We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food is okay but the service is terrible”

YUM CHA (Tsimshatsui)
Reserve with Chope
YUM CHA (Tsimshatsui) is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #921 of 11,764 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Reviewed 24 September 2018

the staff lost our order, they did not apologize for making us wait so long with two little kids. We had to ask three times everything to get it (water, tea, etc). a lot of the things on the menu are no longer available and my husband never had the beer he ordered. It is a bit pricey, so even though the food is ok, it is definitely not worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiningWorkshopHK, 客戶關係經理 at YUM CHA (Tsimshatsui), responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you for leaving us comment. Regarding the service issue, we apologise for the problem you have encountered and we had passed the message for operation improvement. Thank you so much for your valuable comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018

Firstly, the service was non-existent. We received a grunt on arrival and our menus were thrown on the table while the waiter walked away without a word. In terms of the food, we ordered a selection and there were some hits and misses. The calamari was overcooked and rubbery. The dim sum looked extremely cute and was good for a picture but I really disliked the taste of both the custard and the piggy buns. The only things I really enjoyed were the sticky chicken wings and the pork and shrimp dumplings which were tasty. Overall, it was a disappointment and I know I wouldn't dine here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiningWorkshopHK, 客戶關係經理 at YUM CHA (Tsimshatsui), responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

We are sorry to hear your experience. We had passed this message to our operation manager and further training has already taken for food quality and service improvement. Thank you for your comment as it nourish our growth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Yum cha is well known for their cute buns, definitely fancy style of dim sum! other dish ( like chicken wings, wonton noodles) was pretty delicious! the price here is higher compared to traditional dim sum place like Tim Ho Wan. Only thing I dislike is we asks for soy sauce and chilli sauce to eat with dim sum since some dish lacks little flavor and they told us NO! So we are in HONG KONG and they do not serve any soy/ chilli sauce for customers. Either that or both two employee we asked does not understand English. So over all, good experience, great photo opportunity, but whether I will return, definitely no!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hacaotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiningWorkshopHK, 客戶關係經理 at YUM CHA (Tsimshatsui), responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for your comment and we are sorry to hear your experience. We had passed this message to our operations manager and further training has already taken for service improvement. Thank you for your comment as it nourish our growth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

On the 3rd floor from lift lobby that could be missed easily from the main street, this dim sum tea restaurant is a good stop over on afternoon lunch. Spicy century egg, fried turnip, signature cute custard buns, honey chic wings, char siew rice rolls, beef balls. All tasty.

Thank esmondtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiningWorkshopHK, 客戶關係經理 at YUM CHA (Tsimshatsui), responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for your visit:) Glad that you like YUM CHA and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

In terms of how they package some of the standard dim sum dishes (e.g. making a pork bun look like a pig) and the name given to these dishes, this is creative. This aspect does seem to supersede the quality. Nevertheless, I would recommend people to try this restaurant if they happen but more so, if they happen to be in the area - do however expect a long queue during busy times such as weekends and during lunch time.

The stand out dish was the chilli pork and shrimp dumplings

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LKCLPJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiningWorkshopHK, 客戶關係經理 at YUM CHA (Tsimshatsui), responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your visit:) Glad that you like YUM CHA and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to YUM CHA (Tsimshatsui)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing