We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
HK$435
Hotels.com
HK$409
Earn rewards on eligible stays
KLOOK
HK$372
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Tania E
Hong Kong

Terrible Experience

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2024
Very disappointed in this hotel for a number of reasons
I preplan a holiday for my extend family and booked and paid for 3 rooms 5 months before we were in Hong Kong

On arrival in April, the room which is booked for me was well below acceptable, I would imagine at a 2 star level

1. It was dark and lacked light
2. Very old fashion in its decor, the photo illustrated was not the room
3. The view face inwards, not to a courtyard as stated, but to neighbouring building walls, which were covered in slime
4. The room smelt of mould and damp

I complained to the manager, who was very professional

He immediately upgraded me

The room again was less than ideal and it was then I looked at my booking rate and then compared to what was currently being advertised on the day
It appeared the now rate for the rooms I had booked, was half the price of what I prepaid in November 2023

I again complained and said it was unacceptable, the manager empathised but said there was nothing they could do about that
My recommendation, do not pre pay any rooms here at this hotel and do not believe the images which are advertised on line
I believe you can find better valued hotel with more integrity and honesty than the management practises displayed by this hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip:  Very disappointed in this hotel for a number of reasons do not pre pay any rooms here at this...
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ponnie Cheung, Other at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review
Responded 18 Apr 2024
Dear TaniaE379,

Thank you for your feedback. We feel sorry that our room condition and guest service was not up to your expectation.

We appreciate your kind words about our professional staff and their assistance in upgrading your room. We would like to clarify that hotel room rates can vary based on the period and time of booking, and they are not fixed at all times.

To assist guests in making an informed decision, we provide detailed photos, including 360 virtual tours of each room type, are available on our website to assist guests in selecting the most suitable option. If you would like to experience our renovated accommodations, we suggest reserving our Premier Plus or Optimum Floor guestrooms for your next stay. These rooms offer a blend of style and comfort, ensuring a pleasant and cozy experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Atrium
Booking.com
HK$1,203
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,091
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
HK$935
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$845
  • Hotels.com
11.5 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$1,485
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,391
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,330
  • Expedia
    HK$1,391
4.8 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
HK$880
  • Agoda.com
    HK$870
  • Trip.com
    HK$832
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,134
11.2 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
HK$748
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$716
  • ibis
    HK$748
2.6 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
Booking.com
HK$804
HK$738
  • Hotels.com
    HK$744
  • Agoda.com
  • travelup.com
2.2 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
HK$444
  • Hotels.com
    HK$505
  • KLOOK
    HK$356
  • Agoda.com
    HK$440
13.7 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    HK$908
  • travelup.com
1.6 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    HK$825
  • eDreams
2.5 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Restaurant
travelup.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
    HK$1,061
  • Hotels.com
24.8 km from The Harbourview Hong Kong
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hong Kong
Reviews (1,659)
Filter reviews
1,660 results
Traveller rating
290
786
422
95
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
290
786
422
95
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wan chai harbour view hong kong convention and exhibition centre harbourview room room rate mtr hkcec kowloon station concierge hyatt convenience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,660 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2023

Real affordable harbour view room. Requested a cot for 1.5-year old and so I got one. Was given the top floor when checked in at 11:30pm :) Staff were helpful. Clean bathroom.

The breakfasts were quite nice but I can see why people are complaining about breakfast not changing. However, I only stayed for 2 nights and it wasn't a problem for us.

The only inconvenience is traffic - at least 10 min walk to the closest underground station.

Room tip: Definitely choose the top two floor - just let them know.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ponnie Cheung, Other at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Dear petertO4424BH,

Thank you very much for leaving us a positive review.

We are happy that you enjoyed the breathtaking view of Hong Kong and the breakfast at The Harbourview. We apologize if the walking distance to the MTR station was not up to your expectations..

We will continue to keep up our sincere hospitality service and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023

I stayed in this hotel twice over the course of the last 12 months. The first time I stayed at this hotel was during the pandemic where Hong Kong still required quarantine (Sept 2022). That was a pleasant experience. The room was clean, modern, and new with a harbor view. I was pleasantly surprised as I booked a regular room. My check in process was quick although every time I came back to the room, I saw an ungodly long line for check in at the lobby. Because of my pleasant experiences during my first stay, I decided to book this hotel again in June 2023. My expectation was high and additionally, I paid extra for the harbor view room. My experience was night and day. The check-in took a long time, and I ended up with a room on a lower floor. This room had no resemblance of the room that I stayed at the first time in last September. This room was dated, unclean and smelled badly. If you are like me who had stayed at this hotel before, you would not believe this room is from the same hotel. I would compare it to a Hyatt quality for the first one and Motel 6 for the second one. The whole floor smelled smokey and moldy. I stayed at this room for one night and fortunately, someone at the front desk switched me to a room that’s on the higher floor. This hotel knew perfectly what my grouse was when I mentioned about my room. I was grateful because had they not moved my room, I would’ve left the hotel. It was that bad. The location of the hotel is somewhat odd. It is not on a usual busy street of Hong Kong and, if you feel like grabbing a snack from 7-eleven or a restaurant, you will have to walk for approximately 10-15 minutes. Although I was fine with it, to most people, this is “remote” by Hong Kong standard. I just left Hong Kong and I did not stay in this hotel for the reasons that I stated above. The uncertainty of what kind of room I would get gave me room for pause to stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NetballViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ponnie Cheung, Other at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

Dear NetballViv,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stays at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconsistencies you experienced and appreciate your understanding of the challenges we face in maintaining consistent room quality and check-in processes.

While we strive to provide the best possible experience for all our guests, please understand that room availability and specific room assignments may vary depending on factors such as occupancy and reservation details. We have taken your comment into consideration and forwarded it to our Front Office Manager for further improvement of the check-in process. We have refined our procedures and conducted additional training to ensure more efficient service moving forward.

In terms of hotel's location, the Harbourview is located in a quiet spot of the bustling Wan Chai district. Local bistros and outlets are just 5 minutes of walk after crossing the pedestrian bridge behind us. We are 10 minute-walk from MTR Wan Chai Station and Exhibition Centre Station. If you need a taxi or transportation information, our Concierge will be happy to assist.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you for your understanding and continued support of The Harbourview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2023 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in their optimum floor premier room and the room is still very small with a harbour view. Fridge is not cold and two small bottles of water supplied daily. The gym is small yet sufficient but no water dispenser at all and a few towels. Breakfast was included and there was no change in the menu for the entire week we were there so it felt mundane. About a 10 min walk to wan chai MTR station and about 15-20 mins to Causeway Bay. I felt for the price we paid they could’ve provided more water per room. Aircon is very loud as well

Room tip: Ask for a non smoking floor as this hotel still has smoking floors.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Bea_nca8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ponnie Cheung, Other at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Dear Bea_nca8,

Thank you for spending your time to share with us your experience here. We apologize that the accommodation and dining services did not meet your expectations.

Regarding the water supply, we provide two bottles of drinking water per guest room as part of our commitment to environmental conservation and reducing plastic waste. We encourage guests to use the electric kettle provided to prepare drinking water and minimize plastic usage.

The Harbourview is located in a quiet area of the lively Wan Chai district, and we are conveniently situated within a 10-minute walk from both the Wan Chai MTR Station and Exhibition Centre Station. This allows for easy access to various destinations, including Causeway Bay. Additionally, you can explore Causeway Bay using the traditional Tram system for a unique experience.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast menu, and we have shared it with our Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef for their review. They will carefully evaluate the food quality and consider ways to improve the breakfast experience for our valued guests.

Next time, you may consider booking our Executive Room or Executive Deluxe Room for a more spacious accommodation option.

We will continue to keep up our sincere hospitality service and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2023

After the first night we noticed many blood stains on the pillow and on my boyfriends shirt. We didn’t want to believe these were bedbugs but talked to the staff and as a result they changed the sheets. The night after - again - everything on the pillow, sheets, full of blood. I then even took a bedbug from my boyfriends shoulder as it was IN THERE sucking his blood. We then informed the staff and they said: normally bedbug bites look different and gaslit us into thinking the problem was not there…. After a discussion they put us in a different room. We wanted them to clean our clothes as we had a fear of bringing the bedbugs home with us and - nothing. We discussed for one hour and I showed time OTHER HOTEL REVIEWS TALKING ABOUT A BEDBUG PROBLEM and bites and they just did not want to believe it. They had the audacity of saying there were no bedbugs!! So many time we spent discussing, changing rooms, talking to the staff - what a waste of time with a problem that is not our fault. They don’t want to take accountability. Because if they would they would have to close down the hotel for some nights to solve the bedbug problem. They need an exterminator and pest control as it is a serious and disgusting problem. So I would not recommend going to this hotel as you waste time and money. Because before we went home we naturally stopped by a cleaner and paid 150€ by ourselves to clean our clothes. A service the hotel should have gladly make and should be in their interest. This will be a big big problem in the next months as the infestation will be growing if they don’t take steps.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Deer2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ponnie Cheung, Other at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2023

Dear Feli,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay. We take your concerns regarding bed bugs very seriously, and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused.

We would like to inform you that upon receiving your report, we immediately offered to change your room. Our housekeeping team thoroughly inspected the room but did not find any evidence of bugs at that time. However, we understand the seriousness of the issue, and as a precautionary measure, we have scheduled a comprehensive pest control treatment for the entire hotel.

We want to assure you that we take full accountability for this issue, and providing a clean and comfortable environment for our guests is of utmost importance to us. By carrying out the pest control treatment, we aim to address the problem effectively and prevent any further occurrences.

Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. If you have any further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We value your satisfaction and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future.

Thank you for your understanding and support of The Harbourview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2023 via mobile

Nice and tidy hotel. Really enjoyed my stay at the harbour. Being a very busy hotel were very polite and accommodating. I found Latif at the concierge a very helpful and polite chap. Other than that it was situated in a nice locality and the area was very clean tidy. Just a few minutes drive from the train station.

Room tip: It’s a very busy hotel so if you need to book it for a few days then book it in advance so they’res no disappointments
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank UAD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ponnie Cheung, Other at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2023

Dear UD74,

Thank you very much for leaving us a positive review.

We are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Wan Chai, with a wide choice of shopping and dining options around the corner.

We will continue to keep up our sincere hospitality service and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews