We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanghai, Yunnan province and day trip in Beijing”
Review of WildChina Travel

WildChina Travel
Ranked #77 of 376 Tours in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chosen as National Geographic's BEST Travel Company on Earth for China & Tibet, WildChina is a trendsetting travel company based in Beijing. WildChina caters to the curious traveler, offering socially responsible travel and off-the-beaten path adventures in China and beyond.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shanghai, Yunnan province and day trip in Beijing”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second time traveling with Wild China - a year and a half ago I booked a 2 week trip with them to Xi'an, Beijing, Guilin, Ping' an, and Jiangjiajie. Outstanding then, outstanding now. This time we went to Angkor Wat in Cambodia first, then up to the Yunnan province where we toured Lijiang, Tiger Leaping Gorge, Shangri-la and then flew out of Beijing after a quick day trip to the Great Wall. Loved all of it, our guides, the trip, the food, the hotels. Every place had its own amazing quality. Our only complaint was that we didn't spend alot of time in each location, but that was our own doing, not Wild China's. Our hike up and into Tiger Leaping Gorge, and our stay at the Tea Horse Guesthouse was outstanding, tho i think my travel companion thought i was trying to kill her :-) Our guide Shelly and driver Joe were both amazing there as well.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Alison,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We’re so happy to receive more and more “complaints” like yours. Travelers easily fall in love with China’s vast territory, long history, incredibly beautiful landscape, delicate garden architecture, delicious food, and interesting ethnic minority culture. We're looking forward to showing you more of China in the future. There are always more interesting sights that we’re eager to share with our valued clients like yourself.

Bao Xun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    3
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Anniversary in Beijing!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We had a wonderful trip to Beijing, thanks to Mei Zhang and her WildChina team. Poppy was very positive and responsive to our every need, and Jerry was one of the best tour agents we’ve ever had – very warm, intelligent, positive, and helpful – we really enjoyed our time with him. We also enjoyed the art tour with Wei Wei – we learned a lot and enjoyed our time in the art space at 789. And Restaurant TRB was a real treat – one of our favorite restaurants in the world today, not just Asia or China. We had a fantastic meal there, and enjoyed a great waiter – Fran from Spain. Please extend our thanks to your entire team, and our heartfelt gratitude to you for organizing a truly memorable trip to Beijing. I hope our paths cross in the Bay Area soon.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank amn214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. It was an honor to design a Beijing trip for your wedding anniversary. We’re more than happy to know that you enjoyed the trip, the meal, the art tour and the time with our guides.

We’re looking forward to designing another memorable China trip for your next anniversary.

Warmly,

Bao Xun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Terrific two week trip in urban and rural China”
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We had a terrific experience with WildChina. Ours was a two-week trip, with stays in Beijing, Chengdu, and Shanghai, as well as very different rural experiences in the Yunnan Province. In particular, we were interested in a specially-designed, unique travel experience, hopefully seeing and doing things that aren't on the "usual" tour/trip. WildChina exceeded expectations significantly, and were able to design something that fit our preferences and goals. In addition, we got the sense that they were dialed-in and following our progress throughout the trip, and, at one point when we were considering a real-time adjustment (due to some weather concerns), were incredibly responsive in working through alternatives. WildChina provided four different guides and drivers for the various legs of our trip, and they were all excellent (fluent English, informative, engaging, and personable). Jenny Zhao and her team at WildChina did a wonderful job, and we'd recommend them highly.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank bayareatravelers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this review, 18 April 2017
Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for spending time to write such a wonderful review for us. Our WildChina team is so happy to know that you loved your China trip and appreciated our service. Jenny also shared your feedback email with us. Your words impressed our team indeed. You made our day. We will continue to provide genuine service as always.

Thank you again and we’re looking forward to welcoming your family members and friends who may be traveling to China in the near future.

Bao Xun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“expensive. ruined our trip. unsatisfying customer service”
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We would emphatically encourage you to AVOID WildChina.

When things go wrong, and they went horribly wrong in our case, do not count on them to behave professionally and make it right.

Our trip was memorable for WildChina failures.

This is a very expensive tour company -- we paid about $1,000 USD per day. This, with one night exception, did NOT include hotel accommodation or meals. This was just for the services of a driver and tour guide. In some cases it included tickets for entries to attractions -- which, in China, are embarrassingly cheap.

Having been to China before, we carefully planned our itinerary. We wanted tour guides who were competent in both English and Mandarin and would provide insights into the local culture and historical background on the sites.

We had problems with our tour guide for the four days we were in Beijing. He spoke rudely and refused to take us where our confirmed itinerary specified. Our travel agent brought this to the attention of WildChina's management. They admitted there were problems with their disgruntled employee. Their idea of compensation was to refund only the portion of the costs that were specifically assigned to the guide.

We paid about $8,400 for eight days and they refunded $500. We were completely flabbergasted. 50% of our trip was ruined by their staff and their idea of fair resolution was to give us a 6% refund. We paid for everything else ourselves -- hotel, train fare, airfare, meals. WildChina's charges were for services and a few entrance fees. Their offer was non-standard to the industry and tone-deaf to customer service.

We have travelled the world extensively -- this was unprecedented. Our travel agent worked diligently on our behalf. They took it all the way to the top of the WildChina organisation. Everyone agreed this was unacceptable but WildChina adamantly refused to do the right thing.

Since there was a second half to the trip in Southern China, one of WildChina's idea of "compensation" was to offer us an upgrade at the one and only accommodation that they made on our behalf. BUT WE PAID FOR THE UPGRADE! We learned after the fact that the "upgrade" wasn't complimentary. They felt that offering to make a phone call to see if WE could pay for a more expensive room would appease us? Unbelievable!


In Beijing, much of the time our guide was in a bad mood. We thought we had caught him on a bad day or we had done something to offend him -- but we realised it was just his personality. This made us feel like we were walking on eggshells on our own holiday! His value to us was his insights, his communications to us. How do you get the benefit of the service if he is unwilling to engage with us?

This is a smaller point, but just so you are prepared: the "comfortable" vehicles that WildChina offers are not luxury by China's standards. Even the Hilton offers transfers in Audi 8-series vehicles. The Shangri-La hotels and airlines picked us up in Mercedes. These hotels are proud of these services and the vehicles are impeccably maintained to a very high standard. WildChina provided a VW Polo and a Toyota Camry in Beijing and a beat up, older model minivan (for two of us) in Southern China. These were not the most comfortable. (We did not venture through any rough terrain that would have obliged us to have a sturdier, SUV type vehicle. A minivan for six passengers was an odd choice for only two of us.)

In short, our expectations were high -- particularly given the cost of $1,000 per day and the relatively cheap costs of living in China. We expected WildChina to behave professionally -- and they failed.

Our recommendation is to AVOID WildChina. If you want to have a bespoke experience, stay at a good hotel and trust the concierge's recommendations. They all offer bespoke tours. Some friends of ours were on a parallel trip at the same time (we met up a number of times during our trip and compared notes). They winged it by relying entirely on the recommendations of the hotel concierges. They spent a fraction of what we did going the same places we did -- and had a great time.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
8 Thank parisfoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We truly value the opinions of our clients and of course take great pride in the many glowing reviews we receive. It is, however, through constructive reviews such as yours that we continue to learn and grow.

Providing our guests with the best possible travel experience and service has always been our mission and we deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have taken all elements of your review on-board, and have addressed all items to ensure that your experience will not be repeated.

We thank you for sharing our passion for China and hope you will continue to visit and enjoy our amazing county. If you would like to talk further, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely, WildChina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour planning, guides, coordination...making travel easy”
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We traveled as a family to Beijing and Xi'an. Pre-trip planning was done via our travel agent, with excellent communication with the WildChina folks via email. Questions were answered promptly, and all the information we got was absolutely correct.
A snowstorm forced changes to 3 days of our plans - but our guide Michael handled all of it effortlessly. (At least it appeared effortless - I think it was a ton of effort on his part!) Traveling as a family of 4 (with 12- and 13-year-old daughters), having a personal driver, car and guide was great - never having to find a place to park, and essentially no lines at any of the places we visited. WildChina had arranged all entrances ahead of time, so it really let us make efficient use of time. Michael was able to engage the kids at each location, while also giving great background information along with cultural reference.
Jessica was our guide in Xi'an, and was also excellent. Again challenged by weather, she was able to find a cave home for us to visit (the first one planned was iced in), and all of us came away with an incredible experience, and a much better appreciation for the multi-generational living arrangements the family established.
Airport and train transfers were seamless, and again took all the stress out of travel planning.
We don't usually use a tour planner / guides, but for this trip, I am incredibly grateful for the services WildChina provided. We have plans to return to China to see different parts of the country and hope to work with them again.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveFtW107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xun B, General Manager at WildChina Travel, responded to this review, 6 January 2017
Happy New Year!

Thank you so much for your review. We’re happy to know that you enjoyed the trip and think it’s good value for the money. Yes. WildChina guides always use their talents to avoid crowds. It’s their secret… Michael is one of our best guides in Beijing, a young dad. We will definitely share this amazing feedback with him.

Hope WildChina made you used to having a tour planner when you're planning your future travel. Looking forward to designing another memorable trip for your family and friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WildChina Travel also viewed

 

Been to WildChina Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing