We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delicious banh mi!!!!!!”
Review of Le Garcon Saigon

Le Garcon Saigon
Ranked #1,208 of 11,151 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$51 - US$89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Tai Fat Hau
Description: Le Garcon Saigon celebrates the vibrant and fresh flavours of Saigonese cuisine in a bright and welcoming space that evokes the sophistication of a chic Parisian brasserie. Presented like a traditional brasserie and best enjoyed family-style, the menu showcases an unexplored genre of Vietnamese cuisine complemented by an approachable and well-curated list of French wines, cocktails and digestifs.
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Next door to the main restaurant is a smaller shop which sells only banh mi. There are usually only two types: pork or chicken, although they may occasionally have a special. The serving portions of the veggies and meat are generous and one banh mi is more than adequate for lunch. There is some seating inside for maybe 4 people at the most.
This is a regular go-to spot for my family, for the kids we ask them to hold back on the spicy sauce.

Thank WHAaA_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Le Garcon Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear WHAaA_family,

Thanks so much for leaving such a wonderful review. We are stoked that the whole family is a fan!

We look forward to seeing you all very soon.


Thanks,
Gaëlle
Manager - Le Petite Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. On a business trip so eating solo, but it looked welcoming. The staff could not have been more accommodating, explaining the menu and even discussing the ingredients. The duck liver pate starter was delicious. For main I had the prawn skewers and had a go at wrapping my own DIY rice pancakes.

I thought the food was good, flavoursome and fresh. The venue has a nice ambience, the only drawback being that the open doors meant lots of cigarette smoke drifted in.

All in all I would recommend it.

Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Le Garcon Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Rob,

Thanks for the great feedback! The whole team are pleased you are with the service, ambience and the food.

We hope to see you back on your next trip.

Melody
Restaurant Manager - Le Garçon Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Our hotel gave us the name of this place, and we were not disappointed. We got one of the last tables, place was packed, but the staff was was friendly. Even ate there twice! When they saw we came back they all passed by to say hello and welcome back. Both times we took the same dishes because they were really tasty! Normally their dishes are to be shared.....however we did not. My partner took the lamb which was fantastic, and I ordered the waygu brochette DIY also very good. All in all a great little address!

1  Thank Tatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Le Garcon Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Tatude,

Thanks for a great review, that's what we like to see. We're very glad you had a wonderful time with us in Le Garçon Saigon. We really hope you that you'll visit us again whenever you're back in town.

Thanks,
Melody
Restaurant Manager - Le Garçon Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We had been looking fwd to going to this place for some time, but we just hadn't gotten around to it. Maybe we had set out expectations too high but we left disappointed.

FIrst the positive stuff - its situated on star street and had a lovely airy French bistro feel to it. Despite comments from other reviewers that they encountered bad service, i thought the staff were very helpful and attentive

Now the OK stuff - the food. I was nice but now wow! I was expecting strong Vietnamese flavours and we were disappointed. The food was bland - we were recommended the steamed snapper which was beautfully cooked but had no real taste - its a real pity

Ok and then the bad (ish). The noise - it wasn't that busy when we went there (probably 50% full) but even at that capacity and with the music, i couldnt hear my wife talk.

And the thing that annoyed me the most - what is it about French restaurants (well this is french Vietnamese) that makes them feel that they can only offer over priced french wine. I object to paying almost $600 + tax for a bottle of rose (of course the cheaper one was sold out)! There are so many great wines available in the world that offer much better value (sometimes the truth hurts) why limit it to just the French ones. Ok i am off my soapbox!

Based on this (especially the last point) we won't be returning

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Le Garcon Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Chris H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, we take pride in our service and we’re really glad you enjoyed the space as well. We’re disappointed, however, to hear our menu did not impress you.

We source our ingredients carefully and only choose the best quality products. Having said this, we serve dishes that are typical of Saigon that are delicate, light and refreshing. We’re sorry if this was not fully explained to you on the day. With regards to our wine list, our house Rosé is very popular and we apologise that we didn’t have a bottle available for you.

We hope you haven’t lost all faith in us and will give us another chance to wow you! We would love to welcome you back soon, and we’ll ensure to take good care of you.

Many thanks,
Natalia
Restaurant Manager – Le Garçon Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Had some lovely food here! Atmosphere is also good. However the service isn't great and I was very alarmed to find a large piece of sharp broken plastic in a spring roll which I bit on!

This could have ended badly and should not have happened.

Staff apologised and offered free desert but it would prevent me going back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FyldeFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Le Garcon Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi FyldeFord,


We’re so sorry to read about your experience. Please be assured, we are taking this very seriously and doing everything we can to ensure that this does not happen again.


On a lighter not, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere at Le Garçon Saigon and we really hope that you give us another chance.


Please feel free to reach out directly to our Guest Relations Manager, Roxy, on roxy@blacksheeprestaurants.com who will ensure you are looked after.


Many thanks,
Melody
Operations Manager- Le Garçon Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Garcon Saigon also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Le Garcon Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing