We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Tai O
from US$94.26
More Info
from US$133.16
More Info
from US$64.68
More Info
from US$138.83
More Info
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveller rating
679
645
200
59
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
645
200
59
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts pink dolphins fishing village fried fish boat ride heritage hotel tung chung ngong ping lantau island big buddha shops selling dried old police station stilted houses chinese white dolphins dried sea narrow streets bus terminal
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

This was one of the more impressive highlights of my Lantau island tour. I believe it is the oldest (and only) fishing village of its kind in Hong Kong - very traditional. I think it is worth seeing. There are regular boat trips which takes you out at sea, where you have a good chance of seeing the white Chinese dolphins (I was lucky to see them and I can tell you that they are the most magnificent creatures I've ever seen).

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank ASeenath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We took Bus #11 from Ngog Ping (Big Buddha) to Tai O village, and had a great time by walking between the authentic fishermen stilt houses. We also took a 20-min boat excursion, which was very exciting. It was worth visiting the village.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Rina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

This little fishing village is culturally unique and very different from anything you will have seen before.

As part of our tour we got to walk around the narrow streets and visit local shops as well as a short boat tour along the water past all the houses on stilts.

Very enjoyable if you like seeing different cultures.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank davidbrown86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Visited this because it was recommended by friends. Being vegetarians, we couldn't buy or eat anything in the village. I guess, urbanites of Hong Kong love the feel of a rural town as a respite from their daily grind.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank vidyanahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Return bus tickets to Tai O and a brief boat trip were included in our Ngong Ping 360 tickets.

On the day we were there the bus only went to (and from) Tai O once every hour and even though there were plenty of empty buses at the depot near the gondola, when the bus was full they didn't use another one so we had to stand for the trip to the village and other people just didn't get on at all. There was only one bus on the return journey too.

Once in Tai O it was very difficult to actually find the boat/company that was taking us on the short cruise. No signs, no-one pointing to the place. We asked locals who pointed vaguely down the road and eventually we stumbled across it when we saw some other tourists. The short cruise to view the pole houses was ok but after that there wasn't really anything else to do there if you didn't want to eat fried fish or buy dried fish. We just walked up & down the village shops and then went back to the bus stop to wait.

For the length of time it took to get there and back it was a little underwhelming.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank MonB643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews