We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Visit to the grand Kowloon Mosque during Chinese New Year

The mosque was a hive of activity during the Chinese New Year Holidays. Besides worshipping in the... read more

Reviewed 18 December 2018
ahmadf617
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Haven’t enter but looks ok from outside...

If u are into Muslim u probably find ur peace inside...not loud prayer can be listen at sunset... read more

Reviewed 1 March 2018
iTV46
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Read all 148 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hong Kong
from US$20.91
More Info
from US$82.60
More Info
from US$62.21
More Info
from US$36.19
More Info
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
60
53
25
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
53
25
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nathan road haiphong road meeting point noodles mtr station prayer masjid muslim performed exit kowloon worship hk landmark chinese culture
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Don't spend more than 2 hours here , the area is great and nice. I prayed here and walked around for sometime. It's nice to learn about the culture at this centre

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank MoeEwidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

A great place to visit for both muslims and no-muslims alike.

Plenty of eminent people from the centre for non-muslims to go to and ask as many questions as they like. A really welcoming and open environment.

As a Muslim, I attended during a brief stay in Kowloon for Iftar (or to break my fast) during the Muslim holy month of Ramadan. I was pleasantly surprised at just how many Muslims were present for Iftar - must've been close to 1000. Mostly if not all local business owners or labourers.

The place was full of families, enjoying the food provided by the mosque via community donations (fresh fruit, dates, juice, water, chicken stew, fried samosas and pakoras etc), followed by prayers in a really pleasant air-conditioned, well lit, beautiful prayer hall stretching over a couple of floors at least.

There's a real community vibe about this place, witnessed by events immediately following prayers. Mangoes, tea, dates and other snacks were being sold on the gate by vendors.

Given its proximity to Kowloon Park, the inevitable over-spill and family atmosphere at night in a well lit garden environment was a real sight to behold. A great community feeling emphasising the importance and significance of this landmark for the local community.

Hong Kong is a better place as a result.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank manchester_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We were surprised to find such a large mosque in central Kowloon during our stroll along Nathan road. It was busy with devotees conducting or finishing evening prayers. We managed to take a peek at its interior which reveal a prayer hall. We learnt that the existing structure was a replacement of the original built as early as 1896. We did not take any photos of the interior and people out of respect.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank livingroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

My friend and me were just hanging out in the area, when the imam noticed me looking at the mosque and invited us in to take a look at the building and a prayer ceremony. I felt that the short tour was very informative and modern. Arriving to Hong Kong from China, it was definitely refreshing to see a massive diversity in cultures, religions and ethnic groups living in harmony.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank NorbiS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Located very strategically in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui. The place is clean and big. Every sunday you could also find Indonesian halal snack

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank romusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews