We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for tourists ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
A TripAdvisor Member
1414
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

we booked 1 night in the Ritz as we planned to see the hotel before we commit to long time reservation. we decided to leave the hotel from the first day.
it started with the receptionist who pushed me to pay additional 2000 dollars per night in order to give me the room earlier than the check in time. I followed up later and found out that the receptionist made an up-sale and added club access which i did not ask for and this was the 2000 which I was pushed to pay. the man misused my situation as I was going to accept anything to put the sleepy kids in bed after long flight.
then, the way the staff are behaving with guests is not friendly at all. Staff does not speak good English and it was a challenge to have a quick conversation.
moreover, the hotel is isolated, nothing us near to it.
this hotel can be for business purposes only as the finishes are luxurious. finishes are 5 stars but not the behaviour.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong and sharing your valuable comments with us. It was with the deepest disappointment to hear your comments regarding the check in incident and I wish to sincerely apologize for that. Unfortunately, we failed to deliver The Ritz-Carlton experience that you have come to expect and deserve. Please rest assured your comments are taken very seriously and have been reviewed among the Department Heads as well as the Ladies & Gentlemen whom you have interacted with to prevent a reoccurrence in the future.

Thank you once again for choosing our property and giving us the opportunity to learn and improve. Please accept our sincere apologies again and kindly reach me at Pierre.Perusset@ritzcarlton.com for any assistance. We look forward your eventual return.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 3,472 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

I only stayed in the Ritz for two nights. It's a Ritz-Carlton, and it lives up to the name, but I just wouldn't recommend staying here if you're planning on going out and adventuring.


PROS:

+ Employees: All of the employees were very nice and attentive. I had no issue whatsoever in this regard.

+ Luxury: It's a Ritz. Enough said.

+ The View: The Ritz hotel begins around floor 100, so your room is guaranteed to have an amazing view of the city unlike anything else. This is honestly the biggest draw of the Ritz for me. (Though you could always just visit the Ozone bar on top of the Ritz without having to stay at the hotel).


CONS:

- High Floors: While this is a pro as well, having to go up and down multiple elevators over 100 floors every time you want to go out can be tiring. Takes a fair amount of time to get an elevator to the ground floor as well.

- Location: The Ritz isn't really located near anything. This means you will HAVE to take a cab to get anywhere.

- Price: Okay, it's a Ritz, so you know what you're getting into. But the breakfast buffet at ~US$50 a person is a bit overkill considering it's basically the same offerings as the Renaissance, but the Renaissance charges ~US$30 per person (or just eat in the lounge if you're a Marriott Gold member for free - no such luck on getting in the lounge at the Ritz).



Overall, there's nothing really wrong with the Ritz if you really have your heart set on staying there.

I just recommend staying at the Renaissance in Wan Chai:
+ GREAT location with lots of bars and nightlife a few streets down that you can walk to.
+ Right across the street from the Star Ferry, which is an experience in and of itself and a cheap way to get from Wan Chai to TST (Kowloon).
+ Lounge for Marriott Gold members with decent food offerings and a great Happy Hour.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sam S,

Thank you very much for staying with The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong and sharing your valuable comments with us. I was glad to know that you enjoyed the renowned Ritz-Carlton service delivered from our Ladies and Gentlemen, yet found our hotel location was not as convenient as Renaissance in Wan Chai. Our hotel is connected with the shopping mall and MTR which takes around 10 mins to Central and 25 mins to the Airport. The West Kowloon surroundings are currently under constructions for a better cultural district and hopefully you can experience the other side of Hong Kong next time.

Our Ladies and Gentlemen look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I'll preface this by saying that in the last 6 years I have been a Starwood (now Marriott) diehard loyalist, having spent over 1,000 nights at some of the best properties in the portfolio (mostly St. Regis, Luxury Collection, W) spanning every continent. Simply put, amongst all those nights this is the best hotel I've ever stayed at.

The view - The best I've ever seen of a city skyline. Period.
The room - Considered down to the smallest detail.
The lobby - Screams bold, understated class.

But the STAFF is what sets this place to next level. More on this now:

This was a very special stay for me. I was with my girlfriend spending the last night before she took off for an extended leave abroad working with the Red Cross. I reached out to front office manager Aven to let him know, and he and his team truly bent over backwards to make this an unforgettable experience exceeding all expectations.

The room was setup with a beautiful array of Moet champagne, chocolate strawberries, two folded swans, balloons, rose petals, and a customized leather-framed picture of my girlfriend and me. Wow!!!

Throughout the entire stay it seemed as though everyone knew us by name and our backstory. The staff was really pleasant to chat with and all were incredibly passionate about being part of the Ritz team. They were polished and sociable, but never felt stuffy or forced - a delicate balance I consider the highest benchmark in luxury service that is oftentimes missed. The staff at the Ritz Hong Kong strike it perfectly. Over and over.

My business partner is good friends with the front office manager of the Ritz New York, and I'd heard about the extreme lengths that the Ritz brand will go to to ensure an AMAZING customer experience (from having the bell men check luggage tags for names so the front desk agents can greet accordingly, to curating uniquely special surprises). The Ritz Hong Kong held up to this standard and then some.

It's the highest hotel in the world. In a city with the best skyline in the world. When you combine the two, the views are truly breathtaking. There's something special about checking into a lobby located on the 103rd floor of arguably the most iconic skyscraper in all of Hong Kong.

It requires a lot to come together for a luxury property to hit such high marks across the board, especially when the expectations are generally quite high from guests. So I really appreciate the well-oiled operational expertise that's taking place here to the build experience that the Ritz Hong Kong does.

Truly 5 stars.

Many thanks and I will surely be back.

Room Tip: Harbor view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 412andrewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear 412andrewy,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review.

I am thrilled to hear that our Ladies and Gentlemen were able to make a positive impression on your stay and you would like to stay with us again in the future. At The Ritz-Carlton, we always strive for excellence and deliver the best service to our guests. Rest assured that your kind works have been shared with Aven and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December. This hotel is the cream of the crop. The hotel and our room were magnificent! The staff totally spoils you and the location is perfect. It's pricey for the average person, but for a once in a lifetime adventure, well worth it. I would like to give a special regards to Billy who hand walked our luggage from the hotel to the airline check in at the train station which was helpful since I had a torn ACL and broken toe at the time. Eunice, thank you for the plate of chocolate goodies, perfect way to end the day! Daphne from Paris, thank you for the hand made map of Hong Kong's hot spots you made for us and your willingness to listen to our ramblings :)and lastly a HUGE thank you to Bianca Liu who took the time and trouble to track down my bag that contained my car keys and important papers back to a hotel we stayed at in Beijing.Most people would not have really cared. That alone would have spoiled my trip so thank you!!!! Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Best views of Hong Kong, Harbor view worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenpetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear karenpetr,

Thank you very much for your superb review.

I am thrilled that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and enjoyed the service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. We pride ourselves in providing the finest personal service for our esteemed guests to ensure that you have a memorable stay. Rest assured that your kind words have been shared with Billy, Eunice, Daphne and Bianca.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We visited the bar in the lobby on the 103 floor to have coffee and cake to sit, relax and take in the amazing views. if you are thinking of visiting the SKY100 I would recommend you visit here instead and and take in the views in luxury for the same price but including coffee and cake.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Urbanbeachclothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre P, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Urbanbeachclothing,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong. The view from our hotel is truly phenomenal. Our Ladies and Gentlemen take pride in our incredible views as well as the attention to details that we put into service.

We hope to have the honour of welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Pierre Perusset
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,320 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,437 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#12 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,721 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Address: International Commerce Center, No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: HK$3,355 - HK$5,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying floors 102 to 118 of the International Commerce Centre in Kowloon, The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong is the highest hotel in the world. The hotel's 312 guestrooms all offer spectacular city and harbour views. With six dining venues including the state-of-the-art Michelin-starred Italian restaurant, Tosca; two-star Michelin Chinese restaurant, Tin Lung Heen; The Lounge and Bar, which features an international all-day dining menu; and Cafe 103, which serves signature chocolate afternoon tea. The rooftop bar, Ozone, is truly a stunning venue at 490 meters above sea level. For those wishing to relax and indulge, The Ritz-Carlton Spa by ESPA located on the 116th floor features nine deluxe treatment rooms and two couple's suites, redefining the urban spa experience in the city and across Asia. The hotel features a fully equipped fitness center and an indoor pool on the 118th floor with a 28m x 7m LED screen on the ceiling, as well as one of the largest ballrooms in the city at 870sqm. Complemented by an additional four meeting rooms, the ballroom has become the major social venue for Hong Kong and has set the benchmark for events in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, WingontravelTA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing