We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood in Sai Kung”

Chuen Kee Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #810 of 15,727 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sai Kung
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Supposedly the best seafood in Sai Kung, a Chinese friend told us. We went there on a Monday which is less packed than weekend days. The terrace was packed with Chinese people which is always a good sign.
We ordered the 388 HKD menu with lobster, crab, scallops and the deep fried squid. It was actually a lot of food for lunch! Everything was very fresh and the crab was extremely tender. We also enjoyed the tanks on the terrace where the seafood comes from.
The waitress came from Thailand and spoke some English. She was very friendly. We stayed there about an hour and a half.
I highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lagarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Although Chuen Kee is a big seafood restaurant with tanks of live seafood; but it also serves good n inexpensive dim sum and non seafood dishes.

Went there for lunch, ordered a small portion of steam rice with minced pork n salted fish, a plate of poached vegetables n a platter of roast duck n roast pork. The food was good n prices were reasonable.

Nothing much to talk about the ambience cos the restaurant was packed. But it's really an experience dining amongst locals n watched them linger over Chinese tea n a yarn.

Advice: order the daily specials printed in Chinese. Not necessary to refer to their main menus. At the end of meal; do leave room to order their steam custard buns. Apparently they only sell 300 pieces daily.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Laksa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It was a long ride to this area, Sai Kung, from city center. This restaurant is a huge place with a showcase of livestock from sea in front of the restaurant. We had a number of dishes. Out of 10 dishes we had, abalone, scallops, lobsters, and a grouper were impressive with their sizes and freshness. However, taking the meat of the shell was quite challenging and the cooked meat was not that tender. With an ASEAN tongue, i found that the food tasted quite bland. Other dishes, for example fried squid with spicy salt and lemon chicken tased a little better.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank asdaSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Outside the restaurant there are pools of living seafood, where you can choose you meal. Fishermen are bringing new stuff all the time. We had lobster, shrimps and fish with different sauces and everything was good and the service was friendly. From some tables you have a nice view to the harbour.

Date of visit: April 2013
1  Thank Kilkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Dined here with friends from Hong Kong, the selection of fresh seafood still alive and swimming was unbelievable. The langastinos in salt and pepper were especially good along with the scallops. My wife loved the lobster in cheese sauce. And fresh shrimp were sweet and tender.

A fun dining experience not to miss when in Hong Kong!

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank PLW3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Chuen Kee Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chuen Kee Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.