We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hong Kong
from US$20.90
More Info
from US$52.39
More Info
from US$25.47
More Info
from US$11.75
More Info
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
119
154
101
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
154
101
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews london eye singapore flyer round times per child ifc mall victoria harbour entry fee night view takes about minutes take pictures central station tsim sha tsui rotations pier ride gondola ferry
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2015

The Hong Kong Observation Wheel (HK$100 per adult, HK$70 per child) opened late last autumn at the new Central Waterfront and has taken rather mixed responses since that time.

In some ways we have found it a nice little addition to the recently developed waterfront area. Yet, we also feel that it fails to excite compared to the taller, more impressive rides you can take in cities like London and Singapore.

One of the nice things about the HK Observation Wheel is that we don't find much in the form of queues there during much of the day. As such, if you are planning to visit the waterfront area, you will probably not wait more than 5-10 minutes during normal days and weekends for a ride. We also like the views, which are better at night as you are less impacted by poor sky conditions and the buildings are more impressive to look at in darkness.

What we don't like so much about the Hong Kong Observation Wheel is how often it seems to stop. While not such a big deal in the end, it would have been better if this operated more like the London Eye where you have continuous, uninterrupted movement. Oh well.

In the end there is no doubt the Hong Kong Observation Wheel is fun but its not a world class ride nor will it likely become a major attraction in the city. It is just something worth trying if you really enjoy ferris wheels and plan to spend some time on the HK waterfront area.

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

This is a nice addition to the area where the Star Ferry and other boat transportation departs. We went during the day, but of course, the view will be more dramatic at night. But going on a Monday in the late afternoon, there was virtually no wait. The area was surprisingly quiet and restful. You can take a lot of photos and selfies with various background views. Also, you are very near a lot of great places to go, so it makes a nice component part of an outing.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

The ride was boring. It constantly stopped for people to get on/off. Skip this attraction during your visit to Hongkong.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Happytravelinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015

The Hong Kong Observation Wheel is a new addition to the city's harbor front but it seems to be dwarfed by the towering skyscrapers in the background and it is significantly smaller than its counterparts in London and Vegas. We went there at around noon time on a Wednesday and there were hardly any people but the attendant flatly refused to let us have a car to ourselves and we were forced to share one with two lovebirds who were none too happy with the intrusion. The wheel went around four times and while it was a bargain for the fares, it became somewhat tedious after seeing the same view over and over again. If you don't mind the crowd, I was told that the view was absolutely fabulous in the night time particularly when the Symphony of Lights was on.

Date of experience: January 2015
2  Thank Icebergs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Having ridden in similar Wheels in London & Singapore, both during the day and night, I personally found the wheel not only too small at 60-M maximum height, but it also spun around too fast. But the plus side of the speed being that each ride was two revolutions which gave you a second chance of taking a picture you might have missed the first time around. I found that the view of both sides of the harbour, day or night, was by far more picturesque and stunning half-way up the Peak from the view Point on STUBBS ROAD, where there is no pressure on how much time one can spend enjoying the view. But in fairness, if one has not ridden in a wheel at all, then this may well be looked into very seriously. But try to do it on a clear, or at least a reasonably clear day or night.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Noshir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews