We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Book In Advance
  
translated by Google
Ways to Experience Tai O
from US$133.16
More Info
from US$94.20
More Info
from US$64.64
More Info
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveller rating
687
651
203
59
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
651
203
59
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts pink dolphins fishing village fried fish boat ride heritage hotel tung chung lantau island ngong ping big buddha shops selling dried old police station stilted houses chinese white dolphins dried sea narrow streets bus terminal
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016

After seeing the Big Buddha, we decided to head here and take a walk along the bay. We saw fish markets, the homes on stilts, and some very healthy cats! We watched some crabbing when the tide was low. We had coffee in a remotely located hotel with a great view of the waterfront. I felt like I had been transplanted to Jamaica! For those who enjoy viewing a simpler Hong Kong way of life.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Tai O is a bit out of the way, but a great place to visit. I stayed in Espace Plastique which was excellent as the rooms are spacious and modern.
While in Tai O I went to visit the Tai O heritage centre, I took the boat to see the pink dolphins (we got to see them which was great), watched the local men play table games, ate in the local restaurants (i would recommend just getting what the locals are eating as we did, it was delicious ) and just in general walked around the whole village several times as it is very small.
All of the local shops sell dried fish, unsurprising as it is a fishing town, but it was nice!
Veronica, our hotel owner, told us how the fishing industry is dying out here, as big ships and companies have taken over. It is getting harder and harder to get the younger generations to stay in the village and continue the old way of life. For this reason they are starting to rely much more heavily on the tourism industry, so try and come to Tai O while it still retains its genuine charm from the old time way of life.
I would say come and stay for a day or two so you can laze around leisurely and appreciate its charm. You can also hike up to the infinity pool for a dip!
a beautiful and interesting quaint village that will over time become more and more touristy.
The locals are lovely and the houses on stilts and the gentile atmosphere are a great contrast to the fast past and sky scrapers of HK city.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Eimear G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I haven't been there for many years and went there a month ago. So traditional for everything, seems going back to Hong Kong in its 80's era.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank dusktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Tai O is a village on Lantau Island. Take the MTR to Lantau and a bus to Tai O. The busses are clearly marked. It is possible to use an OCTUPUS card for the MTR and the bus.
Allow at least half a day to visit Tai O. It is charming to walk around the narrow pathways to see the houses. There are ramps in some places to get even closer. It is marked where the walkways are private.
Many restaurants are available with menu cards with pictures showing the food choices.
It is possible to take a boat ride for HK$25 to visit the houses from the water. The boat then goes out on the water away from Tai O. There are pink dolphins to be seen at certain times. They are pink, docile, and stay, mostly, just under the surface. The boat ride lasts about half an hour.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We arrived in Tai O after a rocky ferry ride and a long curvy swervy bus ride. It must have been low tide because the bases of the houses on stilts were all exposed. There was trash everywhere! The small beaches and the undersides of houses were full of trash, including plastic of all colors, paper, cloth and other unrecognizable items. Also, the smell of dead and/or rotting fish was pervasive. The citizens of Tai O apparently have no pride in their village or they would clean it up. We took a 15 minute walk to the Heritage Hotel for lunch. Our 3 lunches were mediocre and small and yet our final bill was almost $100 U.S. It was a holiday (Sweeps Day) and very, very crowded. The attraction of Tai O eludes me. We will never, ever return.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews