We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hong Kong Tramways (Ding Ding)
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Hong Kong Tramways (Ding Ding)
from US$12.41
More Info
from US$104.48
More Info
from US$95.86
More Info
from US$113.19
More Info
Reviews (10,187)
Filter reviews
10,187 results
Traveller rating
6,153
3,279
679
57
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,153
3,279
679
57
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kennedy town octopus card the upper deck double decker trams seat upstairs causeway bay happy valley exact change per ride mode of transport wan chai fun ride tram ride public transport enjoy the view the hustle and bustle fare
Filter
Updating list...
4,428 - 4,433 of 10,187 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015

the fare is cheap and bring along you from west to east, but if you are hurry or rush to some where then it is not suitable

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank leesee750624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

So easy to use with the Octopus Card ... Get on at the back, and exit through the front, where you tap your Octopus Card when you get off (I am pretty sure that you can also use cash if you have the exact fare). Definately not pram friendly (but most of HK isn't pram friendly), so we carried our kids on ... And the locals have ALWAYS offered up a seat (also on the trains too) whenever they see us holding our kids ... A true testament to the hospitality and courtesy of the locals. I wish our kids had the patience to let us journey along HK island to take in the sights of the tram, but unfortunately we have only used it to get from A to B.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank BeckyEJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Yes, other cities have trams too, but when you're in Hong Kong you should definitely try riding the trams. You would experience how the trams navigate through the busy streets of Hong Kong and would definitely gave how the locals live in this city.

It only costs slightly more than HK2.3 (equivalent to around US 30 cents).

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank joanna07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

The Ding Ding is just a trolley car. As one who grew up in Brooklyn and rode trolleys as a matter of course, I don't know why this is even listed as an attraction. It doesn't pass through pretty scenery, is crowded and difficult to alight and descend from.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Serves as a reminder of how people travelled through the city in the past. The tram as such feels quite cramped after travelling in the buses that provide comfortable cushions. The trams are quite cheap compared to buses but travel slow and probably to fewer destinations. The cost is constant irrespective of how far you travel, so make the best use of it!

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Kartos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews