We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 4 days ago

Not much to say about this hotel that hasn't already been said online. My girlfriend and I were guests here in December 2017 during a 2-day layover on Hong Kong. Originally we had booked the property here because the idea of sleeping 100 floors above ground seemed like a unique opportunity for us but the hotel provided so much more than that.

Unfortunately, we both became became ill during the 15 hour flight from San Francisco to Hong Kong and when we arrived at the hotel around 8:00 in the morning it was also discovered that we left a bag on the Express Train from the airport. Not only was the hotel staff kind enough to check us in early and take extraordinary care of us during our stay (bringing bread, soups and tea without us even asking) but somehow one of the front desk agents was able to track down our lost bag for us.

I wish our trip to HK would have been more enjoyable as we spent two days sick and cooped up in our room, but the hotel is absolutely stunning and the staff really goes out of their way to make sure you are as comfortable as possible. If you are able, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EbonyTatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear EbonyTatas,

Thank you very much for your tremendous review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our impeccable service. Our Ladies and Gentlemen are dedicated to providing genuine care and comfort to our prestigious guests, who will always feel like home.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 3,412 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This was a very nice stay at the Ritz in Hong Kong. The hotel was great located at the tallest building in Hong Kong. The staff was amazing and very friendly. The hotel is directly connected to Elements shopping mall which one of the nicest in Hong Kong and also has an access to Kowloon MRT station. The breakfast buffet was incredible and offers so many options and a spectacular view! As for the rooms, they were not perfect. I expected them to be more beautiful, but they were ok.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marafi_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Marafi_Qatar,

Thank you very much for your generous review.

I am elated to hear that you enjoyed our room experience as much as our impeccable service from our Ladies and Gentlemen. We work tirelessly to ensure that all the needs and desires of our guests are being met to their satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to meet up with your expectations on the room. We are always searching for methods to achieve higher standards so your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to re-gain your trust.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1413
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

we booked 1 night in the Ritz as we planned to see the hotel before we commit to long time reservation. we decided to leave the hotel from the first day.
it started with the receptionist who pushed me to pay additional 2000 dollars per night in order to give me the room earlier than the check in time. I followed up later and found out that the receptionist made an up-sale and added club access which i did not ask for and this was the 2000 which I was pushed to pay. the man misused my situation as I was going to accept anything to put the sleepy kids in bed after long flight.
then, the way the staff are behaving with guests is not friendly at all. Staff does not speak good English and it was a challenge to have a quick conversation.
moreover, the hotel is isolated, nothing us near to it.
this hotel can be for business purposes only as the finishes are luxurious. finishes are 5 stars but not the behaviour.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong and sharing your valuable comments with us. It was with the deepest disappointment to hear your comments regarding the check in incident and I wish to sincerely apologize for that. Unfortunately, we failed to deliver The Ritz-Carlton experience that you have come to expect and deserve. Please rest assured your comments are taken very seriously and have been reviewed among the Department Heads as well as the Ladies & Gentlemen whom you have interacted with to prevent a reoccurrence in the future.

Thank you once again for choosing our property and giving us the opportunity to learn and improve. Please accept our sincere apologies again and kindly reach me at Pierre.Perusset@ritzcarlton.com for any assistance. We look forward your eventual return.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

I only stayed in the Ritz for two nights. It's a Ritz-Carlton, and it lives up to the name, but I just wouldn't recommend staying here if you're planning on going out and adventuring.


PROS:

+ Employees: All of the employees were very nice and attentive. I had no issue whatsoever in this regard.

+ Luxury: It's a Ritz. Enough said.

+ The View: The Ritz hotel begins around floor 100, so your room is guaranteed to have an amazing view of the city unlike anything else. This is honestly the biggest draw of the Ritz for me. (Though you could always just visit the Ozone bar on top of the Ritz without having to stay at the hotel).


CONS:

- High Floors: While this is a pro as well, having to go up and down multiple elevators over 100 floors every time you want to go out can be tiring. Takes a fair amount of time to get an elevator to the ground floor as well.

- Location: The Ritz isn't really located near anything. This means you will HAVE to take a cab to get anywhere.

- Price: Okay, it's a Ritz, so you know what you're getting into. But the breakfast buffet at ~US$50 a person is a bit overkill considering it's basically the same offerings as the Renaissance, but the Renaissance charges ~US$30 per person (or just eat in the lounge if you're a Marriott Gold member for free - no such luck on getting in the lounge at the Ritz).



Overall, there's nothing really wrong with the Ritz if you really have your heart set on staying there.

I just recommend staying at the Renaissance in Wan Chai:
+ GREAT location with lots of bars and nightlife a few streets down that you can walk to.
+ Right across the street from the Star Ferry, which is an experience in and of itself and a cheap way to get from Wan Chai to TST (Kowloon).
+ Lounge for Marriott Gold members with decent food offerings and a great Happy Hour.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Sam S,

Thank you very much for staying with The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong and sharing your valuable comments with us. I was glad to know that you enjoyed the renowned Ritz-Carlton service delivered from our Ladies and Gentlemen, yet found our hotel location was not as convenient as Renaissance in Wan Chai. Our hotel is connected with the shopping mall and MTR which takes around 10 mins to Central and 25 mins to the Airport. The West Kowloon surroundings are currently under constructions for a better cultural district and hopefully you can experience the other side of Hong Kong next time.

Our Ladies and Gentlemen look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I titled this review almost because the Ritz Carlton was close to the experience I was expecting but definitely missed the mark as far as room quality and overall luxury feel. While Jamie and Heidi in guest services and bob and vistor in the dining room were top notch in their customer service, others didn’t have the discipline or level of service you’d expect from a Ritz Carlton.

The negatives:
The room product was tired and not luxurious - one room was dirty and not well kept and the other one smelled of mold and they moved us but put another guest immediately into a terribly smelling room.

The room wasn’t clean- dusty and dirty all around. You wouldn’t expect that at a Ritz.

A coke in the lounge cost the equivalent of 13 USD. It was half a glass without a refill. I don’t like being ripped off. I’ll pay for quality and luxury but not that.

I’ve attached a picture of a dirty stained tub.

Coming directly from the ritz in Shanghai (which was most definitely 5 stars) I was most disappointed in the experience.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank chadf305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear chadf305,

Thank you very much for staying with The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong and sharing your valuable comments with us. I was deeply disappointed to know the room condition and cleanliness was not up to the satisfactions. Please accept my deepest apologies for not delivering The Ritz-Carlton experience that you have expected and deserved. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared to concerned departments and we shared your kind words to Heidi, Bob and Vistor personally. Knowing that our Assistant Guest Relations Manager, Jaime has contacted you for further discussion on your challenges during your stay and we certainly hope that you will choose our hotel again.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,217 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,199 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#11 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Address: International Commerce Center, No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: HK$3,207 - HK$6,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying floors 102 to 118 of the International Commerce Centre in Kowloon, The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong is the highest hotel in the world. The hotel's 312 guestrooms all offer spectacular city and harbour views. With six dining venues including the state-of-the-art Michelin-starred Italian restaurant, Tosca; two-star Michelin Chinese restaurant, Tin Lung Heen; The Lounge and Bar, which features an international all-day dining menu; and Cafe 103, which serves signature chocolate afternoon tea. The rooftop bar, Ozone, is truly a stunning venue at 490 meters above sea level. For those wishing to relax and indulge, The Ritz-Carlton Spa by ESPA located on the 116th floor features nine deluxe treatment rooms and two couple's suites, redefining the urban spa experience in the city and across Asia. The hotel features a fully equipped fitness center and an indoor pool on the 118th floor with a 28m x 7m LED screen on the ceiling, as well as one of the largest ballrooms in the city at 870sqm. Complemented by an additional four meeting rooms, the ballroom has become the major social venue for Hong Kong and has set the benchmark for events in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, WingontravelTA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing