We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Beijing Capital Museum
from US$199.00
More Info
from US$240.00
More Info
from US$726.00
More Info
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
181
135
38
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
135
38
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english descriptions special exhibition chinese porcelain changing exhibitions school groups free admission an eye opener enjoyable visit daily life modern china worth a visit peking opera souvenir shops bronze collection exhibits passport
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Worth a visit, the entry for the museum was free. I'm not sure if it was because of the day we went. The museum is clean and spacious. A lot of artefacts. However English descriptions are not very good.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank dttran2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Don’t be put off by the security queue.  It moves quite fast.  Highlights are on the top floor, with a series of rooms depicting life in Beijing through the centuries, some with short videos on a loop about Chinese customs (weddings, paying respects to one’s elders and so on).  These are in Mandarin, but easy to follow.  Glass display cases contain wooden and clay models, everyday objects, pictures and clothes.  One of the other sets of rooms on the same floor has a collection of Chinese porcelain, including some very beautiful pieces.  All the labelling on this floor has a short summary in English.

All the floors have souvenir shops.  There is some overlap, but they are not identical.

There is a small tea shop in the basement.

Senior citizens have free admission.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank stickybowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Beijing Capital Museum - really loved the variety of the ethnic oriental collection here. Would vist again.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank emmagta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Beijing Capital Museum is amazing museum. The building is huge and exhibitions are very special. You can learn a lot about Beijing.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank yossinir123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The museum is free to visit, but need to be booked in advance to see special exhibitions. It's a bit crowded, but it does offer me great opportunities to learn about Beijing. I have seen exhibitions about Beijing's history, culture and some ancient Chinese porcelain made in ancient Beijing as well.
I really enjoy this experience because the features used to demonstrate such topics are so vivid! For instance, in exhibitions about Beijing culture, it even displays few authentic buildings that are typical in the past rather than simply posting pictures on bare walls.
In addition to displays about ancient Beijing, I'm also impressed by the special exhibitions there. Currently, there are exhibitions about antiques found in XiZang province and paintings from the renaissance. One attractive aspect of these shows is the genuine settings which bring you into the scene immediately. And videos are played too, the stars in XiZang. It hooks me so much.
I've learned a lot about Beijing here and it's absolutely a great museum to visit!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank guozymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews