We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, good food and quick service.”
Review of Dim Sum Square

Dim Sum Square
Ranked #157 of 11,978 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

They have a good variety of dim-sums. The service was pretty quick. However, I didn’t see a variety of drinks. You will be served Chinese tea like in any other Chinese restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Kiran_THS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Seen this place on many blogs so decided to give it a try as it was near where we stayed. Was expecting a queue when we arrived at 9.15 am on Sunday but were seated immediately.

They have an English menu which made ordering easier. According to the signage in the shop the dim sum is steamed only after order is placed but we did not wait more than 10 minutes before the first dim sum basket arrived. Service was pleasant quite unlike most eating establishments in Hong Kong. Oh..and the dim sum was good although we found the lotus leaf rice a bit bland.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank gail_mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Food is well priced, it came to about £20 for 7 dishes which was way too much for two to eat. The food seemed really local, service was quick and there are photos on the table and English titles for the dishes, so you know what you’re ordering!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank AJ98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We wanted to get good cheap food where the locals eat and this restaurant had good reviews. We showed up about 830pm and had to wait about 5 minutes for a table, not too bad considering some reviews said they had to wait 30 - 60 minutes. There was 5 of us and we all ordered what sounded good to us and we had so much food we couldn't eat it all and our whole bill was only $148 HKD, that about $20 USD for 5 people and we were full. The food was so good! We tried many different things and everything was so good and came out very quickly. Within minutes of ordering food started arriving at our table. Everything was delicious and I would go back here to eat for sure. We ubered here and back from our hotel and it was so worth it. Try this place out if your looking for very good Dim Sum!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank pillburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Dim Sum Square as a tourist-friendly popular spot that had constant lines out the door and table-sharing was the norm. English photo menus made ordering a breeze and service was efficient while not the friendliest. Steamed rice rolls were the best while the sweeter ones like barbecue pork and custard buns were pretty typical.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dim Sum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing