We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, authentic greek food”
Review of Souvla

Souvla
Ranked #2,573 of 9,135 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Greek, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Reviewed 20 September 2015

I have been here a couple of times, both times for dinner. The staff is always friendly and attentive. The layout is open space with bigger tables as well as more cosy options. Would not choose this for a super romantic meal necessarily but have been here in a couple and it was fine.

The food is always very good and authentic greek style. My favourite is the octopus salad.

Situation in the heart of LKF, it is a popular choice for nice dinner before a night out or just a nice meal with friends with easy reach to the Central MTR.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarciTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireHK, Team Souvla at Souvla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Hi MarciTravels, thank you so much for your review! It's great to hear that you've been twice for dinner and enjoyed it immensely both times. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2015

Souvla was my first Greek experience in Hong Kong. I was pleasantly surprised by the extensive menu. I have visiting Souvla a few times and I must say their service and food is fairly consistent. The food portion is on the small side and it is advisable to double up if you have more than 5 people in your group. The lamb and the Cypriot Salata are my must have. They have a decent wine list and do happy hour at a reasonable rate.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sundaybrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireHK, Team Souvla at Souvla, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Hi sundaybrunch, thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our selection of dishes. If you work in Central or the surrounding areas, we have a great lunch buffet deal, containing all kinds of Greek appetisers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

At-will buffet. Dishes are numerous but all having their own originality. I was full before realizing it was all vegetarian. The food does taste like (good) Greek food, this is no dubious Asian fusion. The bar provides ouzo and metaxa, and on top of that, draft Grimbergen (not Greek, but one of the best beer you may have). The staff is helpful, smiling and friendly. If I really wanted to criticize, I would say they should work on a more Hellenic decor, and play Greek music. I would say.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireHK, Team Souvla at Souvla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Hello Pierre B, thank you for your review. It's an honor to hear such high praises from a Greek diner! We're pleased that you thought our Greek-style appetiser buffet was filling and delicious, and that the bar was stocked with authentic Greek spirits and beers. Thank you for your feedback on our decor and music, we will certainly pass these on. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Hong Kong!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

I should start off saying that we love Greek food and based on the Trip Advisor reviews at the time we just had to try this place. We went for the 'legendary' rump and rooster buffet and, boy were we disappointed. The majority of food on display was cold eats, such as salads, tomatoes, feta cheese, rice and beetroot. There was a piece of beef being cut but very fatty and at the time very rare, the beef seeming endlessly being in the oven. We asked for pita bread - not included, taramosalata - not included, kebabs of any sort - not included, stifado - not included. Now for HK$500 (for two) we were not expecting a gourmet meal but expected far more than was offered. Other more attractive looking foods did appear to be served but I assume these were not on the buffet menu. The meal was without doubt the worst we've had in Hong Kong. The rear of the restaurant was reasonably full, mostly with families in groups on large tables, so possibly the venue suits other but certainly not our idea of a Greek meal. We won't be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Minnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireHK, Team Souvla at Souvla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Hi minnis, thank you for your review of Souvla. We're terribly sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at the restaurant. We take price in being one of the few authentic Greek restaurants in the heart of Hong Kong, and frequently receive rave reviews on our a la carte menu and our buffet.

Our lunch buffet is lauded for its healthy options — the Mediterranean diet is chockfull of salads, after all. We're very sorry that you didn't like the extensive selection of nutritious dishes. When you do think of where to have a Greek style feast, we hope you consider us. Have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

The place has a great selection of authentic Greek food and quite cool signature cocktails. The lamb they use is just glorious.
What has somewhat upset me is the size of the portions and service. The guy did not write the order down, and has brought wrong dishes as the result. The music was a tad too loud, so we could not exactly have a normal conversation.

Thank Nikolay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpireHK, Team Souvla at Souvla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2015

Hi Nikolay Y, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Souvla. Great to hear that you thought the lamb was "glorious" and that the signature cocktails were "quite cool." We're very sorry that our waiter brought out the wrong dishes as a result of not writing your order down. We will speak to our service team and make sure this doesn't happen again. We hope to see you at Souvla again soon for more authentic Greek food! Have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Souvla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing