We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hong Kong Free Tours
from US$17.57
More Info
from US$17.57
More Info
from US$42.18
More Info
from US$40.55
More Info
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveller rating
1,242
65
8
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,242
65
8
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour great tour free walking political situation afternoon tour informative tour highly recommend this tour great introduction history insight housing perspective bird
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

It was extremely interesting to hear about the other side of Hongkong. Amazing that in such a rich country is such bitter poverty. It shouldn’t be allowed. These are all hard working people with decent jobs, but they can hardly survive. I don’t understand that a government let its people suffer like this. A population they should be proud off. Hard working, decent non-complaining and honoust. Where do you find this kind of people on the planet? You will not regret this tour and our guide S.P., was friendly and super enthousiastic.

3  Thank 190moniqueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

Fantastic. Knowledgeable. Well planned. Historically accurate. Absolutely perfect introduction to HK politics and history.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank aamirian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2019 via mobile

SP is a HongKong born and bred resident of 50 years duration, his parents having come from mainland China.
He was able to take early retirement as a civil engineer and is passionate about telling foreign tourists about the background of his city’s social and political history and current situation.
He is a friendly and attentive tour-guide who looks after his group very carefully, making sure not to lose anybody!
Despite completing the morning tour in the heat we therefore decided to do his afternoon tour of Kowloon the same day.

Both highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank stiggyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2019

I tried booking a while ago but unfortunately there were no more adventurous people that wanted to join the tour that night. So I took the leap and splurged for a private tour. It was the best money I spent in my 5 days in HK!!!! Michael is super friendly and most important knowledgeable. He did not tire from all my questions and you can easily tell he has the know and the passion. I highly recommend this particular tour because if you are interested in the local culture, and food is the way to go about it, you need Micael to guide you. I hope to return one day!

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank moriag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019

Excellent, informative, yet heart-breaking tour, which gives a thorough and shocking insight into the housing and economic disparities between Hong Kong's residents. From the perceived glitz and glamour usually seen and experienced by tourists, to the reality of the poverty and inhumane living conditions of hundreds of thousands living in cramped, multi-occupancy rooms, cage houses, steamer rooms etc. Our guide (S P Yip) was excellent, informative, professional and passionate about educating the wider world re the crisis and inequality within his home city. Everyone should take this tour. It has left a huge, life- long impact on me, and I am forever grateful to S P Yip, as I could so easily have visited Hong Kong with my rose-tinted spectacles, and never have seen or understood the reality and crisis, which urgently needs addressing. If you don't take this tour you haven't seen Hong Kong!!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank janengelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews