We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
US$55
US$48
View deal
Hotels.comUS$55
ExpediaUS$55
Booking.comUS$55
FindHotelUS$51
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
151
28
7
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
151
28
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shek mun river view foie gras japanese grocery store big round of applause sony tv room technology staff called high tech sha tin birthday staycation free upgrade dinner buffet late check very pleasant stay front desk staff front office
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have enjoyed a memorable staycation with my mother at Alva last week. Actually it is a pre-celebration for Mother’s Day to my mother at weekend.

All staff from different departments are very kind and polite. Luckily I got a free upgrade to suite room type and late checkout of our stay. The suite room is not too big but it is already enough for us. Most importantly it brings us a comfortable atmosphere feel like home sweet home. Although under the COVID-19, we feel like travelling as we have a good time at hotel. Thank you Mr Sammy Yip, who is the Director of Operation, arranged such a wonderful stay for us.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Connector30757665331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Vanessa

Thank you very much for your recent stay at ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL, we are so glad that we have made your pre-celebration stay for Mothers’ day so delightful. The lovely photos of the food and room really reflected how nice our products are.

The merits go to all staff members in different departments who devote themselves to serve our valued guests and I will share with them, surely all of us are thrilled.

Thanks again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you in the not distant future, please visit our website to explore the great value accommodation package and drop us a note at info@alva.com.hk, we shall be pleased to arrange the best accommodation for you.

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is by far one of the best hotels in Hong Kong we have stayed. The price is very reasonable, service is excellent, staff are all very helpful and friendly, and the hotel facilities is well equipped with indoor swimming pool, free rental of bycylces !

There is a wide spread of buffet breakfast that serves exceptionally high quality of food, and it is a pets friendly hotel. We enjoyed the most is that this hotel provides free bicycles rental to in house guests. We borrowed the bicycles and had thoroughly enjoyed our ride along the Shatin river and the park. We especially want to thank the cafe restaurant captain, Ms Lam for being so helpful to us throughout our 7 night stay. She attended to all our needs prompt and was very professional. All the other staff, Jack, Ken, Fiona, etc they are so friendly and helpful towards and had made our trip to Hong Kong a most enjoyable one. We will definitely come back to patronise this hotel again on our next visit to Hong Kong and will recommend highly to all our friends!

Room tip: Ask for non-smoking and river view room
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Agnes G

Thank you for taking your precious time to share such a wonderful review with us. I'm thrilled that you had an enjoyable 7-night stay at ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL. Our modern and cosy accommodation are well-liked by guests. Together with our value-add accommodation package, free on loan bikes and lovely breakfast, they all add merit to your experience.
The team including Eva Lam our café captain, Jack, Ken and Fiona at the front desk always strives for service excellence, and I'm so proud that they have outdone themselves again. Your kind words will definitely be shared with the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon, do let us know if we can assist with any arrangements.

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Get free upgrade to suite room type and late check out for the birthday celebration, thanks for the sweet arrangement. Room is clean and cozy, staff is nice and helpful. The price of the package is very attractive.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank HoC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear HoC40

Thank you for your recent stay at ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful birthday celebration with us. We are more than delighted to read that you find our service and room excellent!

For any future visit, please book directly on our website for the best available package of your choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was a very good and comfy stay at Alva by Royal and the staff from Front Desk - Leo offered an attentive service to us with an upgrade of room. Breakfast is ok with varieties of choices but the seats we sit are bit far from getting the food.

The room is great with river view and all could be controlled by iPad !

A very comfy stay all in all!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank scbb1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sam

Thank you so much for your encouraging 5 stars review and lovely photos on ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL, we shall share with the team to excel ourselves further.

Besides, we are glad to learn that you have named our Front Office associate Leo for his attentive service.
With any future visit to ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL, please book directly on our website for the best available package of your choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future!

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our first time to stay here for staycation. The service staff is excellent and the room is modern and new. I really loved the iPad remote to control all electricity in room, it’s very convenient.

I would like to express my appreciation to Avis who help me for all arrangements of the stay. Also, Ted and Natalie who help me check in and provided outstanding service.

We have relaxing weekend at Alva and will definitely come back again!!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ericwong1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Eric

Thank you very much for writing a review in this platform are thrilled to know that you have spent a relaxing weekend with us.

ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL is a hotel in a unique riverside location in Shatin. With lush green surroundings and smart user-friendly technology for guests’ comfort and wellness, ALVA invites modern travelers to explore a hidden gem in Hong Kong and experience a travel journey replete with relaxation and discovery.

Your sincere appreciation words to our staff members Ted and Natalie is encouraging, we shall keep this up and share it with all our staff.

Thank you very much again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews