We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic breakfast.”

Grand Cafe (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong)
Ranked #136 of 11,791 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Description: Good food is good but Grand is better - and the legendary Grand Café is back in the spotlight after its exquisite makeover, retaking centre stage with its whole new look and attitude. Every outstanding restaurant needs a chef to match and Grand Café is led by rising star and Chef de Cuisine Marc Briol, a true prince of good taste. With its long-awaited reopening, Grand Café is again host to new culinary creations - as well as perennial favourites such as its famed Hainanese chicken rice - right across its à la carte and dinner-buffet menus, guaranteeing internationally authentic, delectable delights galore. Healthy choice juice, craft beer, wine by glass, and wine by carafe are available.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our breakfast at the restaurant during our 1-night stay at the hotel, and it was fantastic.
As with most Grand Hyatt's breakfast, the buffet is huge.
The restaurant itself is vast and the different items of the buffet are spread across a very large area (prepare to do some walking...).
The buffet includes both Asian and Western items with cooked to order eggs, lots of meats, cheese, fruit, vegetables, fish, salads, juices, hot drinks, pastries and desserts.
Service was somehow slow, despite the place not being packed.
Make sure breakfast is included with your rate, otherwise it is VERY expensive.
Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sujin K, Manager at Grand Cafe (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TheShis,


Thank you for your recent visit at our restaurant and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the quality and variety of our breakfast buffet.

Your comment regarding the service is of great value and we will continue to identify areas subject to improvement.

Thank you for recommending the Grand Cafe!

Best regards,
Sujin Kim


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2018

Visited Grand Hyatt for lunch - really good quality food at Grand Cafe. Had the vegan burger - came with great fries and good vegan meat steak.

Was only slightly disappointed that I could not use my Club @ Hyatt card for a discount unless I was staying at the Hotel - as I thought membership would have its privileges. However, AMEX had a 15% promo .

Thank Kong Wee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sujin K, Manager at Grand Cafe (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kong Wee L,

Thank you for your recent visit at our restaurant and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food quality of the Grand Cafe.

Please do reach out to us should you have any further questions.

Best Regards,
Sujin Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Filled with screaming families taking selfies, buffet appears to be unsanitary with children touching the food and no staff reprimanding them (that alone is enough to make me walk out), service perfunctory at best. Hyatt needs to get control of this restaurant. The others in the hotel are lovely, however. Avoid this one at all costs.

Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sujin K, Manager at Grand Cafe (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rover28,

Thank you for your review and the mentioned points.

Being a family-friendly hotel does at times mean that the ambiance may get rather lively, we do encourage our team to be weary of any behavior that may impact other guests and will remind them to keep vigilant.

We hope to welcome you in the near future for a better experience.

Yours sincerely,
Sujin Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

My kid destroyed this buffet for a week...and it is very, very good.

I would recommend it to anyone staying in the hotel or in the island. and the big windows make it a great place to sit for meetings during the afternoon.

Thank Foodie_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sujin K, Manager at Grand Cafe (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Foodie_Stu,

Thank you for your recent visit to our restaurant and taking the time to share your joyful experience with us.

We're happy to learn that your child was a big fan of the buffet and hope they will spread the word to their friends!

The Grand Cafe team looks forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Sujin Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

阿仔生日來他選的grand cafe
一到埗他自己就先去取海南雞飯和煎鵝肝!
海南雞依然吸引
鵝肝也好但被個好難食的汁破壞了
仍然偏愛炒龍蝦
今晚grill帶子的sauce少辣幾配惹味點
主菜有belly pork!
最後可能有八個人的關係,送了一個火焰雪山比仔賀生日!正!

但要提一下大部分在廚部的都冇乜manner, services欠奉,咁落去縱使食物質素好都趕客(food quality indeed is deteriorating vs past years)

Thank jadeyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sujin K, Manager at Grand Cafe (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong), responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Dear jadeyvette

感謝你選擇在君悅咖啡廳用膳。

很高興你喜歡我們安排的火焰雪山。

很抱歉這次用膳令你有不愉快的體驗,我們會積極與團隊反映你的意見。

亦會努力進步, 希望在你下次光臨時有更好的體驗。

感謝你的寶貴意見和時間, 希望我們再有機會在咖啡廳見面。

金秀真
君悅咖啡廳經理

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Cafe (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong) also viewed

 

Been to Grand Cafe (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing