We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,354)
Filter reviews
4,354 results
Traveller rating
1,663
2,110
444
91
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,663
2,110
444
91
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olympic station shuttle bus olympian city family quad room ladies market mobile phone wifi hotspot comfort room free smartphone free calls free shuttle service provide shuttle rooms are small walking distance minute walk airport express sim card
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 4,354 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

On way back from Australia I used the hotel as a layover for 2 nights. Very easy to get to from airport and fairly central for town and waterfront.
Room was relatively small with restricted storage but was of a high standard.
A neat thing is the use of a Samsung phone for free use in and out of the hotel. Good for directions to any place of interest.
I would stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Pipion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkokHK, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Pipion,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your valuable comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Regarding to room size, we offer various types of rooms in different sizes to accommodate a wide range of traveling preferences. You may try our suites measuring up to 42sq.m. with spacious bathrooms for a more relaxing stay on your next return.

Once again, thank you for staying at Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is near to many local delights. The Olympic City a good place to shop with choices of eateries.

Room and bath is small. We booked a deluxe is way too small and we decide to move up to a suite.
They missed cleaning our room despite the make up room sign.
Thanks Michael/Manager for his attention.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank GSWTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkokHK, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Tay,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your valuable comments. We are glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and appreciated with the hotel's location and staff.

Regarding to room size, we offer various types of rooms in different sizes to accommodate a wide range of traveling preferences. You may try our suites measuring up to 42sq.m. with spacious bathrooms for a more relaxing stay on your next return.

Once again, thank you for staying at Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We booked a family room for 3 nights. Check in was supposed to be at 2 pm, room was not ready when we arrived around pm. We were told to wait another 45 mins by lady at reception.
Staff at reception spoke rather fast and I couldn't really understand what she was saying. Another night, I noticed a male staff at the reception explaining the hotel booklet, the free hotel HP service patiently to a guest. We were not briefed during our checked in. I think its good to standardized the service standards at reception so that all guests are given the same level of service throughout.

Deposit is 600HK$. Non smoking hotel, there is a fine if they find you have been smoking in the rooms.
Went out for shopping since room is not ready. We returned at 8 pm and the same lady attended to us. She issued only 1 room card to us and my husband had to go down to the reception to request for another to be issued.

Thumbs up:
Hotel shutter and information booklet
*Hotel shutter
Hotel provides a loop shutter service which departs from hotel every hour:

*Hotel - Langham Place/Ladies Market - Temple Street (at Silka Seaview hotel) - China HK City (Kowloon Ferry terminal to Macau) - Kowloon AEL (airport express) - Hotel

Timing is indicated clearly so you can wait for shutter bus, just be 10 min early as it is quite punctual.

For travelers coming or going to Macau, you can book the ferry that stops at Kowloon (China HK city) and caught the shutter bus to hotel. This helps to save on transport.
For travelers going by Airport express, you can also take the shutter to and fro the Kowloon station for seamless travelling.

You can bring luggage on the shutter, they will assist to put at front of bus.

*Hotel Booklet

They are thoughtful to include maps of shutter location, recommendation of food choices around the hotel, shopping recommendations, map by area with indication of shopping/food spots and also a MTR map which is really handy.
Must try the Congee Restaurant on their list, very good porridge, noodles, etc at very reasonable price. For family of 4, our breakfast is 98 HK$ (around 4 items)

Thumbs Down:
*Attitude of room service staff
We called to request for some sugar packets and the staff appeared to be in a mad rush; he just threw the sugar packets on the tablet and dashed off before we can even open the room door properly! Hubby was rather mad about this incident.

Location
Not exactly near to Ladies Market, its around 18 mins walk by foot. But with the hotel shutter and shops surrounding the Hotel (supermarket, 7-11, cafe) it is still a good location to stay.

If you are travelling out of Mongkok for the day by MTR, you can go to the Olympic MTR station which is nearer than going to Mongkok MTR.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank libralena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkokHK, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Libralena,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your valuable comments. We are glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Regarding your unpleasant experience with our check-in and housekeeping staff, please be assured that the service you encountered was definitely not reflecting the standard of services we always strive to offer and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We’ve addressed the issue with our front line staff and training will be reinforced to ensure courteous and friendly service is extended to our guests at all times.

Rest assured that we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests at Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Was here for my husband's birthday and the Dorsett Team were exactly on the dot at 12 midnight (as per my instructions) to sing Happy Birthday! Service was super excellent with nearby eateries to meet our midnight cravings. Not to forget, their shuttle services provided for guests was a breeze for first-timers here. I would highly recommend this hotel for those who are looking for a place to stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkokHK, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Joyce,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your lovely comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and appreciated our service.

Rest assured that we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests at Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The Dorsett hotel in Mongkok was a great choice for a comfortable good value stay in Hong Kong. Beds were pretty comfortable, and whilst the comfort rooms are small, they had enough room to move around in. Hotel provided a complimentary phone with wifi, so always had access to the internet for research on the go. There was also a complimentary shuttle service every hour to key locations in Kowloon, which was a good alternative to always using the MTR. Olympic station is about a 5-10 min walk away and Mongkok station is about a 10-15 min walk away. Lots of really good food option outside the hotel area.
Only Negative was the soundproofing was not great, so sometimes could hear a bit of noise from other rooms, however it was not a huge issue. Overall a good stay and would use this hotel again.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank juliethotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettMongkokHK, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your valuable comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Your comment regarding soundproof feature is well noted to the concerned department for improvement and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Rest assured that we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests at Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews