We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Somm Team :)”

SOMM - The Landmark Mandarin Oriental
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 16/08
20:00
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #10 of 15,741 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$38 - US$128
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: Flanked by the all-new Amber and Sushi Shikon by Yoshitake, SOMM is a casual restaurant and bar with a spectacularly diverse selection of over 1,600 champagnes, wines and sakes, served with a concise menu that pays homage to the seasons.
Reviewed 15 June 2022

I don’t usually do reviews but I just have to share about the amazing experience I had at Somm
One of the best aspects was the amazing service! It started off with being guided to our seats by a very friendly and cheerful hostess! After we settled down, our waiter made sure we made the best of our experience by describing and recommending dishes that we may enjoy. We ended up ordering uni French toast , French Oyster, pigeon & Foie Gra Pithivier and Souffle we recommend everyone to try it out as well, the complexity of flavours were nothing like I’ve had before, absolutely stunning food. Our sommelier made the perfect recommendation for wine that just pairs so well with the food it just added to the already great experience we were having!
I absolutely can’t wait to come back and would like to thank everyone at Somm for the wonderful meal!

Date of visit: June 2022
3  Thank StablesCatherineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, 經理 at SOMM - The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Dear StablesCatherineee

Thank you for taking your valuable time and sharing such a wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor for us.

We are delighted to hear that you and your guests have thoroughly enjoyed the dining experiences at SOMM, especially on our signature dishes Aka Uni “French Toast”, Bresse Pigeon & Foie Gras Pithivier with Fermented Forrest Berries & Jus and Abinao Chocolate Soufflé with Cacao Sorbet, curated by Chef Terry, as well as our signature wine-pairing services offered by professional sommeliers. We have over 1,600 champagnes, wines and sakes to be paired with our seasonal menus, and our sommeliers are always passionate to recommend the perfect pairings based on the guests’ preferences. Your recognition on our quality of wine, food and services will drive the team forward and continue to surprise your palette with our new creations.

The compliments have been shared to the team, and we looking forward to welcome you to SOMM again and create more FANtastic experience.

Yours sincerely
King Mak
SOMM Restaurant Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2022

This is one of my best dining experiences at SOMM, The Landmark Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong for dinner in April. I am amazed by the exquisite dishes and fantastic service. I love the scallop and soufflé, with nice presentation and delicious. Last but not least, I would like to say thank you to Monna who patiently and professionally explain the menu to us and recommend us some signature dishes according to our preferences. And also thank you Jimmy and Andrew for their professionalism and hospitality. It was a lovely dinner experience! I highly recommend SOMM to foodies and I would definitely come back soon.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephw1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, 經理 at SOMM - The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Dear Stephanie W

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you and your guest had an amazing dining experience at SOMM. Thank you for your recognition on our service, Seared Scallop, as well as our signature dessert, Abinao Chocolate Soufflé created by Chef Terry. Your compliment has been shared with Monna, Jimmy & Andrew already.

Being a restaurant & bar led by sommeliers, SOMM prides itself in sharing the passion and knowledge of wines with guests to perfect their dining experience
We look forward to welcome you to SOMM again and create more FANstatic experience.

Yours sincerely
King Mak
SOMM Restaurant Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

Amazing food and service! Great service from Marcus, Jimmy and Andrew. Highly recommend Uni toast, scallop, Iwashi and fresh oysters. Will definitely be back again!

Date of visit: May 2022
1  Thank Paradise06420691829
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, 經理 at SOMM - The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Dear Paradise06420691829

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable dining experience on your Friday night at SOMM. Thank you for your recognition on our service, Seared Scallop, Seasonal French Oysters, as well as our signature dish, Aka Uni Toast created by Chef Terry. The compliments have been shared with Marcus, Jimmy & Andrew.

We look forward to creating more FANtastic dining experience for you in the future.

Yours sincerely
King Mak
SOMM Restaurant Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

Very nice experience. Jimmy and Andrew were superb and gave us a memorable dinning experience. Food was amazing too, especially the uni toast.

Date of visit: March 2022
2  Thank Ronnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, 經理 at SOMM - The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022

Dear Ronnie c

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the dining experience and our signature dish, Aka Uni French Toast at SOMM. The compliments have been shared with the team especially to Jimmy & Andrew.


We look forward to continuing to create FANtastic dining experience for you in the future.


Yours sincerely
King Mak
SOMM Restaurant Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2022 via mobile

I’d brunch at SOMM.

There’s a lot of food and everything tasted delicious. Highlights included:

- Polmard beef tartare
- The complementary waffle with black winter truffle, sour cream, onion salted maple syrup. It’s a new item on the menu. The different ingredients combined to create an unique and highly delicious snack. I’d have easily had a few more. It doesn’t come cheap but I wouldn’t mind paying for it when I visit SOMM next time.
- Bresse pigeon and foie gras pithivier which was cooked to perfection. The puff pastry outside was warm and a little crispy. As for the ingredients inside, the pigeon fillet was very tender and the foie gras was very smooth and literally melted in my mouth. The fact that it still maintained its beautiful shape after being cut in halves testified to the great skills of the chef. It’s well worth the supplement (HK$598 for 2). I highly recommend this artisanal French dish which is only available in a handful of French/European restaurants in Hong Kong (including Arbor, Le Bistro Winebeast and SOMM).

The service was impeccable. Kudos to the professional staff, in particular King and Marcus, for taking very good care of us.

Overall, the experience was so much better than last time.

Date of visit: March 2022
2  Thank Egon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, 經理 at SOMM - The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2022

Dear Egon70

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our SOMMkind of Brunch and found the menu reasonably priced. Thank you for your recognition on our service, the Polmard Heritage Beef Tartare as well as our signature dish, the Bresse Pigeon & Foie Gras Pithivier with Fermented Forrest Berries & Jus created by Chef Terry. I am sure he and his team he will continue to surprise your palate with our new creations.

We look forward to creating more FANtastic dining experience for you in the future.

Yours sincerely
King Mak
SOMM Restaurant Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SOMM - The Landmark Mandarin Oriental also viewed

 

Been to SOMM - The Landmark Mandarin Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.