We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Man Fat Sze)
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hong Kong
from US$13.06
More Info
from US$20.89
More Info
from US$134.10
More Info
from US$71.82
More Info
Reviews (2,219)
Filter reviews
2,219 results
Traveller rating
1,234
781
179
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,234
781
179
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sha tin fake monks wild monkeys main temple government offices sheung wo che road exit b pai tau village shatin mtr station gold buddhas worth the climb long climb steep walk vegetarian restaurant turn left life size take your time
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 2,219 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

You'd think, surly not ten thousand Buddhas in this hall, but there would be if you could count them all. In the intricately decorated hall, full of colour and gold, there are thousands of Buddha statues in a few different sizes. You are not allowed to take photos inside the temples, and if you are not Buddhist, you should not go passed the doorway. So be respectful as people do go up to these temples and say their prayers. Worth a trip up on the cable car.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank KatDeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

I visited the ten thousand Buddha monastery with my sister past April. When exiting the station we walked towards the shopping mall (you can see it from the station) which is a five minute walk away. From there we had to ask how to get to the entrance of the monastery as it wasn’t immediately apparent from google maps. The entrance is in fact at the back of the shopping mall. It’s one of those situations where, while walking around the shopping mall towards the back, you sort of feel you must be in the wrong place. But actually, it’s the right place.

Suffices to say that the entrance doesn’t look like much, however, once you’re on your way up things start looking more interesting. I found the hike pretty easy, I don’t think it is as intense as people make it sound. Anyone fit enough to walk can get up to the temple, just wear comfortable shoes. The walk up will take about 30 minutes if you take your time to look around.

During the walk one is flanked on both sides by large golden human-sized Buddha statues. It was pretty impressive to see the amount of Buddhas and it was quite entertaining to see all of their different facial expressions. Once inside the temple it became clear how there are ten thousand Buddhas: the temple was filled with mini Buddha statues, as opposed to the big ones outside. I guess it still counts, but nonetheless that was a bit of a disappointment. I felt deceived for some reason.

So, the walk was definitely more of an experience in my opinion than the temple itself. As they say - it's not the destination that matters most, it's the journey there. Also, there weren't many people visiting the temple at that time (we went at 1.30pm on a Wednesday) which made this a very relaxing outing. I would suggest to visit this sight if you have time, especially if you like to mix a cultural activity with a bit of exercise.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank AnnahDionisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Well worth the climb even on a very hot humid day, bring water and if you ran out you do have a little cafe on the very top where you can get something to drink and eat. It was fascinating to see golden statues in different poses and room filled with thousand tiny Buddhas

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Ojerseyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Stunning place - take your time, relax and enjoy it. Very different. We were lucky with great weather on our stay which showed off the sights to their best.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank EimearQ8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

The week we were in Hong Kong it rained about every day. We didn’t let that stop us from getting to and hiking up to the monastery. As many have said already there is a steep climb to get up to the monastery there are Buddha’s and gold statues all along the way heading up there.

Plenty of resting spots and stairs as well as ramp. Once you get to the top you have an amazing view of the valley. The temples are very well maintained and beautiful. The actual temple with the thousands of Buddha’s is amazing. We did a quick count and figured there were at least 10k Buddha’s.

Make sure to keep heading up the stairs after visiting the area around the main temple. The view is even better and there are cooler and cooler sites to see

Definitely worth the time to see even though it may not be that historical, but in my opinion it was great.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank mattk_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews