We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agoda.com
Easy and fast booking
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Jaclyn L
San Diego, California

Very small

Review of Sun Ying Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Oct 2017via mobile
If this were anywhere but Hong Kong I would give it less stars, but when space is a luxury and you want to be on a budget, it will do. Our room was about 6’x8’. There was a twin mattress shoved into the wall with 3 1/2 sides surrounded by the wall. Very interesting. It is in a good location though. The metro is very close and a couple good bars on the block.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Atrium
Booking.com
HK$1,203
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,135
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,091
  • Expedia
    HK$1,114
2.5 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
HK$1,486
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,391
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,330
  • Expedia
    HK$1,391
0.5 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
HK$991
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,088
  • Agoda.com
    HK$908
  • Expedia
    HK$1,088
2.8 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
HK$935
  • Expedia
  • Vio.com
    HK$828
  • Agoda.com
    HK$866
8.0 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$925
  • Hotels.com
    HK$875
  • Trip.com
    HK$825
  • Agoda.com
    HK$925
1.9 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
HK$880
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,134
  • Trip.com
    HK$832
  • Agoda.com
    HK$870
6.9 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
HK$1,086
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,185
  • KLOOK
    HK$931
  • Expedia
    HK$1,086
24.3 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
HK$748
  • Hotels.com
    HK$748
  • Trip.com
    HK$716
  • ibis
    HK$748
4.3 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
HK$804
HK$738
  • Hotels.com
    HK$744
  • Agoda.com
    HK$738
  • Trip.com
    HK$771
2.2 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
HK$456
  • Hotels.com
    HK$505
  • KLOOK
    HK$356
  • Agoda.com
    HK$440
11.0 km from Sun Ying Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Hong Kong
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
3
12
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3
12
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Sun Ying Hotel is located at (Reception at Flat 617, 6/F) Flat 609, 6/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Hong Kong. It is very convenient since the Ladies' Market is just a few minutes walk. The MTR is readily available and you can taste the HKG night market culture below.

The room is a small HKG accommodation - upon opening the door, it will lead you to a hall then rooms..we stayed at a small bedroom with a sliding door bathroom/shower. It is a budget room, which means budget facilities. The TV is a regular flat screen with limited channels, the heater is busted (sometimes it's working, sometimes it's not) and it has a working A/C. There is no closet, so our luggage became our closet and you can hide it underneath the bed.

Perk: It has a free wi-fi. See the back of the front door for the password.

With 5-days of stay, the staff cleans our room regularly. However, the only English speaking staff is the owner. His employees do know a bit..and can answer only a yes or no question.

Overall, our stay is pleasant.

Room tip: Download Google Translate to talk to the hotel staff. Bring your own towels and bathroom slippers.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dancingiceprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2017

While the rooms we booked were really small (typical of HK accommodations), the proximity of the place to the MTR station and various places in Mong Kok, plus the efficiency of our booking and the kind assistance of the Hotel staff was worth it.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank serioco06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Stayed 1 night when in transit out to USA. Room a little small, but very clean, good WIFI and towel was provided. Also water and hair dryer in the public area.
Overall it is a good stay and very decent priced.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights.The room is a bit small but fairly clean. The hot water is good. If you are on a budgeted trip this place is good choice since most of the time you are outside. they allowed us also to leave out things after we checkout.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Ordered a double room to myself as i was a solo female traveller, got a cheap price of UK £19, (Tuesday night in April).
I had a late check in organised for 11pm, everything was fine. I was given a toothbrush/toothpaste and a towel and was shown the water heater switch.
All i needed was a place to sleep and shower, nothing fancy, and thats what i got which i was fine with.
The main door is closed/locked on a night and you get your own key for entry if you decide to take a midnight walk.
My room had a tv with approx 3 channels on it, one was in English.
Wifi signal was fantastic, password is located at check in desk.
The room was clean, quiet and i slept really well with no interruptions. I also want to note i didnt see a mosquito or bug of any kind.
I can imagine it might get warm in the peak of summer as the air con system is only small, but id still definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Rachathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews