We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Convenient Location”
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #27 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 15 March 2015

I'd recommend this hotel based on two things - location and the size and syling of the rooms. The hotel is located within walking distance of a large MTR station (Prince Edward), with another smaller MTR located in the shopping centre the hotel is attached to. After you leave the hotel you'll find the flower markets across the road, together with lots of fantastic restaurants near by (including a Tim Ho Wan and One Dim Sum). The Prince Edward MTR station enables you to be connected to all of the major sights, with it only being a short trip to Hong Kong Island.
The rooms and the bathrooms are huge, and the beds are very comfortable. We had everything we needed, including in-room wifi. The fitness centre is also well equipped with an outdoor heated pool and gym equipment.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clairey_d88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPHHK, General Manager at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Dear clairey_d88
We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us at Royal Plaza Hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review online. We hope that you will be back at Royal Plaza Hotel in Hong Kong in the near future.
Please feel free to let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservation at Royal Plaza Hotel.
Yours sincerely
C.F. Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,904 - 1,908 of 4,273 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

We decided to stay in Royal Plaza after hearing fantastic reviews from my colleagues about its spacious family -sized room , close proximity to the MTR, markets, food eateries and the new shopping centre, Moko.

Our family of 4 adults stayed 4 nights in a family room and each of us were very impressed with well appointed room, especially the size when u consider that this is Hong Kong and we were in the heart of Mong kok. Surrounding the hotel are many good eats, from Lei Garden to DimDim Sum. breakfast can be easily settled downstairs - there is a very good porridge & fritters chain and a popular HK cafe chain.

Service too was impressive from check in to check out, right to the point when we boarded the shuttle bus back to Kowloon station to catch the airport express.

We go to Hong Kong every year or two, and Royal Plaza has now become my family's favourite.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank sporeantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPHHK, General Manager at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear sporeantraveller
Many thanks for your excellent review! It is great to know that you enjoyed all aspects of Royal Plaza Hotel. We hope to see you again soon, and please do not hesitate to let me know if I can be of any assistance with your future stays.
Kind regards
C.F. Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

This is not the first time stay in Hong Kong hotel, Royal Plaza is my first choice. First of all the room size, is much bigger than others in TST or Causeway bay. Concierge are really helpful, for getting taxi, restaurant recommendation, airport transportation, outstanding service. Front desk and housekeeping also did a great job, check in check out without any delay and the room always keep clean and tidy. I will be back

Room Tip: Family Room is perfect for 4 people staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phalnika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPHHK, General Manager at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Dear Phalnika T
Thank you for your compliments and feedback. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Plaza Hotel. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Please feel free to let me know personally if you are coming again, or if any friends would like accommodation assistance.
Yours sincerely
C.F. Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I arrived very early after an overnight flight, as i had booked a club room i was taken straight up to the club floor even though my room was not ready and was invited to have breakfast (this was not paid for since i was not due to check in for another 6 hours)
Kiki on the club reception was great, she made every effort to see that i was comfortable and arranged access to the fitness centre so i could shower and change while waiting for the room to be available.

Club lounge had free drinks throughout the day, food at certain times (breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail hours)

The club room meant breakfast could be taken for free in either the club lounge (19th floor) or in La Scala restaurant on the second floor, La Scala is a buffet breakfast with a great selection and very attentive staff.

The hotel seemed to be mainly occupied by Chinese/Asian visitors especially the lobby which was very busy when walking through, this could be down to being on the main MRT line to China.

The hotel is attached to a large shopping centre if that is your thing, it has 3 restaurants, two of which i tried and found to be very good.

The location is ok, immediately under the hotel is Mongkok East Station, which via 1 change will get you to the central line which runs over to the island.

2 minutes walk from the hotel is the flower market which is well worth the visit for the riot of colors, i was there just before Chinese new year so that could have added to the experience.

Room Tip: Worth the slight increase for Club Lounge Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Singy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPHHK, General Manager at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Dear Singy2002
Thank you for your compliments and feedback. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Plaza Hotel. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Please feel free to let me know personally if you are coming again, or if any friends would like accommodation assistance.
Yours sincerely
C.F. Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We visited as a family of 4 and stayed on the 8th floor. although we stayed in a single room, we didn't intend spending a lot of time in the hotel itself and we used it as a base for visiting relatives and general sightseeing.
We had breakfast once in the hotel restaurant which was good, there was a lot of choices as you'd expect in an establishment of this level. However it isn't cheap and the shopping mall next door is within easy reach and has a great selection of more traditional food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was always busy and there is so much choice, everyone can have something different and sit together as a family - something my family liked.

the location is ideal for visiting, it's within a few minutes walking to the MTR station Prince Edward. Monk Kok East is accessed through the shopping mall but is the main train line and doesn't service the main travel spots most tourists want to go to such as Honk Kong island and Tsim Tsa Tsui.

Overall, the service was excellent, and the location was great. The pool and gym facility was also excellent with a heated outdoor pool with terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPHHK, General Manager at Royal Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2015

Dear Steve W
Thank you very much for your review of your time at Royal Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us in Hong Kong. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Please feel free to let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservation at Royal Plaza Hotel.
Yours sincerely
C.F. Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,152 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#38 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,161 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,323 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#45 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,071 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza Hotel

Address: No.193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: HK$1,142 - HK$3,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 699
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mong Kok, the bustling heart of vibrant Kowloon, Royal Plaza Hotel sits atop the MTR Mong Kok East Station with connecting point to China on a 45-minute train ride and is easy access to public transportation. The Hotel is connected to a seven storey shopping complex and numerous traditional markets with its abundance of stalls ans shops for fashion and electronic appliances are within a 10-minute walk from the hotel's doorstep. Awarded as "Travel Choice - Family Hotel 2014" by Tripadvisor, the newly renovated rooms with a choice of two queen-sized beds in a superior space, which is designed to more than comfortably accommodate families and groups comprised of 4 guests. The hotel features free Wi-Fi in all guestrooms, a 40-metre swimming pool, a well-equipped gymnasium and three restaurants and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Royal Plaza
Royal Plaza Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing