We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Agoda.com
US$142
View deal
Trip.com
US$133
View deal
travelup.com
US$231
View deal
Booking.comUS$162
ExpediaUS$139
EtripUS$267
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
367
43
16
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
367
43
16
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view dinner buffet apartment room duty manager mun river long stay foie gras swimming pool free upgrade hotel facilities front office makes me feel highly recommended hotel birthday celebration helpful staffs sha tin macaroons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are some highlights & lowlights, my rating should be between 3 to 4

Highlights
1. As we booked the hotel for all our travelling colleagues, we were served directly (Perman), she has provided the required support to ensure our bookings are good. She has been accommodating as there were some changes before we reach.
2. Staffs are friendly, whether at the front desk, restaurants, etc
3. Bathing equipment is quite impressive, with few choices of showers
4. Specially arranged take away breakfast, as we need to leave early to catch a train, thus we were unable take our breakfast in their operating time.

Lowlights
1. Breakfast to me, not up the standard, coffee is not good
2. Surprised that there is no laundry service, need to purchase token to do ourselves
3. Probably not the issue of the hotel, however, didn't have much shops nearby, the store at the ground floor close at 9pm

Overall experience is still good, especially they are located walking distance away from our office.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard_Heng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Heng,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is very uplifting to read all the highlights listed on the service of the hotel staff, the facilities and the food arrangements.

We have also taken on board your comments regarding the quality of the breakfast and the arrangement of the laundry service, rest assured we are committed to continuous improvements with such valuable and constructive feedback.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you to ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Sammy Yip
Director of Operations
ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location was not too far away from the MTR station. Reserved a room with river view which was superb. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Room is clean and tidy. We enjoy our lunch buffet very much since they provided varieties food. I enjoyed my trip with my family very much. Definitely will back again!

Date of stay: February 2023
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Vicky L,

Thank you very much for your heartwarming review.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience with your family at ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL. We are also happy to learn that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room, variety of food choices as well as the friendly service provided by the Front Office team. Our team pledge to provide the finest service and facilities for our guests, who will always enjoy a warm and relaxed ambience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Sammy Yip
Director of Operations
ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in and check out was smooth and quick with polite, helpful and courteous staffs. Our stay was good and relaxing. Best dinner buffet ever. Yummy Yummy. Comfy bed I ever slept. Good job Hotel ALVA. Can't wait to return for a vacation.

Date of stay: February 2023
Thank Wander48362895288
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Wander 48362895288,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us!
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and food at ALVA Hotel by Royal, as providing guest with professional service and a relaxing stay is always our top priority.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future for another lovely visit.

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations
ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Arrived in the late afternoon, and by the time we had early dinner, we were very tired so didn't have time to check how clean the room was. Woke up the next morning to find the room was not clean. The bedside draw had some kind of liquid spilled into it, and the edges were still sticky and dirty. Also, because this hotel allows pets, there were clumps of dust and small hairs along the edges of the long wardrobe.
The female staff at the entrance of the buffet restaurant were not welcoming and got the discount rate for hotel guests wrong.

Room tip: There are other hotels in Sha Tin
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gordonlamsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2023

Dear gordonlamsy,

Greetings from ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your stay.

We sincerely apologize that overall staying experience fell short of your expectations during your recent visit. Our team has investigated the mentioned situation and has implemented solutions working with related departments. Please rest assured that we always strive for improved guest satisfaction and maintain the highest service standard at all times.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the shortcomings. We hope we can continue to have your support and we look forward to serving you better in the future.



Sincerely,

Sammy Yip
Director of Operations
ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2023

My parents visited Hk from Aus and stayed entire a week at Alva. Frontdesk staff is helpful, checkin flow is smooth and efficient, room is spacious, brightness, quiet, clean, even with the nice city view. There has the Japanese supermarket nearby and this is super convenient to buy the fruit and snacks. Lastly, special thanks to Antony as he is considerate and help to settle my parents' needs in patient. My parents appreciate my arrangement .will recommend to my friends who plan to visit Hk.Thanks Alva. Cheers :)

Date of stay: January 2023
Thank Vacation41498998536
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2023

Dear Vacation 41498998536,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your parents experience at ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL.

Delighted to learn that your parents had an enjoyable stay with us. It is rewarding to receive such encouraging comments that made all our efforts more than worthwhile.
We are pleased that Antony, our Senior Duty Manager, provided attentive and thoughtful service. We will certainly pass on your feedback to Antony.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future for another lovely visit.
Sincerely,

Sammy Yip
Director of Operations
ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews