We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hong Kong Free Tours
from US$35.14
More Info
from US$35.14
More Info
from US$105.42
More Info
from US$105.42
More Info
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveller rating
1,242
65
8
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,242
65
8
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour great tour free walking political situation informative tour highly recommend this tour great introduction history insight housing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I took the tour a year ago and was eager to return with my husband. Thank you, Micheal for sharing your passion and love for HK! It was great to get a Hong Konger’s perspective.
Great day one tour - suggest following up with a visit to the HK History Museum.

Thank leslief849
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

it takes 20 minutes to walk from Starr Ferry to meeting point. Not much walking on tour. guide uses a microphone. Tour does not cover the city of Hong Kong but instead covers the CBD area and discusses political and history of HK. (which is distinct from the typical European free walking tours we've participated). We did enjoy it on a Tuesday and the Skit Tram line tour followed, which we did not attend. We ate at a suggested restaurant a short time later.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Our guides Johnson and Michael were both excellent for the free Kowloon walking tour today. Their English were both excellent and also projected really well among the bustling crowds. The first half of the tour we learned about traditions and history regarding goldfish, flowers, and birds. The second half though was more towards socio/political/economic/housing problems of Hong Kong. The guides were both very passionate about the cause but did make the tour somewhat depressing towards the end. Some of the statistics given were just mind blowing.
Overall my wife and I learned a lot from the tour. We highly recommend this to those who wants to see a different side of Hong Kong.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Ivyanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Hong Kong Free Tours- really great. Johnson was still training mode but was extremely knowledgeable. Michael was there as back up and was great to have a second guide to ask questions. The people on the tour were also quite interesting. Not often that you meet a teacher of special needs children from Brunei. Everyone was interesting, funny and nice. I think that's what happens when the groups are small. Highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank dedreag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We took the Hong-Kong free tour knowing that the topic will be political and history of HK. The problem is that everything is biased. It is not objective at all. Derek was kind of hard when it came to differences between HK and mainland China ("Honkongers feel superior than chinese" "We have better manners"....). Moreover, we saw nothing from HK, the shortest free tour in terms of walking distance (maybe 1km in 2,5 hours) and the stops are too long (20 minutes in average, f.e. in front of a wall). Basically, it could have happened in a classroom. We would recommend to watch a documentary on youtube instead, you will learn as much and more objective.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank arthur85280
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK_Free_Tour, Owner at Hong Kong Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hi Gwenaelleauxerre,

Thank you very much for your review. Please allow us to explain each point as follow:

1. Everything is biased - In Hong Kong Free Tours, we do allow our guide to express his own view during the tour so it is possible that you MIGHT meet a guide who is more biased than another. However, this is preciously the beauty of the tour because you interact directly with the local and there is no pre-existing view from the company.

Having said that, I am very surprised to hear this comment for Derek because he is more objective than most of our guides we had. For example, after he talks about Tiananmen Square incident, he talks about the democracy in the US and asks the guests if they think democracy works better there (hinting there is no best system in the world). There are a few more examples but I don't want to list them all here.

2. Differences between HK and China - For completeness, the specific topic is about the history of Hong Kong people's identity: we have been colonized by the British but we are not recognized as British. Now that Hong Kong returns to China but we don't feel being a Chinese. As a result, who exactly are we? Unfortunately I think you might have missed this point because you only cited a racial comment.

3. We saw nothing from HK - The tour is divided into two parts: first part is about the political and history of HK, second part is visiting the Central business district. We have visited and explained quite a few places in Central during the tour: Feng Shui war between HSBC & Bank of China, HSBC & its guardian lions, the reclamation of Hong Kong coastline, St. John Cathedral and Former French Missionary Building. Even in the first part about politics and history we visited Central Government Complex, Tamar Park, PLA building, and City Hall Memorial.

4. Walking distance - The total walking distance is around 3 km in this tour.

However, it is unrealistic to expect everyone likes the content. To avoid any miscommunication, we tried our best to explain our intention to every guest at the start of the tour such that expectation is aligned before the tour begins. Given this is a free walking tour, the guests could not only walk away in the beginning but also walk away at any point during the tour if the content does not fit their appetite.

I hope we answered your questions. Thank You.

Regards,
Michael

(Based on the four points above, we suspect this review is a bit too suspicious and we have reported to Tripadvisor.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews