We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
8
31
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
31
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I have stayed in this hotel many times. Built in a fort-temple form, this renovated private property into a hotel is a gift for the travelers to enjoy Tibetan architectural taste. All rooms are of different sizes and settings with some rooms have frescos in the wall. The garden at the courtyard is a gift. The restaurant is great and the staff are helpful

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bhumi1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I stayed there during my visit to Lhasa last year. It is located in the center of the old town and near jokhang temple. However, the food it provided maybe taste 'different' to my tongue. The room was quite large, with a bedroom, and living room, kitchen and bathroom. You can feel Tibetans traditional atmosphere here. However, the bed was sometimes dusty due the dusty ceiling, and the bed covers was traditional (made from yak's fur) so you can still smell yak's smell in the room. The butter tea was quite good to reduce the headache due altitiude sickness. The price was reasonable. The staff was warm. However, the staff wont be there at night, and would be available on 10am in the morning. No heater available, so make sure u bring extra warm-clothes.
Consider to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budi_Wibowo_Halim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We stayed at the Tibet Ghorka hotel for four days in August. It was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were adequate. (Coffee could have been better.) The hotel staff were always helpful. The hotel's location in the center of the old business district, however, was the best feature. We were able to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: choose a corner room
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Leisure travel with another 2 friends for the first time to Tibet.

LOCATION
The hotel was located in central Lhasa; approximately 45min - 1hr drive from Lhasa Airport, 5 - 10mins drive to Potala Palace, 10 - 15min walking distance to main Beijing Street (shopping) and 5mins walk to Bhakor Street / Jokhang Temple.

ROOM
We got a triple room which was very spacious with enough walking space and baggage space. There was an attached bathroom that has a bathtub. We always returned to the room with the beds made up and cleaned. No fans nor aircon in the room but there was no issue as the weather in Tibet is typically cooling even in Summer. Nights are really serene and peaceful - so silent that you could hear a pin drop! The only issue we had was the shower - cold water would spring you out of your skin but we made do.

AMENITIES
Basic shower amenities are provided - bath gel, shampoo, toothbrush, combs and towels. Hot water making facilities and teabags were available. No safe in the room but we had no issues with our items we left behind; there is a security officer in the hotel. Wifi is provided with a password and is generally stable.

MEALS
We had breakfast daily at the hotel's restaurant on Level 3. Expect hearty breakfasts - you can choose from an ala carte menu that offers yoghurt pancakes, eggs, American Breakfast sets, fruits etc. We did not use the restaurant for other meals hence unable to comment.

OTHERS
First timers might find this place a little hard to navigate as it is located in an alley. Taxi drivers turned us down when we asked to be sent back but no issues when we asked to drop off at Jokhang Temple instead (5mins walk away). Streets are really charming so get a map and go explore!

Tibet has strict security control so first timers please note:
* Always have your travel permit / ID / documents with you
* Guides are required for tourist spots but not required when you roam the streets
* Photographs of security points / officers / guards are not allowed, as are some sacred holy sites as informed by our guide.
* Always abide with the security checks

VERDICT
4/5 - look forward to be back someday!

Room Tip: Accessibility to city centre, shops, restaurants and even attractions
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank vichyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

This place has got charm.
Rooms are huge, clean and comfortable, but not set up for business travellers.
My room had a recently renovated bathroom, but it still took around 10 minutes for hot water to come through.
Rooms were cold, but a heater and good blankets provided enough warmth for spring. I would be hesitant to stay during winter.
Location is excellent for exploring the old part of town. Restaurant was only open for breakfast, but there are plenty of other places to eat nearby.
Payment is cash only.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank DiMaybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews