We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous Breakfast Buffet”
Review of cafe TOO

cafe TOO
Reserve with Chope
cafe TOO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 11,959 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$100
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tai Fat Hau
Description: The innovative cafe TOO brings a high level of creativity to casual dining. The ten cooking theatres, each features a different culinary style, showcasing the best of international cuisines as well as stages for the chefs’ engaging performances.
Reviewed 13 July 2018

The breakfast buffet is second to none offering a wide selection of hot and cold food. They have western food, Chinese food, Japanese food, Indian food, a wide array of fruits & juices, freshly made pancakes & waffles, a dizzying assortment of pastries and breads. You will surely find something here that will tickle your fancy!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Flaneur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandShangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Flaneur98,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our selection of dishes at cafe TOO. We hope to have you back again soon!

Best regards,
Conor Hadlington
Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

I only been there for their buffet, that's why I said only if you have four or more; as I find it's no fun if you only have a small table. My mother loves buffet as she can see a lot and pick a bit of this and that without stuffing herself. In Hong Kong almost all five stars hotels offer buffet especially on Sundays. My advice is pick the more expensive ones so you won't be disappointed because certain items run out. Even though expect to be crowded as Hongkongers love buffet.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thissiteisnotforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandShangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Thissiteisnotforme,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your mom had an enjoyable meal at cafe TOO. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
Conor Hadlington
Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel Buffets are a "thing" in Hong Kong, compare to N. America's, Hong Kong version offers way more varieties; they usually includes regional dishes from all over the globe.
Cafe Too's selling point is their selection of Seafood; special features are offered on Thursdays: Fresh Hamachi, Ahi Tuna, Tako, Ama Ebi, etc.
Whole Boston Lobster, Lobster Claws stir fried in peppercorn, French Crab, King Crab Legs ( a bit salty ), Snow Crab Legs, Tiger Prawns, Mussels, and more.
For meat eaters; the carving station offers; Roast Prime of Beef, Roasted Turkey, Grilled Australian Lamb Chops and an assortment of Chinese BBQs. Walk a bit over and you get the Tempura Station with Prawns, Japanese Horse Mackerel, Okra, Egg Plant, etc.
Then there is the Teppanyaki station; go for the Cubed Beef; tender morsels of juicy beef, medium rare and perfect with the Ponzu sauce that's offered!
Prices are in the medium high range of HK$600+, which in my opinion is well worth considering the location, the quality and selection of food items, service etc. (complimentary valet parking; enquire for more details).
Special mention is their service, very friendly and courteous, they take time to explain how the special drink menu works (pay a flat rate for a 3 hour drink affair; choices of Juices, Soft Drinks, Beer, Wine) etc.
Also kudos to the Host at the front; Mr. K. Yiu; he as been extra gracious by calling me back after we have left the hotel to let me know that they have adjusted my credit card payment due to their mistake. I totally appreciate his professionalism!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Y3025YVandreww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandShangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Andrew W,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable meal at cafe TOO. It would be my pleasure to commend my colleague for his exemplary service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
Conor Hadlington
Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

That is my first time to visit here, I will said lunch time also valuable to try, they have many hot and cold items.

The table was big and the servers were helpful and attentive. Most important is the price so reasonable.

If you able to have a long lunch, please come at 1200, they start at 1200 and finish at 1430.

They do have a lot dessert, all of them were so good, not only the cheese cakes, also have some small items and pancake!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sakichin223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandShangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear sakichin223,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable meal at cafe TOO. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Conor Hadlington
Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

This is my favorite buffet place in Hong Kong. The price per person last time I went was about $600 Hong Kong ($85 U.S.). What a great spread they have. This restaurant is inside of the Island Shangri-La Hotel on Pacific Place. Reservations are recommended. Sometimes you can walk in and they may have a place to sit at the bar but it's usually booked solid. They have everything there. When you walk in they have a huge seafood table with lobsters, shrimp and other assorted goodies. They have smoked salmon, all types of salads, Chinese food, dumplings (dim sum), Indian food and a giant dessert table. Bring your appetite to this place. Although you don't need to wear a suit and tie I would say business casual at the least. I saw one guy come in with shorts and flip flops and I was shocked they let him in. I found it really disrespectful and think people should dress properly for the occasion IMO. Pay a visit to this place and bring a huge appetite.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brooklynexpat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandShangri-La, Executive Assistant Manager – Food and Beverage at cafe TOO, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Brooklynexpat65,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable dining experience and café TOO is your favourite buffet restaurant in Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Conor Hadlington
Executive Assistant Manager – Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed cafe TOO also viewed

 

Been to cafe TOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing