We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and delicious dinner gathering”

Man Wah - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 10,714 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: Located on the 25th floor, our Michelin-starred Cantonese restaurant serves exquisite local and regional specialities. Often referred to as Hong Kong’s most beautiful dining space, Man Wah’s décor and panoramic views of Victoria Harbour and the Hong Kong skyline provide the perfect setting. With walls adorned with original paintings on silk, and lacquered enamel and gold-plated ceiling lamps fashioned to resemble birdcages, Man Wah’s design is as celebrated as the menu. Visit for dinner and enjoy your meal against a backdrop of sparkling city lights or stop by at lunchtime for dim sum dishes that are the talk of the city. Child policy: On Sat, Sun and for lunch on public holidays, all children are welcome in Man Wah. From Mon - Fri, children aged 6 and above are welcome. Dress code: The dress code is smart casual attire. We request that guests refrain from wearing shorts (of any length), torn jeans, sportswear, singlets, collarless T-shirts, flip flops and gentlemen's sandals.
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

When we planned to have our first dinner gathering in the year of DOG, the first one come to our mind is Man Wah Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental Hotel. So we have a table booked for 10 people to celebrate this meaningful evening. All the dishes are nicely prepared by Chef Sam Hung and the services are simply perfect. We have a wonderful time and sure will come back for another occasion.

Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Man Wah - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Wendy N

Happy Chinese New Year!

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us! We’re pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance and were satisfied with many of our dishes prepared by Chef Hung and his team. We’re also excited that you were satisfied with the service from our team. Your kind words are highly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back again for more delicious moments.

All the best
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, nice presentation, excellent taste, good quality of food, friendly staffs & excellent service !
Definitely will go back again & recommend to friends!

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Man Wah - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Karen C

We thank you for visiting us at Man Wah and for sharing your review here. We’re delighted that you loved our dishes and more importantly, you were satisfied with the service from our professional team.

We hope to welcome you back again for more delicious moments.

All the best
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Man Wah is a place for gourmet who want to have high quality authentic Cantonese cuisine in a nice environment.
Suggest you to start with their signature BBQ pork, the wagyu beef with black pepper sauce here tastes fantastic if you are beef lover.
This time Queenie recommended us to try out their fried rice in lotus leaf which is also nice (still I prefer the glutinous rice more).
Don't forget to order their boiled pear with ginseng to end the meal. Besides Queenie, Ron and Jackie are always very attentive that they always understand and follow the pulse of customer, and the reception Naya always greets you with a warm smile.
True service reflecting a high standard of hospitality!

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Man Wah - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear David C

We thank you for visiting us at Man Wah again, and for trying out our new dishes! We’re delighted that you enjoyed our dishes as well as the service from our professional team, especially Queenie, Ron, Jackie and Naya.

Please don’t be a stranger. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Cantonese cuisine is such a delicate dish to match with wine.. Dining at Man Was is one of the best dining experience I have ever had. I really enjoy the thoughtful food and wine pairing (and the wine portion is so generous that you really have your money worthy!!!!). Despite the young age (or looking) of their Head Sommelier, he was very humble and knowledgeable about wine. His sharing was very interesting! Thank you for the whole team.. LOVE IT!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tina X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Man Wah - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Tina X

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us! We’re delighted that you enjoyed the wine-pairing suggestions and loved our dishes. More importantly, you were satisfied with the service from our professional teams. Your kind words are highly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back again for more delicious moments.

All the best
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

When I went to Man Wah, I was very much looking forward to it an was expecting a nice evening with outstanding food and good wines.
The good wines were there, when also the servings of the wine pairing were on the lower side of the 100ml per glass. But OK, if you need to calculate on such a narrow margin, when I as a single diner left about 350 EUR, OK.
But to be honest, that was the good side. The menu started with some luke warm barbecued pork, marinated jellyfish and some tough wagyu beef. And from there on it declined with bland and common dishes to a dry and overcooked fried rice with not noticeable sausage pieces. The only nice point was the very showy presented pre-desert mango cream.
Sorry, but when I look at Michelin starred restaurants I have visited in Germany, France (especially Paris), London, Barcelona and also in the US like in Chicago, New Orleans or Los Angeles, I totally can not understand the rating. Even a BIB Gourmand would not be justified.
So, sadly I have to summarize, that it has been the biggest gastronomically rip-off I ever had to endure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Man Wah - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Michael R

Thank you very much for visiting Man Wah and for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your patronage of the restaurant and regret to read that your recent experience was not up to your expectations. We apologise for the shortfalls you encountered as we take this matter very seriously. In order to avoid reoccurrences of a similar nature in the future, we have reached out to you to follow up on this matter, and hopefully to bring you a better dining experience on your next visit.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Man Wah - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Man Wah - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;