We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really quite bad”
Review of Fish Bar

Fish Bar
Ranked #197 of 11,994 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tai Fat Hau
Description: Enjoy delicious seafood, daily fresh catch and signature cocktails in a stylish alfresco setting by the pool. Try our ever classic dishes like Fish & Chips, Crab and Lobster Cake, Seafood Tower and more.
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Expensive given that it was within the hotel. In contrast to the steakhouse Flint in the JW Marriott, the food was not very good. The clam chowder was gelatinous with strange things in it, the prawn cocktail was mushy, and the cheesecake tasted like chalk. Pleasant service but I wouldn’t recommend.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Daoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant Mana... J, Manager at Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong and thank you for sharing your experience with us!
We truly regret to learn that you did not enjoy your meal at Fish Bar.
Our Chef and I would like to reassure you that your comments are taken very seriously.
Since learning of your complaint, we spent a considerable amount of time conducting an investigation into the details of your feedback. We tasted the dish to ensure proper food preparation is practiced, following the recipe which indeed includes Clam Chowder and prawn cocktail. We sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us again.
I would appreciate if you could channel your future reservation through my office directly so that I can prepare the arrangements and have the opportunity to welcome you back personally. Thank you for your support of JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong.

Sincerely,
Ming Chan
Restaurant Manager
2841-3732

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

It’s so chill to having my food at poolside. The crab cake is a must try dish, it’s full of crab meat and with tartar sauce is the perfect match. Would like to order toothfish today but already sold out, quite disappointed. Service is good. Specially thanks to Jasmine for recommending dishes. Greet every guest with a warm smile, know all the dishes well, give very good recommendations which base on our preference. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 900are
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant Mana... J, Manager at Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time to write a review at trip advisor.
Great to hear that you enjoy our Food & service. Specially thanks for
your compliment of our team members Jasmine.
We will share your comment to her.
We apology for the tooth fish was sold out. We'll share this issue with the kitchen team, and try to avoid the similar incident.
We're looking forward to serve you in the future.
Thank you very much!

your sincerely
Ming Chan
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Where to find a outdoor best place for rainy Sunday?

Fish bar!

Enjoy the relaxing Sunday , watching the raindrop with good wine n drink

It's my fd birthday celebration, they prepared the dessert with wording even we notify them on the same day, what's a great services , salute to Jeffy, jasmine, crystal , Ryan n Eric

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank samanthaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant Mana... J, Manager at Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time to write a review at trip advisor.
Great to hear that you enjoy our food & Service.
We'll share your compliment with my team.
We're looking forward to serve you in the future.
Thank you very much!

your sincerely
Ming Chan
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We love to come here on a sunny day & sit outdoor to dine by the pool. Great seafood, whether it is grilled fish, burger with tuna & avocado but this time we chose calamari & octopus salad. The taste is good but lacking a bit salt & portion is small, I think they should put a bigger portion of salad to make it a fuller meal.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank MaryN1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant Mana... J, Manager at Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thanks for your time to write a review at trip advisor.
Great to hear that you enjoy our seafood and environment.
For the portion of the appetizer that we will share with our Chef.
We're looking forward to serve you in the future.
Thank you very much!

your sincerely
Ming Chan
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This restaurant serves good seafood menu. However, it can be very hot during summer time as it does not has AC. They do have fans but i am the kind of person that i need AC during summer time. Good smart causal place for lunch.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank rockchic2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurant Mana... J, Manager at Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Great to hear that you love Fish bar.
Thank you for your comment of AC. We will review our
Restaurant concept and needs.
Again, thank you very much for you taking time to wrote a review.
We're looking forward to see you soon.

your sincerely
Ming Chan
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing