We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Book In Advance
  
translated by Google
Ways to Experience Tai O
from US$133.16
More Info
from US$94.20
More Info
from US$64.64
More Info
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveller rating
687
651
203
59
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
651
203
59
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts pink dolphins fishing village fried fish boat ride heritage hotel tung chung lantau island ngong ping big buddha shops selling dried old police station stilted houses chinese white dolphins dried sea narrow streets bus terminal
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Busy, and fishy. If you're visiting Big Buddha you really must visit this place. Great photo opportunities.
It's an 'add on' visit, and only takes an hour or two.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Aklguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

If you really want to see a Pink Dolphin this is your chance. I was very under whelmed with Tai O. Not too bad of place and the food is great and there are some great little shops there to go shopping. Also if you want to take a boat ride and see the stilt village its cool, but I would much rather spend more time at the Big Buddha.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Josh - Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

It's the Wandering Yank here. Mrs. Yank and I spent the day at Lantau Island and took the bus from Ngong Ping village to Tai O. It was highlighted in our Lonely Planet guidebook, so we thought it would be a worthwhile visit.

And it was okay. Even though it was a weekday, it was very busy with tourists. The bridge over the creek in the middle of the village was packed, a bottleneck between the markets on either side. The markets are okay, lots of fish of course, but again, it was very crowded. I did get some good photos of the waterfront homes and boats, but frankly, I've seen more colorful and less-crowded fishing villages elsewhere in Asia.

The wait for a bus back to the MTR station was long and hot, at least an hour, and it was getting worse as the afternoon progressed.

2 (not very enthusiastic) thumbs up!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

If you have even seen a picture in a magazine and thought... I wonder if they edited this picture... This little fishing village is that picture. walking around watching the villages setting up their markets in the morning awaiting customers is fascinating. They are busting their backs fishing and bringing in there goods to sell. Also please be very careful as most do not like to have their pictures taken so please be respectful and ask before you take the picture. We had a women in our group offend a elderly women who believed her sole was taken when the picture was taken... it was a very big deal and very uncomfortable to be a part of.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank globetrottergrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

I have never been to Tai O before so my relatives took me for a half day trip. Beautiful place but takes a bit of commuting to get to. Have to take the MTR all the way to Tung Chung station and then a bus ride for about 30 minutes. The bus ride goes through very twisty roads so it could cause motion sickness. The town itself is beautiful with all the old houses and views of the mountains. The locals are very friendly; they will just start chatting with you about stuff. We walked through a street which was just all residential and you can tell its a nice quiet place because peoples' doors aren't even closed and you can see inside their houses. The food here is excellent - fresh and dried seafood for a fraction of the price you would have to pay back out on HK island.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank WCL1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews