We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Review Highlights
Superb Live Music Venue

Absolutely fantastic live music venue! Decent drinks (didn’t try the food) but the music is just... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ryan H
,
Hong Kong, China
Amazing food and live music!

The wanch is a fantastic place to go for great food and live music! With the new location open with... read more

Reviewed 6 January 2024
70maddyv
Read all 109 reviews
  
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
65
37
1
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
37
1
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2019 via mobile

This bar is a very small classic dive-bar style rock venue. The “stage” is right by the main window at the same level as the rest of the place so you’re walking by the guitarist or other musician on your way in and rocking out with them face to face while in there. The staff were a group of fairly friendly women though they varied in demeanour. The drinks are an ok price, about 55-65 hkd for draught and bar rail. The music varies. I went in on two separate occasions and once got an acoustic solo rock act, and the other time a French band plying a mix of French songs and Bowie covers, and a three piece rock outfit that played 70s songs. The quality was pretty good on all accounts and the sound was loud! There is music every night and start time of the first act is about 6pm I believe. There are posters all over the wall of different bands and and music art for a great grungy feel.

Date of experience: November 2019
4  Thank RoomForFailure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

As many do, I quite wanted to see some live music while I spent time in HK. After reading online I saw that the Wanch was a hotspot for live music.

Upon arrival I quickly realised that the bar is absolutely tiny, perhaps capable of holding maximum 30 people comfortably and that’s at a stretch. The beer was grossly overpriced and the place was just generally uncomfortable.

The saving grace was the music setup. It was professionally done and the band sounded great. It’s clear the owner/manager cares about live music in Hong Kong.

Perhaps the Wanch, despite HK rent hikes, should consider a larger venue for the future?

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank honestrevasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

Tiny bar, expensive prices, very loud music and you have to battle to get to the bar where the staff are disinterested and rude..unless you're a regular it seems. Most people are older, 50+ expats but there are much more spacious venues with better prices, music and friendly staff.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Paudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2019 via mobile

Good pub style music venue. Mixed crowd but mainly ex pats.
Drinks are reasonably priced. Good quality bands. Good friendly atmosphere.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Epicureously
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2019

Small hidden Live Music Bar in Wan Chai District absolutely worth a visit (or two). Great fun with a lot of likeminded People. No doubt a must go and much better than most places in this area.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews