We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great tour a basic for Hong Kong

Michael gave us the tour and he really knows all the deep history of Hong Kong . You will... read more

Reviewed 30 June 2022
W6639THdavidm
via mobile
Memorable, Unique Tour

Terry is a phenomenal guide. I did the "Kowloon Free Tour" at the end of 2018 and it was this... read more

Reviewed 9 March 2021
CometXx
Read all 1,324 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hong Kong
from US$96.53
More Info
from US$214.25
More Info
from US$107.30
More Info
from US$32.66
More Info
Reviews (1,324)
Filter reviews
1,324 results
Traveller rating
1,243
65
8
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,243
65
8
1
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 1,324 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

Last minute decision to go along on this tour this morning and so glad I did. Michael who was the tour guide and also founder was brilliant. Not your usual tour but for me it was everything I had wanted and more. If you haven’t been to HK before or have but want to know it’s history post WWII then this is your tour. With current civil unrest ongoing this gives you the insight to understand why. Michael was able to keep the tour both meaningful and light. I can’t recommend this tour enough and even if you are not going to Hong Kong maybe spend a few minutes to look at the struggle the people here face and why it is there are protests. In our own country people have protested over Brexit and Climate those arrested are often released or given warnings. Here you could face a maximum of 10 years in prison for just saying you disagree and want democracy in your country. The discussion and the story told was balanced though, several view points were discussed but one thing rang true. When people work together, when people take time out of their lives to help/support others, then there can be positive change. Thanks you for the tour.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 August 2019

Ami was our guide and was amazing. You can tell he is very passionate about the city and it's people. He took is through the history of the city as well as it's current struggles. We saw some mini protests; all were peaceful and we never felt endangered. The story of Hong Kong is one that's not told in full to the world and we were glad to hear the other part of it from a local. Very glad we did it and would highly recommend

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank mayba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 August 2019

A friend from the UK, a history teacher, decided to visit me, and I knew a normal sightseeing tour would not be of interest to her, so I searched on the web and came across the "Hong Kong Free Tours", and booked a few tours for us. Being a Hong Kong citizen, I was very amazed at the scope and depth of the tours, and was terribly touched by the passion and candidness of the tour guides - you could feel their love for HK when they told you the history, the culture, and other issues of HK, in particular the acute problems we are facing today.

If you come to visit Hong Kong, do spare some time to join one or more of their tours if you want to know the real Hong Kong. You won't be disappointed.

Welcome to Hong Kong!

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank noelocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 August 2019 via mobile

This tour brought us to places we would not have found by ourselves and stories that we could easily missed if we just go through the major attractions. Recommended for those who want to know more that just the glitz and glamour of Hong Kong.

Also recommend visiting the Hong Kong Museum of History to contrast with the content in this tour.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Hickic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 August 2019

何度もHKには行っているし、ただせっかく異国の地に行くなら、もう少しそこの国の事、歴史の事 わかると と思って参加。特に現在はデモなどいろいろな問題が噴出しているHK。そういった事もからめてアドミラリティを中心にウオーキング。
で、結論は 行って大正解。知っていることもあったけど、いろんな知識を吸収できました。またリピしたいですね。また、ツアー参加者とのおしゃべりもたのしかったですね。構成も良いツアーです。

Thank you Terry, It was a great tour. We will join your tour again.

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank omi335
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews