We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveller rating
677
506
79
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
506
79
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tai koo rooftop bar city plaza business hotel corner room mtr station feast restaurant quarry bay shopping mall top floor business trip harbour view floor to ceiling windows apple tv modern hotel large mall business district
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The hotel is surprisingly located in a residential-mostly area, but it's right next to a MRT station so it's not an issue. There is also a decent mall nearby so unless you are craving for the usual Tsimsha Tsui/Wanchai crowd, the shops and restaurants are ok .

The rooms are nice, quite modern, classy, and well-maintained. I think it has become standard in a lot of HK business hotels nowadays so you get a free phone with unlimited data (not LTE yet HK 3.5G speeds are decent for mail, maps, browsing, and social app use).

If you need an umbrella, the hotel will gladly let you use a pretty solid large umbrella (found in the clothes cabinet). There's is a pretty nice coffee machine in the room (those high tech darnfaggled ones with the canisters). Nice. The shower ensemble is nice too. I was alone then so I can only imagine the shower if shared.

The gym and pool are quite nice too.

All in - a great business hotel to stay in. Not budget level though.

Room tip: If you can, get a corner room
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wujae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWallace, Hotel Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you very much for the kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at EAST, Hong Kong.

Delighted to hear that you are a fan of our hotel. It's reassuring to learn that you think we are well located being connected to CityPlaza and above the MTR station. And very pleased to learn that you like out guest rooms and that you think they are well kitted out with the amenities we provide.

I was happy to read that you appreciated our new Handy device - we recently installed these into all of our guest rooms. In a short space of time, we have had many positive comments like yours and we are delighted Handy is adding value to our guests' overall experience.

And pleased also that you like our pool and gym on the 4th floor.

Thank you again for taking the time to give such constructive and positive feedback and in the meantime, we very much hope that we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back to EAST, Hong Kong in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Jonathan Wallace
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
E. jonathanwallace@swirehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

This is a super cool, great hotel. When we arrived, we went and enjoyed a gin and tonic at the fantastic rooftop bar. Then we checked and the gym and arranged to borrow the mountain bikes the next day - at no extra cost; a pleasant change! Also a pleasant surprise was the loan of the free mobile phone, which could be used for FREE calls home and a FREE wifi when out and about.
The hotel also links to a great shopping mall and is about 30 seconds for the nearest tube station.
Oh, and the fill up your sweet jar every day!!
I'd definitely go back.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank THutsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWallace, Hotel Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank you very much for the kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at EAST, Hong Kong.

Delighted to hear that you are a fan of our hotel. Reassuring to learn also that you think we are well located being connected to CityPlaza and above the MTR station.

Sugar is regularly commented on in a positive light by many of our guests and I'm very pleased that you also enjoyed your time up in our roof-top bar.

I was glad to learn that you appreciated our new Handy device - we recently installed these into all of our guest rooms. In a short space of time, we have had many positive comments like yours and we are delighted Handy is adding value to our guests' overall experience.

And thrilled that you managed to make use of our mountain bikes.

Thank you again for taking the time to give such constructive and positive feedback and in the meantime, we very much hope that we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back to EAST, Hong Kong in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Jonathan Wallace
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
E. jonathanwallace@swirehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The rooms are spacious, clean and modern, though beginning to show their age around the edges. High floors give you an impressive view of the other high rise buildings all around. The subway is literally outside the hotel, however, it's a few stops to the centre of the city, a 15 to 20 minutes ride. That makes this hotel a lot cheaper than comparable places in the centre. The area, however, has everything you need, including a mall with shops and a supermarket.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ajun_axis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWallace, Hotel Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you very much for the very kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at EAST, Hong Kong.

Delighted to hear that you are a fan of our hotel and that you like our guest rooms and the views. Also reassuring to learn that you think we are conveniently located on top of the MTR station as well as being connected to CityPlaza.

It is reassuring also that you think we offer good value for money.

Thank you again for taking the time to give such constructive and positive feedback and in the meantime, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to EAST, Hong Kong in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Jonathan Wallace
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
E. jonathanwallace@swirehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

I decided to try EAST Hong Kong for a change of environment. The hotel is located in Tai Koo, a few minutes ride from the very busy districts
of Central, Wanchai and Causeway Bay in the Hong Kong Island line. I love the architecture of this hotel. As it is recently built, the design is modern. The lobby is simple yet it attracted me. There is a strong sense of classiness as I entered during my first night. As we arrived Chinese New Year's eve, and arrived pretty late at 11:30pm, the stores and the mall beside is closed, but we ordered room service, and the price is reasonable. The location as I've said is in Tai Koo and it is not as busy as Causeway Bay or Tsim Sha Tsui. For a change, I can finally relax in Hong Kong. The shopping mall beside is City Plaza and it has huge selections which you can also see in other busier districts of Hong Kong. Unfortunately I stayed for only two nights so I was not able to enjoy the facilities like the gym and the pool. Based on the comments here, there's no steam or sauna or jacuzzi which I think, should be present since I consider this a four star hotel property. As for the room, our room is a corner room with a nice view of the city. I think if we had the chance to get a higher room, we will be able to see the harbor. The room size is big considering I'm in Hong Kong, and the air conditioning system is working properly. The toilet and bath is also big, there's no door so you can access the shower easily but it tends to be cold right after showering since you still share the air conditioning of the room. Overall I like this hotel and would want to come back soon!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank uybenedictec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWallace, Hotel Maanger at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you very much for the very kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at EAST, Hong Kong.

Delighted to hear that you are a fan of our hotel and that you like its modern design. Also reassuring to learn that you think we are conveniently located being on top of the MTR station as well as being connected to CityPlaza.

Very pleased that you like our guest rooms and the way they are laid out. Do let me know when you next intend to return to Hong Kong as we will do our utmost to allocate you a room with a harbour view on your next stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to give such constructive and positive feedback and in the meantime, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to EAST, Hong Kong in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Jonathan Wallace
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
E. jonathanwallace@swirehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

It was the 11th anniversary for me and my wife. I booked the dinner buffet at Feast and spent the night there.

The food at Feast was fantastic. It was a semi-buffet. My wife ordered East Fish Pie. It was a baked dish with salmon, scallop and pawn which was absolutely delicious. I ordered the steak, which was good but the Fish Pie was better. The seafood and dessert section is all-you-can-eat. There were crab legs, oysters etc. But the stand out was the creme brulee! It was soooo good that I helped myself to three serving of it. :D..... our daughter was 4 and could dine for free, so under HKD $900 for our whole family was a pretty good deal.

As the hotel knew it was our anniversary, the Guest Experience Manager, Wilfred Ho, arranged a room with one of the best views in the hotel for us. We stayed on the 29th floor and had a sweeping view of the Victoria harbor which was breathtaking. We got a complimentary bottle of wine, a heart-warming handwritten card from him personally, and a stuffed penguin doll for our daughter. The room was well-maintained, everything was in great condition and the shower was relaxing. The room was a bit small tho, but that is expected as after all this is a business hotel.

Overall, I felt both the buffet and the room was great value-for-money and I enjoyed my stay there even as a local HKer.

Room tip: Book on ctrip
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Q483XTaaronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWallace, Hotel Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thank you very much for the very kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor with regards to your stay last year at EAST, Hong Kong.

Delighted to hear that you are a fan of our hotel and that you and your wife and your daughter enjoyed a special 11th wedding anniversary with us. Delighted you enjoyed the views from your room.

And I was thrilled to hear that your experience in Feast was a memorable one and also reassuring to learn that you think we offer good value for money.

I was very happy to learn that you think our team are helpful and attentive - we consider our people to be our most important asset and work diligently to hand-pick and encourage our team to be as service-orientated and natural as possible - this is very much part of the brand ethos at Swire Hotels. We are lucky to have team members such as Wilfred on board.

Thank you again for taking the time to give such constructive and positive feedback and in the meantime, we very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to EAST, Hong Kong in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Jonathan Wallace
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
E. jonathanwallace@swirehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews