We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste with A Difference”
Review of Salt & Barrel

Salt & Barrel
Ranked #4,080 of 12,187 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$13 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Western (Sai Wan)
Description: Salt & Barrel is a unique taproom & kebaberie restaurant serving over 15 house crafted beers that perfectly compliment the signature food offering of handmade, specially marinated kebab varieties using premium cuts, market fresh seafood & seasonal vegetables.
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Newly opened in up-&-coming Western HK, this "South Asian-Persian" eatery is a breadth of fresh air. Specializing in kebob-type of slightly spicey dishes, accompanied perfectly with beer off the tap, it seems perfect for late lunch or evening casual dining gathering with friends. It is conveniently located within sight of B2 HKU MTR exit. Reasonably priced unlike most in Central, LKF or even SOHO, definitely worth trying exploring the new foodie area.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cyrus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonam_SB, General Manager at Salt & Barrel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Cyrus

Thank you for your feedback which is greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us and do look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2018

Salt & Barrel is doing a soft opening and as its almost next to our office we thought we would give it go. Prices are little steep for regular lunch spot but once in awhile it would be ok. For starter I had cauliflower hot wings with blue cheese achar, vegan ranch, Japanese cucumber - they were amazing not a chicken insight but wonderful. Main was black angus seekh Kebab with roasted garlic yoghurt, coconut kale, daikon achar. Again very, very good. The servings are large possibly a bit too big for lunch. I would suggest offering some smaller cheaper options, given the location and it will be mainly office workers for lunch the area is quite price sensitive. I know most of the 60 staff in my office will aim to spend around $100 for lunch.
Anyway regardless the food is wonderful.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 7philh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonam_SB, General Manager at Salt & Barrel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Phil,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed what Salt & Barrel has to offer and for sure will be passing your suggestions on to the team and Chef. We do hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

If you have been to its sister bistro Black Salt at Sai Ying Pun, you will have a certain expectation of what you will experience over here. The restaurant concept is a little bit different compared to Black Salt, as their main focus over here is being a taproom and kebab specialists. Inspired by the history of sub-continental dish, they bring back kebab cooked with authentic spices and techniques like it was served for royalty in the past. The restaurant is slightly bigger than Black Salt, however i highly recommend making a reservation especially on the weekend as the restaurant policy allows for two time-slots (6.30-8.30PM and 9-11PM). During our visit to the restaurant on Friday, it was full-house, so definitely wouldn't have a chance for walk-ins.

The dishes are overall more well executed than Black Salt in my opinion. The presentation and the taste are bolder and "riskier". Various twist of flavors are introduced to give that "fresh" feeling to the dish. I was recommended the "Flowering Cauliflower Hot Wings" without having read the description on the menu, so I had no expectation when tasting it. As a big fan of buffalo wings, I love the fact that the cauliflower tastes like it, complete with blue cheese achar, vegan ranch and Japanese cucumber. The cauliflower is crispy with a massive kick of sourness, it tastes really good and deserves a highlight. A perfect snack to be paired with the beer !!!
The other dish which looks gorgeous and colorful is the guacamole, topped with crispy papadum and beetroot chips. The beetroot chips tastes very unique and it imparts a very strong flavor on my palate with bitter aftertaste. You may or may not like this flavor. The Chef explained to us that they put one spice which gives a surprising flavor. It remains a gorgeous and well executed dish with a proper attention to details.

The main star of the night was chicken and pork kebab with choices of naan or vegetables as a side dish. The chicken is stuffed with organic egg covered with mousse made from some other part of the chicken blended with some secret spices.The pork is marinated and served with some sauces topped with capocollo ham, some vegetable and bits of chorizo. The portion was very satisfying and maybe a bit too much for 3 ladies :D

The floor staffs were very friendly and attentive considering the place was super busy during our visit. The only complain is the air conditioner because it was a bit too hot especially with so many people. Overall, they are doing a very good job just on the soft opening ! I will definitely come back to try other dishes.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonam T, General Manager at Salt & Barrel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Cynthia

We really appreciate you taking the time for the in-depth critique and thank you for acknowledging our team's hard work.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit real soon - hopefully we can surprise you with even more cooler tasting dishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We came across this newly opened restaurant online. Group of friends decided to try this place. Found, it was opened few days back.
Expecting Mediterranean cuisine but still unsure, we were pleasantly surprised see menu of Indian dishes.
Starters-we tried several dishes; all very sumptuous. My favorite was “Lamb Seekh Taco” & “Cauliflower Hot Wings”
Choice of mains was limited though; but kebab dishes were created with right blend of spices.
Overall experience: Satisfied with food, service lags a bit.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank vashdeom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonam T, General Manager at Salt & Barrel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you Vashdeo M for the kind compliments. We are working to ensure that we continual improve and feedback such as yours only encourages us we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt & Barrel also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Salt & Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing