one of our friend is vegan so he can't eat cheese, then the chef proceed to explain that to counter the bitterness of the burnt crust that is usually done by the cheese, he added a bit more sugar to the tomato sauce so it balances out the taste.

We were really amazed by the amounts of detail the head chef put in producing each dish to the customer

Overall, 9/10, great food, a lot of attention to detail for every dish. Definitely will come back again

1  Thank Muhammad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Muhammad S

Thank you for helping us in helping traveller to know us better to decide a place to eat in Yogyakarta.

We also appreciating the way you highlighting our Paella ;)
Our chef send his regards to you and hope to see you again in the future, and yes, please mention to have Paella on the pan ;)

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

My friend and I were in Yogyakarta for three days, and we ate at six senses twice. The appearance from the outside does not do justice to the beautiful interior; a tastefully decorated courtyard with a central pool and peaceful ambience. The food is Spanish/Mediterranean, and a little piece of paradise if like us, you're craving flavours from closer to home. The first time we had beef carpaccio, truffle and ricotta ravioli, and fettuccine with mushrooms and truffle; everything was well flavoured, well seasoned, perfectly cooked. This was good enough for us to come back a second time, and it exceeded all our expectations. Sergio, the owner and head chef suggested a salmon dish that was not yet on the menu, and it was sublime!

The service was attentive and friendly but not overbearing, and we really appreciated that Sergio came over to chat to us and make recommendations, as it makes it that little bit more personal.

We didn't have wine as alcohol is very expensive in Indonesia, but the wine menu looked very well through through. Given the excellent quality of the food, the price was very good, with mains costing generally between about INR 60k-100k, with pizzas and tapas less than this. The menu is extensive, with meat, fish, pasta, pizza, tapas and paella, but don't let this deter you; Everything we had was wonderful, and Sergio clearly takes such pride in his food, that I doubt there is a single bad dish on the menu.

Thank reli443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear reli443

Beloved guest, please receive our regards from Indonesia, and wishing you have an enjoyable and memorable trip in Indonesia.

Thank you for having us in your list and highlighting our Chef Special menu of Home made smoke salmon. We are blushing to know that the place and food meet your expectation.

Hope we can meet you again and welcome you back in the future.

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We frequented the restaurant twice in three days and would have gone again but they were closed. Can't express enough how beautiful the place is inside--truly a lovely environment to dine away from the bedlam of Yogyakarta streets.

Very reasonably priced for authentic Mediterranean food that we would happily pay three or four times the price in London (where we're from). And so delicious. On our first excursion, we sampled the mushroom and truffle fettuccine, beef carpaccio and ricotta with spinach ravioli in truffle sauce. All rather luxurious with lovely drinks and attentive service.

On our second visit, Chef Sergio made an off-menu salmon recommendation which my friend tried: She said it was sublime. There were so many exciting things we didn't get a chance to taste, the pizza and tapas for example looked wonderful. This restaurant deserves to be packed out every night, Jogja doesn't know how lucky it is. If we should ever return to this part of the world, this will be my first stop.

Thank Gayatri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel S, Owner at Sixsenses Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Gayatri S

Beloved guest, first please allow me to thankfull for your kind and excellent review for us. It means a lot for us that you really enjoy your visit to Six Senses Restaurant. It was glad to know that you come back for the next day and enjoy our dish as well.

Sadly to know we cannot see you on your last day, subject to our day off every Monday.
We hope to have another chance to see you again in the future

With Love
Vita & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sixsenses Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sixsenses Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;