We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...but tuna slicing?”
Review of cafe TOO

cafe TOO
Reserve with Chope
cafe TOO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 11,994 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$100
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tai Fat Hau
Description: The innovative cafe TOO brings a high level of creativity to casual dining. The ten cooking theatres, each features a different culinary style, showcasing the best of international cuisines as well as stages for the chefs’ engaging performances.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food at cafe TOO dinner buffet was overall excellent - I enjoyed the variety of seafood - particularly the scallops, snow crab legs. The xiao long baos were also standouts, as well as the teppanyaki beef. The tempura was a bit disappointing as well as the Indian section. We enjoyed our meal here.

What I did not appreciate was the carving of the yellow-fin tuna. I generally avoid tuna given their near threatened status as well as the harmful fishing practices associated with it. It was doubly sad to see a particularly large yellow fin tuna being carved up and then consumed without much more thought. I know it’s a buffet, but the table beside me with their plate stacked with tuna just felt...wrong? Like with shark fins, I think we won’t look back on this positively. I do hope our attitudes towards sustainability can change for the better... But then again, why would anyone be interested any of this when it comes to a luxury buffet?

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ktoronto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

Absolutely one of the best buffet anywhere in the world. Many choice of Asian and Western appetizers, entries, soups, salads, noodles, all sorts of food and desserts. Highly recommend it. Worth the money.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Cafe TOO 咖啡廳 is the BEST buffet in Hong Kong. It offers international cuisine ranging from Asian to Italian, seafood, meat including a working chocolate fountain for fondue. The food is fresh and it will certainly eat your fill. Space is large. There is also a good selection of beer and wine. It sits inside the Shangri-La Hotel on Supreme Court Road in Central, Hong Kong Island. I highly covet another visit for dinner again.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chmpgnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Huge and I mean HUGE variety of food from Western, Indian, Japanese and Chinese. Even though it is "all you can eat" there is no way you will be able to get through everything that is offered. Quality of the food is good and delicious. Definitely worth going to if you are feeling very hungry!! Compared with other hotels on the island this is definitely number 1 for variety and value for money.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Roomknightrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandShangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Roomknightrider,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our buffet selection at cafe TOO. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Best regards,
Conor Hadlington
Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

There are so many choices for buffet
What I like most are the desserts, there are cakes, and puddings, soufflé, jelly, etc
And there’s always long queue for the Chinese soup

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank unizfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandShangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear unizfree,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our variety of dishes in our buffet. We hope to have you back again soon!

Best regards,
Conor Hadlington
Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed cafe TOO also viewed

 

Been to cafe TOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing