We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
5
31
17
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
31
17
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews summit cafe three nights jokhang temple earlier reviews room was clean checking out toilet paper excellent location barkhor street walking distance tibetan style fi receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We stayed at the Shangbala Hotel for three nights while in Tibet and were very pleased. The rooms were comfortable and clean. On the first day, because we had an early start, breakfast was delivered to our room but, due to the altitude, neither of us could face it. On the other two days we ate breakfast in the restaurant. Apart from the fact that the jug marked coffee was actually warm fruit juice, the breakfast was perfectly adequate for western tastes.
However, the best part of the Shangbala is the staff - they were all brilliant. The four young receptionists were particularly nice, always smiling and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Bridget027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

The Shangbala Hotel is a 4 star Chinese style hotel located in the old part of Lhasa in Tibet.

It is set back from the pedestrianized Main Street which does not allow cars.

Your taxi will drop you off about 100 meters up the road where it meets the main thoroughfare and you will have to walk with your suitcases along the cobbled street to the hotel yourself.

The hotel itself is quite opulent in its design and it is at least fairly clean by Chinese Hotel standards.

Our room was clean and had fresh bedding and towels. The staff were friendly enough but spoke at best pigeon English.

I had to laugh when checking out at 8am that the reception was in darkness and the receptionist sleeping fully laid out on a bench behind the reception. Neither was there any other staff around other than in the breakfast room.

Speaking of which, the breakfast is fine if your Chinese or Asian but for a Westerner it was awful. I would recommend you do not waste your money reserving the hotel to include breakfast but eat at the nearby Lhasa Kitchen restaurant which serves a selection of Western style breakfast items.

This hotel was allotted to me as part of a tour group to Tibet so I had no choice in the matter where to stay.

In a nutshell, this hotel is just fine and deserving of a three star standard by Western standards. Don't expect too much despite the opulence of the place. This is after all Tibet!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Geetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed twice, 2nd room much better than first. Location is great, some staff are v friendly.
Downsides: rooms are v hot & air con didn't make any difference. Had to sleep with the windows open which then makes it v noisy.
Wi-fi inconsistent
Breakfast awful. Food all gone in the first hour & not refilled.

Like a lot of hotels in China people smoke everywhere so expect the lift, the breakfast room etc to smell

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Shangbala hotel is in a most convenient location! Less than a 5 minute walk to Barkhor Street, and surrounded by lots of restaurants made looking for something to eat very easy.

The rooms are comfortable, and we had no issues with hot water for showers. They even provide a hair dryer in the bathroom!

Our rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed.

The only thing would be that the reception staff do not speak English, and we had to use a translator app to make enquiries. Small matter as the staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lynettey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We were very pleased with this hotel. Stayed a total of 5 nights here and everything was awesome. Room, staff, food, location. We had absolutely zero complaints.

Room was as good as any we had stayed at in China....good quality beds and nice clean bathrooms.

This hotel must have recently been renovated (based on earlier reviews).

Hotel is situated nicely near the Market/Jokhang, and a 10-15 minute walk to Potala Palace.

Other members in our tour seemed a bit jealous when they saw where we were staying, so I take that as a sign that this is a really good quality hotel.

The Summit Cafe right next to the hotel served the best pizza we had in all of our 3 week tour.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank msamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews