We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and delicious”
Review of Cafe Gray Deluxe

Cafe Gray Deluxe
Ranked #12 of 11,994 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tai Fat Hau
Description: Cafe Gray Deluxe, A 21st Century Grand Cafe, Offers Stunning Views of Victoria Harbor. The Restaurant Marks the Return To Hong Kong of Celebrated Chef Gray Kunz, with His Unique Style of Modern European Classics, and Signature Dishes From a Lifetime of Leading the Finest Kitchens in Europe, Asia and America.
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We had breakfast and dinner during our stay @TheUpperHouse.The food was just perfect. Very Delicious and tasty. The atmosphere is stunning and the view breathtaking.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank RoSteph09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois L, R&B Secretary at Cafe Gray Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear RoSteph09,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of Cafe Gray Deluxe! We appreciate your taking the time to let the Trip Advisor Community know your thoughts about dining with us. Please do join us again when you are back in Hong Kong.

With warm regards,

Lois Lai
Restaurants & Bar Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 184 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Went to the Upper House for Brunch and was both delighted and disappointed. The brunch menu is not extensive and at the higher end of price for brunch in Hong Kong.

The views are spectacular and the food served with detail but some of the items on the menu disappointed.

The highlights:

• The steak tartare was BRILLANT and was the highlight of the meal. We all loved it.

• The desserts were amazing and delicious ... the floating island and also the 6 sorbets were delicate and flavoursome.

• The views the views the views

The disappointments:

• The two main courses we tried, the fish and the Reuben sandwich were really very average. Maybe it was because the appetisers were so good but the amount of food left on the plates at our table should have been a signal for the wait staff and the kitchen but in this regard, they were just cleared like a MX fast food restaurant tray.

Conclusion:

A hefty price for a hit or miss brunch menu. We were disappointed and when you consider that the price equals breakfast buffet at MO bar at the Mandarin Oriental Landmark Hotel, well the choice is clear...

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank AAinHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C, Director of Restaurants at Cafe Gray Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear AAinHongKong,

Many thanks for all your comments, and we're so happy you enjoyed the appetizers and desserts. Regarding the main courses and brunch menu options, I'd be happy to continue the conversation with you - please feel free to contact me directly at yvonnecheung@swirehotels.com.

Best wishes,
yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Had an absolutely wonderful dinner here on a trip back to Hong Kong from England. The starter was gorgeous, a lovely Lobster risotto which I cannot fault in any way at all, in fact is almost overshadowed the main I had, which was a very tender bit of duck. For pudding I indulged myself and had a key lime and dark chocolate tart which was a spectacular ending to a really wonderful evening. Off course, the signature chocolate at the end of the meal never goes amiss! Would put this on a must visit list for anyone going to Hong Kong and definitely lives up to its reviews and the price you pay.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois L, Restaurants & Bar Secretary at Cafe Gray Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Oscar M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Cafe Gray on tripadvisor.

I'm so happy to read that you had an absolutely wonderful dinner with us and delighted that you enjoyed the meal from started to dessert as well as the chocolate at the end.

We all hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

With warm regards,

Lois Lai
Restaurants & Bar Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

因為外國朋友成日book依度住,依度service係excellent, 房間又非常modern and clean
而49樓餐廳更是無敵景觀,好多明星都會黎飲下野食下飯
對住一個咁靚既view, 少不免一定會order支酒品嚐一下

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Ma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois L, Restaurants & Bar Secretary at Cafe Gray Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018
Google Translation

Ma W 您好,

謝謝您的光臨並在貓途鷹與大家分享您到本餐廳的經驗。希望您下次再光臨。

祝您 生活愉快!

Lois Lai
餐飲部秘書

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Tried Chinese breakfast and an afternoon tea, enjoyed both options very much! Got a nice table in the corner by window and couldn't take my eyes off the harbor view.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank tatir771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois L, Restaurants & Bar Secretary at Cafe Gray Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear tatir771,

Huge thanks for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor, it is greatly appreciated.

I am absolutely delighted you had enjoyed our Chinese breakfast and the Afternoon Tea and thank you so much for highlighting our "Nice environment, fine cuisine and amazing view."

I am very much looking forward to welcoming you and your friends again.

Kind Regards,

Lois Lai
Restaurants & Bar Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Gray Deluxe also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Cafe Gray Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing