We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

Potato Head Hong Kong
Ranked #457 of 10,681 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$150 - US$450
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sai Wan
Description: Designed by Sou Fujimoto, Potato Head Hong Kong is spread across 750 square metres in the city’s dynamic Sai Ying Pun neighbourhood. There’s a retail space, an all-day dining space and bar, a discreet audiophile listening space and the first outpost of Kaum — a restaurant that serves dishes from across the Indonesian archipelago.
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We were craving Indonesian food and Potato Head didn't disappoint, went for the fried dumplings and nasi goreng, both delicious. Staff are friendly and service is good. Atmosphere good with eclectic decor, prices reasonable too. Would we go back? Absolutely!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MatthewC655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael David L, General Manager at Potato Head Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Matthew,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! So happy to hear that the Indonesian food was up to expectations.

We wouldn't call our Award winning Boutique Hotel "Katamama" (What Mama Says) if we didn't want to go back to our roots.

Please feel free to contact me next time you would like to come down, and I would be more that happy to give you a tour of the venue.

Have a Happy Chinese New Year,

Michael Larkin
General Manager
michael.larkin@pttfamily.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

interior design by Sou Fujimoto was the draw to Potato Head for our girls/architects-night-out, but the creative drinks, great food and friendly service will keep us coming back! drinks first in the retro 70’s inspired music room (the fruity Barong Zombie is a must try, not sure why the limit of 2 per customer- high alcoholic content? not enough zombie monkey cups?) then off to the main dining area for food. The roasted duck is a must order- crispy and full of flavours! Satay chicken, roasted baby pig were also yummy. Ended with 3 different desserts to try- rich and tasty. Will definitely be back for more!

Thank Mona Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael David L, General Manager at Potato Head Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Mona,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review.

We're so happy to hear that Sou's work is attracting people to Potato Head, and even happier that the experience is encouraging people to return.

Regarding the Zombie's, they're quite punchy, thats all. Responsible drinking and such...

Please feel free to contact us next time you want to come down, and we'd be happy to look after you, be it in the bar, dinning area, or music room.

Have a great weekend,

Michael Larkin
General Manager
michael.larkin@pttfamily.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

A big choise of the drinks at the bar, variety of Tai food. Personal is friendly, always fool, better to reserve the table

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lioubov G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael David L, General Manager at Potato Head Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Lioubov,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

So happy to hear you enjoyed the cocktail menu and cuisine.

We're about to do a big launch for the new cocktail menu next weekend. Please feel free to contact us if you'd like us to book you a table and we'd be happy to look after you.

Have a great week,

Michael Larkin
General Manager
michael.larkin@pttfamily.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Loved the athmosphere, it was like being back to Bali! Wonderful food and flavours, nice staff, perfect place also for hanging out with big groups.
This place is unique in HK, this is not only a restaurant, but also a bar where to have elaborated cocktails, a shop and that hidden little lounge that hosts events was lovely!
Will be back soon.




Thank Mila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael David L, General Manager at Potato Head Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Mila,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review.

So happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We don't have the Indian Ocean and the sun set, but I'm with you that it does feel like Bali. Happy we could transport you back to the beach club.

We are planning some very special events in our Music Room this coming February and March. Please feel free to contact me personally if you'd like to know more.

Have a great week,

Michael Larkin
General Manager
michael.larkin@pttfamily.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic atmosphere, what a great place to enjoy top of the line quality and authentic Indonesian food and hospitality. If you’ve never tried it, you should, because your missing out on a great place to bring your friends and family to have a beautiful time.
Plus, discover their super cool DJ soundproof lounge, witnessing some fantastic decor and unique style. Awesome staff as well, good management of the service standards. It was a pleasure.

Thank Andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael David L, General Manager at Potato Head Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Andre,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We really appreciate it.

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Potato Head.

Next time you're down, please do not hesitate to contact us and I'd be happy to look after you personally.

Have a great week,

Michael Larkin
General Manager
michael.larkin@pttfamily.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potato Head Hong Kong also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Potato Head Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing