We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
US$55
US$48
View deal
Hotels.comUS$55
Trip.comUS$53
ExpediaUS$55
Booking.comUS$55
FindHotelUS$51
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
151
28
7
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
151
28
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shek mun river view foie gras japanese grocery store big round of applause sony tv room technology staff called high tech sha tin birthday staycation free upgrade dinner buffet late check very pleasant stay front desk staff front office
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was a very good and comfy stay at Alva by Royal and the staff from Front Desk - Leo offered an attentive service to us with an upgrade of room. Breakfast is ok with varieties of choices but the seats we sit are bit far from getting the food.

The room is great with river view and all could be controlled by iPad !

A very comfy stay all in all!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank scbb1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sam

Thank you so much for your encouraging 5 stars review and lovely photos on ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL, we shall share with the team to excel ourselves further.

Besides, we are glad to learn that you have named our Front Office associate Leo for his attentive service.
With any future visit to ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL, please book directly on our website for the best available package of your choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future!

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our first time to stay here for staycation. The service staff is excellent and the room is modern and new. I really loved the iPad remote to control all electricity in room, it’s very convenient.

I would like to express my appreciation to Avis who help me for all arrangements of the stay. Also, Ted and Natalie who help me check in and provided outstanding service.

We have relaxing weekend at Alva and will definitely come back again!!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ericwong1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Eric

Thank you very much for writing a review in this platform are thrilled to know that you have spent a relaxing weekend with us.

ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL is a hotel in a unique riverside location in Shatin. With lush green surroundings and smart user-friendly technology for guests’ comfort and wellness, ALVA invites modern travelers to explore a hidden gem in Hong Kong and experience a travel journey replete with relaxation and discovery.

Your sincere appreciation words to our staff members Ted and Natalie is encouraging, we shall keep this up and share it with all our staff.

Thank you very much again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights over the long Easter weekend in HK. We had booked an apartment room and got a free upgrade to the river view + exercise bike in the room. Room was spacious and clean. The hotel feels very new. Very comfortable for watching TV and playing card games with other friends who were also staying at the Alva. We were lucky that the pool and gym were both open. We had to book for a time in the pool, but we managed to use it 2x during our visit. It looks small from the photos, but is actually bigger than I expected. I enjoyed some time sitting on the pool deck, just enjoying the view. Breakfast was really hearty, with all of the usual options you'd expect from a hotel buffet (egg station, noodle station, dim sum, pastries, etc). It was a really busy weekend for the hotel, so we went to breakfast early both mornings to avoid the crowds. Although the room includes complimentary bicycle rental, we didn't utilize it since the timing is only in 4-hour blocks. This is suitable for a family with young kids, but not if you want to make real use of the cycling trails right outside the hotel's front door. Instead, we walked 30 mins along the waterfront toward Tai Wai and rented our own bikes. Not a big deal since the weather was so nice, but a bit inconvenient as it seems that all of the bike rental shops around Shek Mun are a 30-min walk in any one direction. There is pretty much NOTHING around the hotel. Shek Mun is an industrial area. Luckily, there is a Japanese grocery store at ground level of the hotel where you can pick up some fruit and snacks. And the hotel DOES NOT have room service (not sure if this is just because of the pandemic), which was a surprise to me. We had to get takeaway from near Shek Mun MTR (or near CityOne MTR is also an option), but both of these require a 10-15 minute walk. We also had a great dinner at the Japanese restaurant on the rooftop (which is very pricey).

Room tip: Apartment room with river view was great.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear bikingrenee,

Thank you for your choosing ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL as your Easter Staycation stay and your five-star review.
We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful time after experienced our apartment room, gym, pool and buffet breakfast. Owing to the heavy demand for our free on loan bicycle service, we have divided them into two sections, hoping that more guests could explore the area during their stay, your understanding is appreciated.
To serve our guest with Western/Chinese and Japanese cuisines, apart from dine in our restaurants, we have tailor-made menus for takeaway. We will consider launching the room service in due course.
Konbini Store by YATA on the ground floor is a ”must visit” place, there are ranges of food/beverages and snack items directly imported from Japan, some items are even exclusively available there.
Thanks again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you in the not distant future, please contact us again to explore the great value accommodation package.

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had spent one night on 7Apr for celebrating father’s birthday. Thank you front desk team for the sincere and warm welcoming. All of them are very patient and professional especially Kim for the special arrangement. All of us enjoy these two day very much.The location is great and convenient which allow us to have a relax holiday.Looking forward for the next visit:)

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank irisku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kulm,

It was ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL ‘s great pleasure to receive your top-rated review after your recent father’s birthday stay.

Your commendation to front desk team, especially to Kim is a great encouragement to us and we will keep this up.

Our hotel is in a unique riverside location in Shatin. With lush green surroundings and smart user-friendly technology for guests’ comfort and wellness, we are so blessed that you had a relax holiday with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in a not distant future, please visit our hotel website to explore the great value accommodation package.

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent 2 nights in the hotel. The hotel and rooms are quite new, pool is nice and have thermostat. But food at breakfast just so so with very limited choices, while staffs are not as proactive. For example, the pool has restriction on number of people and a long waiting list, this was not mentioned at all during check in. When we want to go to the restaurant, we were told all tables have been reserved, but we found out the tables have been empty after 45mins as we picked up our takeaway.

I have also stayed in the Courtyard hotel in the area, while it is not as new and pool not as nice, but the location is more relaxing, breakfast a lot better and better services.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JohnsonLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy Yip, Other at Alva Hotel by Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JohnsonLeung

Thank you very much for your two nights stay at ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL and your review. We are delighted to know that you find our guestrooms are new and the pool is good.
In regards to the service of the pool and restaurant, we are sorry for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. We assure you that your feedback has been addressed to our concerned departments for immediate improvement.
We truly appreciated your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit soon.

Sincerely,
Sammy Yip
Director of Operations ALVA HOTEL BY ROYAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews