We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end Chinese cuisine ”

Man Ho Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #149 of 11,588 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$52
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tai Fat Hau
Description: Award-winning restaurant features a contemporary table setting and decor for the finest authentic Cantonese cuisine in Hong Kong
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Located at the basement level of Marriot Hotel at Admiralty .
We dine in a private room of 12 pp
Of course minimum charge of about Hkg $5,000 applied .
Special dishes we like are the Special boiled fish soup , Long tan fish fillet , crab claw in curry like gravy .
Love the soy bean pudding and almond pudding
Service is excellent .

2  Thank Happy258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Ho M, Manager at Man Ho Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Happy258

Thank you for your review of your recent visit at Man Ho Chinese restaurant. Our team is delighted to learn that you've enjoyed our service and the food.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Yours sincerely,
Peter Fong
Man Ho Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

we enjoyed the nice ambience of this well designed restaurant. the dim sums dishes were well presented and delicious. however, we had to drink lots of water afterwards as there might be too much msg added to the dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vdsl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Ho M, Manager at Man Ho Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear vdsl90

Thank you for your review of your recent visit at Man Ho Chinese restaurant.
Our team is delighted to learn that you've enjoyed our service.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Yours sincerely,
Peter Fong
Man Ho Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is right at JW Marriott hotel and sports fantastic Cantonese cuisine typical of the cuisines in Hong Kong. For dessert, a barrel of hot smooth tofu enough for two is highly recommended.

3  Thank StarO24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Ho M, Manager at Man Ho Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Star O

Thank you for your review of your recent visit at Man Ho Chinese restaurant.
Our team is delighted to learn that you've enjoyed our service and the food.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Yours sincerely,
Peter Fong
Man Ho Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I don't understand how our experience matches with the rest of the reviews. I suspect we ordered the wrong thing because we spent over 130USD for two people - two small very mediocre soups that resembled an American Chinese restaurant and two small tasteless main courses, and we didn't even order any wine. I ordered a dish which had Porcini mushrooms as the first listed ingredient, and the plate was only bean sprouts and tofu which were very dry and only a few tiny mushrooms. The service was very good, maybe a bit too persistant at clearing plates and reserving tea (they could leave a bit more space.) But the service by itself is not worth the price.

Last night we ate at Tim Ho Wan where we paid 20USD and the food was 10x better. Here we had by far the worst meal in terms of price for quality in our entire time in Hong Kong.

2  Thank Yuliy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Ho M, Manager at Man Ho Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Yuliy S

Thank you very much for sharing your comment. We regret to hear that you are disappointed during your recent experience at Man Ho Chinese restaurant.

Please accept our sincere apologies. We assure you that your constructive feedback will be taken seriously and corrective action taken as appropriate.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity in the future with a return visit.

Yours sincerely,
Peter Fong
Man Ho Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I was staying at the Conrad this trip and spoke at a business meeting also hosted in the Conrad. During the lunch I asked a couple of colleagues about a good restaurant for classic Chinese food. As it was a drizzly Friday two of them suggested that the Man Ho in the Marriott was excellent. One of my traveling colleagues and I went down to the subterranean shopping mall that both hotels sit on top of and walked to the Marriott entrance. Doing that brought us into the JW Marriott at the restaurant level with Man Ho on our left.

Let me say that both of us agreed that this turned out to be one of the classiest, most enjoyable and delicious Chinese cuisine leas that either of us has had. I lived most of my life in San Francisco, he in LA and I’ll be doing Chinese food for sure next week in London. I’ve done some wonderful places in NYC as well. This one beat most that I have ever enjoyed.

It was also the most expensive but we both agreed that our 1.5 dinner – because they let us enjoy ourselves – is a meal and experience we will talk about for some time.
Not only was the quality and presentation of the food off the charts but so too was the service.

We got there around 7pm and it wasn’t terribly crowded but as we sat there more and more patrons arrived. This is a big restaurant but is set up in a way that doesn’t make it feel at all like a mess hall. By the time we left the place was packed but not at all frenzied.

We ordered a la carte and had won ton soup, beef with asparagus, sweet and sour shrimp and fired rice with chicken. Just typing these dishes makes them sound ordinary. The flavors and presentation made them anything but. We were stuffed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank cbed90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man Ho M, Manager at Man Ho Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear cbed90

Thank you for your review of your recent visit at Man Ho Chinese restaurant.
Our team is delighted to learn that you've enjoyed our service and the food.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Yours sincerely,
Peter Fong
Man Ho Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Man Ho Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Man Ho Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing