We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,537)
Filter reviews
3,537 results
Traveller rating
1,076
1,565
638
176
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
1,565
638
176
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cosmopolitan hotel happy valley racecourse race course times square causeway bay jockey club shuttle bus family quad room shuttle service ocean park free wifi deluxe room hk station free calls mobile phone city view hotel lobby
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 3,537 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017

The Dorsett is very central to everything and well priced for an international hotel.
The rooms were always clean and quiet.
Service was excellent, and everyone spoke excellent English and couldn't have been more helpful in providing directions and advice.
We did not eat in the hotel.
We used the shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel which was well priced and comfortable. Although it took an hour to get to the hotel - maybe it was the time of day?

Room Tip: Lower rooms have no view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PenelopeC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchaiHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear PenelopC2002, thank you for your review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Your compliments will definitely be passed on to our teams to keep them motivated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in April, this bring my first time to Hong Kong.

The rooms are nice but small. Beds and linen are excelllent, the best quality of the room. We had a racetrack view, which was nice.

The buffet breakfast was ok, we skipped it two out of the four days as I didn't fed the food selection that good.

The reception staff weren't that friendly, but that could have been the language barrier. They spoke English, but it wasn't strong. They do currency conversion here if you get stuck, but the rates aren't competitive.

The bar is open and in the reception area, drinks are quite expensive but the bar tender was friendly and made good cocktails.

The hotel is about a 10 min walk to the heart of wan chai, we walked there and back a few times. This is the closest station on the island line.

This hotel is nice, but I don't know if I'd stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JussyJ0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchaiHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear JussyJ0406, thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed the overall facilities of Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Room-wise, we hope you will have the chance to check out our other room types that measure up to 48 sq. m. for a more spacious stay next time. Regarding the breakfast, we will pass your comment to our food and beverage department for their quality review. We have also taken note of your comment on our staffs. Rest assured that guests’ service is always our top priority, so we will make sure better trainings are provided to improve our service quality. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

As first timers to HK....We arrived around 145pm for a week via 'limo' service arranged thru travel agent as we were coming from UK and knew we we would be too shattered to wait for shuttles which are convenient but just take longer.. It took about 45mins each way. although they estimated up to 1.5hrs in both out and return. If you on on getting any taxis have the name and address written down as some of them may still know it as 'the cosmopolitan' and can get confused (we found taxis very cheap).
On arrival at hotel, we couldn't get a double and twin room unless we waited for other rooms to be ready. We opted for two twins. Maybe if we had waited we would have had a view of the racecourse instead of the graveyard. Still we were happy to have an immediate kip before going out for the race night opposite (great fun) as that is unmissable and only once a week.
All of the Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay - often unprompted. The concierge was great too. They seem well trained but then we found HK people friendly so it's partly their natural approach to life perhaps.
The rooms were good with tea/coffee facilties and a room bar and great showers. The rooms don't have a lot of cupboard space but that wasn't an issue for us it just meant some t-shirts weren't hung up for the first few days. Two bottles of water are provided free of charge daily in the room (500ml?) Which is very welcome. The room bar prices, bar prices and restaurant prices are steep which seems to be the way in hotels in HK. It's cheap eating out so we never ate in the hotel and avoided the room bar. A pint of lager in the hotel bar is £9 equivalent. You can get 4 small cans of lager for about £2.80 in the nearby small supermarkets so its a bit of a contrast. On our way back each night we would grab drinks and the odd snack from a 7/11 supermarket or similar as it's much cheaper and this is handy if you are taking a small backpack on a trip out the next day. However every meal can be eaten out in HK restaurants at low prices unless you particularly want somewhere posh.
The free hotel shuttle bus is convenient for places like Central Station, HK Ferry, Admiralty all of which have MTT stations You can also walk to Times Square for all the shops, restaurants and the causeway bay MTR. There is also a bus stop to Stanley just up from the hotel and they are frequent and cheap like all public transport it seems (ferries, trams, MTR, bus).
Use the hotel smartphone for data/Internet as it's very easy to set up as a hotspot with their instructions and avoid high roaming charges to UK on your own phone. If not sure the staff will show you. The Dorsett Wan chai's helpful booklet was great for locating some cheap eateries and for shuttle timetable etc. We would stay here again if we were to visit. Very comfortable, handy location and great staff.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SteveDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchaiHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear SteveDDD, thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed the overall facilities of Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Room-wise, we hope you will have the chance to check out our other room types that measure up to 48 sq. m. for a more spacious stay and better Causeway Bay city or racecourse view next time. Your compliments on our friendly staffs are much appreciated, and we will definitely pass it on to our front office team to keep them motivated. Regarding your comment on the price of the bar, rest assured that it is set according to the overall Hong Kong’s hotel standards, but we will bring this issue up during our management meeting for price review. Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We stayed for 5 nights! Staff were helpful, and they upgraded us to a higher floor. It was a busy time for them especially we were there just after the rugby sevens and then something else at the convention centre. Staff serving breakfast in the dining room deserves a commendation! They clear the tables in good speed. Served with a smile and topping up the breakfast spread regularly. One or two staff at breakfast remembered our names too. Our room was always immaculately made Everyday. It's located opposite the Happy Valley racecourse. They have a good bus shuttle service to the MTR, tho the drivers could be more smiley and acknowledge a thank you. We did walk to Causeway Bay MTR it's probably about 10 mins walk away.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 307marjiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchaiHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear 207marjiet, thank you for your comment. We are glad you had a wonderful stay at Dorsett Wanchai. Your compliments on the breakfast are also well appreciated, and we will surely pass it on to our food and beverage team to keep them motivated. Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Awesome location if you're visiting for the HSBC 7s tournament. The walk to the stadium took about 20 minutes! The hotel is also so conveniently located for walking around Wan Chai and Causeway - this is what we did as a family: exploring the place looking for great food!! This was easily found everywhere ☺ The Dorset is also so close to MTR stations - complimentary hotel buses take you there, but also very easy to walk to. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - so convenient for us, the hotel was great and the staff are excellent!! Will definitely be returning next year for the 7s!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank TrinTia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchaiHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear TrinTia, thank you for your review. We are glad you had a superb stay at Dorsett Wanchai during the Rugby 7s. Your compliments will surely be passed on to our teams to keep them motivated. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews