We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss”
Review of The Aubrey

The Aubrey
Ranked #47 of 15,572 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$64 - US$193
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: An eccentric Japanese izakaya experience inspired by the journey of a hungry mind. In partnership with Maximal Concepts, The Aubrey is a home-away-from-home for local Hong Kong and global guests alike that offers an eccentric Japanese izakaya experience. Located on the 25th floor with sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, this all-day drinks and dining space has three distinctive bar experiences, a drawing room, a curio lounge and a leading culinary team that delivers the highest quality Japanese ingredients and traditional cooking techniques. Child policy: Children aged 6-17 years are only permitted in The Aubrey for food and non-alcoholic drinks before 7pm. Dress code: Smart-casual attire. We request that guests refrain from wearing shorts of any length, torn jeans, singlets, flip flops and gentlemen sandals.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was not my first time at the Aubrey but it was a much better experience compared to the past. I sat at the bar and Sujita and Mandep were really wonderful. They made the best drinks for me and were super welcoming and attentive considering it was also a national holiday evening. I really had a wonderful time and look forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank ninaxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, General Manager at The Aubrey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ninaxhsu,

Thank you for visiting The Aubrey and taking the time to share your generous compliments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the dining experience with us, loved our drinks, appreciated our service, recognized Sujita and Mandep. It was our pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Alex Huels
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely Saturday evening dinner...we were originally seated in the room at the far end from the bar, which was nice but lacked atmosphere as it had a small window for the view & felt removed from the rest of the restaurant. The lady serving us told us she would let us know if a bar seat become available & they kindly moved us half way through our meal & it was a far nicer place to sit.

Service wise - amongst the best in HK..the italian sommelier was helpful without being snooty...the cocktail lady at the bar was chatty & friendly when i asked questions about her wizardry of concoctions & the waitress serving us knew the menu inside out - which is a rarity in HK..

Everything we ordered was lovely, with my favourites being Charcoal Chicken Karaage & their signature Kagoshima Wagyu Sando.

The Aubrey is a very easy place to hang out after dinner & relax as well...the decor is very cool with the only oddity being the silly curtains at the entrance which whilst paying homage to Izakaya's, is out of kilter with the rest of the decor ( awkward first impression for guests not knowing which side to stand).

Meal for 2 with 1 bottle of wine & some cocktails was 3500 HKD ( $450 USD, 50/50 food/alcohol split)

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank INDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, General Manager at The Aubrey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear INDY B,

Thank you for visiting The Aubrey and taking the time to share your generous compliments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the dining experience with us, loved our food and appreciated our service. It was our pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Alex Huels
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I attended the Sommelier Sessions at The Aubrey on Saturday 18 September with a friend. This month’s theme is “A journey around Chardonnay”, which focused on us sampling five Blanc de Blancs from The Aubrey’s champagne menu. Justin, the Sommelier, was a brilliant host, answering all of our questions and sharing his passion about the different champagnes. Once the session had finished, we enjoyed a drink in the main bar which has fabulous views. We loved the experience so much that we have already booked in for the Blanc de Noirs experience in November!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank gabrielladriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, General Manager at The Aubrey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear gabrielladriver,

Thank you for visiting The Aubrey and taking the time to share your generous compliments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the dining experience with us, loved our food and appreciated our service, recognized Justin. It was our pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Alex Huels
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is very nice. The view is amazing. Staff is well trained and super friendly. The food is excellent… I highly recommend the Aubrey

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank natachao408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, General Manager at The Aubrey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear natachao408,

Thank you for visiting The Aubrey and taking the time to share your generous compliments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the dining experience with us, loved our food and appreciated our service. It was our pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Alex Huels
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service was good but forgot to serve us water. Derek took care of us afterwards by switching us to a bar seat and served us very attentively. Cocktails were great! Happy night :)

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Sherpa12446568763
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, General Manager at The Aubrey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sherpa12446568763,

Thank you for visiting The Aubrey and taking the time to share your generous compliments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the dining experience with us, loved our food and cocktails, appreciated our service and recognized Derek. It was our pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back for more extraordinary dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Alex Huels
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Aubrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.